We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“not maintained for comfort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Historic Madison Hotel
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Glendive, Montana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“not maintained for comfort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The rooms upstairs are small, old, rustic with log walls and log beds which at first seem appealing in that rugged western appeal. However, the frames are not sturdy and ready to fall apart, the beds are horribly uncomfortable and the windows drafty. The very crowded room is a guarenteed toe stub. There's no TV in the room and lucky if you can get one with a bathroom. Lighting is poor and the stairways are an accident waiting to happen, overall I did not have a safe or comfortable feeling the entire time I was there. The high point would be the water pressure in the shower, other than that, I'd have to pass on recommending the rooms upstairs to anyone, maybe with new carpet, beds and windows, it'd be a nice stop over. No breakfast offered, only coffee and hot chocolate, for the price you'd think they would offer something, maybe even a discount in the store, but they don't.

Room Tip: honestly, you'd probably be better off staying inside the park, cheaper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank searching4utopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    50
    21
    10
    11
See reviews for
39
45
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sullivan, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Pros: Centrally located near everything allowing guests to walk around the town instead of driving, except to Yellowstone of course.

Maintenance person was very nice and accommodating.

Cons: This hotel's pictures of the motel part (I cannot speak for the hotel or the hostels) make it look much more charming than what it is when you actually see the room. I have stayed in many older motels with lots of charm. This one is not worth the expensive rate they charge for what you get. The owner tries the log cabin theme with all the rooms. However, the motel rooms are 1/2 done. This means that the inside starts to look like a log cabin but the outside looks like an old 1950s motel needing lots of updates.

The refrigerators in both rooms could not be used as one was extremely old and nasty looking and both smelled like someone left spoiled milk in them.

The bedspreads were not what the picture shows. We had a fuzzy throw blanket on the beds in one room which is ok if they fit the bed properly and a person is not allergic to the fuzz.

The parking is atrocious! There are not enough spots for the rooms and very difficult to maneuver a vehicle to get out.

No breakfast included but free coffee, hot tea and hot chocolate.

I would not stay at this motel again unless the rates dropped significantly and more is done to the rooms and parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DEB1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Lynden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great beds, lots of counter space for sink and microwave. Fridge in room. You can walk to restaurants, groceries, visitors center, Inaccurate, etc. The hotel part is an historic building with large gift shop, well-maintained and interesting. Only negatives for us, thin towels and noisy air-conditioning. Not important enough for me to not book there again. Love the friendly, casual attitude of the staff.


  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The historic Madison Hotel is a throw back to West Yellowstone from decades past. The hotel gives you that "old Western charm" that is missing from many of its surrounding counterparts. The rooms are modest but clean. In order to meet the needs of customers, many rooms are being updated. The property serves both as a hotel and hostel. The large open porch and living room provide common areas where family and friends can gather in any weather. The reservation, check in, and check out processes are easy and simple. The owner is often on the property and willing to suggest local day trips and guides in Yellowstone Park. The price of the rooms makes vacationing on a budget possible because it does not provide all of the bells and whistles of their competitiors. Since rooms do not offer televisions, guests are able to embrace the views of the surrounding area and relax without the constant infusion of technology. We have stayed at the hotel for the past two summers while hiking and fishing in the greater Yellowstone area with family. On both occassions we used the hotel as our "base camp" while day tripping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has recently been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scienceonseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I could not have been happier with my stay at the Madison Hotel! I stayed one night in a "Female Dormitory" room. I only had one roommate for the night which was nice, tho the room is big enough that three would have been fine. The rooms were quaint, with a couple log walls, antique dresser and chair, and a sink, which was nice. Down the hall was the restroom and there were two separate shower rooms that were quite roomy with places to put your things while you shower. For being a hostel type hotel I was surprised with some of the nice amenities - blow dryers in the restroom and shower rooms, individual shampoos, and didn't have to pay extra for sheets/towels (that were surprisingly good quality!). When I checked in the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Note that the front desk is not manned 24 hours a day so plan your arrival accordingly!! The hotel is older but if you think that means it has character then you'll love your stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksrinlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

First, the +s are great location, homesy, shampoo supplied, good bed, nice ladies at the desk, community hot cocoa machine and microwave, and two rooms with the bathtub room being huge. The -s are no telephone in the rooms (community free phone by a door), no TV in the room, old western style oval, high sided bathtub with no shower of course (remember the bathtub that Eastwood got shot at by the woman in Hang Em High I think...that is this tub), lighting in the room not the best, and you have to park on the street (free though).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tfberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We checked into the upper hotel room. It was cute and fairly clean. Then the nightmare began. We were literally eaten for dinner by BEDBUGS! Then to start the morning we were awakened by power saws and hammering. I was told by a friend this place is constantly under construction...but rented anyway. I am certain the owners know about the BED BUGS and rent these rooms anyway. The construction is always in progress. DO NOT STAY THERE. Pay a little more and get MUCH nicer place to stay. The owner was rude and denied they new about the BED BUGS. Never again!!

Room Tip: There are no really nice rooms at a fair price here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Lodge
Yellowstone Lodge
#28 of 38 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 38 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#8 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#10 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#11 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Madison Hotel

Property: The Historic Madison Hotel
Address: 139 Yellowstone Avenue, Box 1370, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Historic Madison Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Historic Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Madison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing