We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LITTLE AREA MORE COMFY FOR LITTLE PEOPLE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Historic Madison Hotel
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Thank goodness my boyfriend and I are both sized petite or else we’d be uncomfortable in this room. But the 9x12 food room was just right for us—and so was the price in this location. Even better it was clean all the way.

ROOM AMENITIES
Somehow within that small room there fit a bed, small dining table and two chairs, small dresser, tiny fridge, and a TV. Sometimes we still had to step over each other and our luggage to get from one side of the room to the other, but since we’re not too picky it was perfect.
The bathroom was very clean with enough towels and make-up towels and remover (never seen those before in a hotel). I noticed the shower head stopped shortly above mine so a taller person may find that annoying.

THE REST OF THE HOTEL
I barely got to check out the gift shop along the main road where the check-in desk was located but it seemed full of quirky and Yellowstone-related souvenirs. From 5am-11pm there is complimentary generic coffee, hot chocolate, and tea behind the desk. Thank goodness there was also a microwave there—we used that enough times. I noticed there was also a mini fridge there for other room’s use.

The WiFi wasn’t spotty. While it wasn’t mind-blowing it was reliable and free. Since West Yellowstone isn’t that large to begin with, you can easily walk to many places from this hotel.

Room Tip: If you need a microwave to heat up snacks and such, there's a public one near the coffee and tea...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pyra-Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for The Historic Madison Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 268 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a delightful and charming throw-back place that has been in continuous operation since the 19-teens. Try to get one of the original rooms. The bath is down the hall - but that was probably pretty handy back when the place was built ( better than outside). Our room was right next to a creaky 2nd floor balcony that overlooked the main drag - a cool place to hang out and share a cold one and some Yellowstone stories w your fellow rusticators - try it - you'll like it - you can stay in some sterile Generica box the next time you're in Toledo or Scranton on business - you're in Yellowstone - savor the flavor

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is really a fun place. The entire bottom floor is mostly a gift store and the rest is a common lounger and television. The rooms are on the second floor--I never saw an elevator, but there may be one in the back. I always used the stairs that come straight down almost to the front door. One thing to remember is that this hotel is also a hostel--some of the rooms in the main building are dormitory rooms that use the common showers. We got a room with a bath but it was tub only, so I used the shower down the hall. Lots of Europeans with gear. The location is fabulous--right on the main street in to the park, across from a visitors' center, next to several restaurants and a block from an espresso stand--the only one, I think, because people were driving up to it almost in their pajamas. The rooms are small but very western, w/pretty quilts and log furniture--no tvs or radios or phones but wifi. And a beautiful veranda on the second floor with easy chairs--the wifi works there; you can sit and watch the world go by. This veranda alone makes the hotel. The gift store is quite extensive--when we were there, in early September, all the national park knick knacks were half off because the season was ending. Yes, there are modern hotels down the street and modern motel rooms attached at the back, but the original Madison buidling is so much more fun!

Room Tip: If you want an attached bath, you don't have a lot of location choice.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernardofClairvaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Historic to the point that rooms in the main building (all 6 of them) do not have baths. Central bath brings back the true old days.
Cottage style rooms with full bath complete the property in downtown location.
WiFi, Comp coffee,tea and a Unique gift shop are all here. Oldest continuous use property in West Yellowstone steeped in history. Presidents and actors have stayed here.
Reasonable price and worth a visit.
The proprietor is wonderful, helpful and aims to please. If you want a taste of the old West, stay here.

Room Tip: Main building rooms are historical gems.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tallytennis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I would have given it five stars if it had a attached bath. Room was well decored, cozy looking but small. It is a youth hostel so keep that in mind. It has a cabin like feel to it. You would find lot if antiques in the corridor and lobby. Close to downtown. Doesn't have breakfast but has many good resturanta right next door. It has a cool looking gift shop. Front desk was very helpful and friendly. Good location very close to the ynp west entrance.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itinerant6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value for money in this very touristic town where it can be quite expensive to stay. We stayed in a private room which was very cute. There is wood everywhere in the hotel. The showers are in the corridor but extremely clean. Nice porch to hang out on. We ended up staying for three nights.Our room was cleaned every day.Because if the figure 8 of the park,you kind of have to make West Yellowstone your base. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They even post your mail for you. Definitely a place I would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caro2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I found this hostel late in the evening during peak season. Soooo clean. Very quaint and rustic. Reminded me of Old Faithful Inn. Shared shower and bathroom down the hall (which were super clean) and there was also a wash basin in the room. Def will come again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#22 of 39 in West Yellowstone
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#21 of 39 in West Yellowstone
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Madison Hotel

Address: 139 Yellowstone Avenue, Box 1370, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $134 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Historic Madison Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Historic Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Madison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing