We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and spotlessly clean room”
Review of Three Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Three Bear Lodge
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We used the Three Bear Lodge as our base when we visited Yellowstone National Park and found it to be exactly what we needed. It is in a great location for travelling in any direction across the park. We stayed in one of the motel units at the back and were really pleased with our room. It was large, with two queen sized beds and a large television, fridge and microwave. More importantly it was spotlessly clean, with clean fluffy towels every day and a great supply of good quality toiletries.
We took advantage of the $2 off vouchers and had breakfast every morning in the restaurant. The food was good, the portions plentiful and the staff very friendly. It certainly saved us from having to wander round West Yellowstone in search of breakfast!
All in all we had a great stay and would recommend the Three Bears to anyone looking for a reasonably priced base for touring the park.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McPidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 667 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2010

Well staying near a national park always lowers my expectation. This hotel / motel matched these lower expectations. We stayed in the motel part of the lodge.

Rooms are spacious but could use renovations. The room was reasonably clean and the bed slept well.

As in all hotels leaving valuables inside isn't recomendable, here it's a certainly not done. Windows doesn't have a good locking system so getting in is easy.

Safes are not in the room but offered for no charge in the main building. That also makes it very inconvinient since the main building is not that close to the motel section.

All in all an ok hotel but i would try another when in the Yellowstone area again in the future.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mafootje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

The main lodge is beautifully decorated and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the motel section and had to drive through an unfinished parking lot (looks like some ongoing construction) to get to our room. After seeing the outside we were very concerned about what the interior of the room would look like, but we were pleasantly surprised. We had a room with two queen beds and it was comfortable and clean - it has obviously been updated recently. Parking outside was tight and the only ice maker we located was in the main lodge (although the room did have a mini-fridge). Cost/value did seem a bit high, but all the hotels in West Yellowstone seemed overpriced. Overall a good overnight stay on our way to Yellowstone Park.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rumneyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

This is the third time I have stayed at Three Bear Lodge in the past seven years. This is where I stay whenever I come to Montana to see Yellowstone Park. The hotel is always clean, the rooms very spacious, and the staff at Three Bear is terriffic! I like that they have the reseraunt attached to their hotel, so that if I don't want to wonder around looking for somewhere to eat, I can just eat there. The discount on breakfast is always a bonus! I plan to keep Three Bear Lodge as my "go to place" whenever I come to West Yellowstone". It's a great place to stay! Judy

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ApexMontanagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This is by far one of the best hotels in yellowstone. The lobby and staff were very inviting and kind and check in was one of the quickest I have ever seen. We stayed in the new lodge portion of the hotel in a goldilocks suite. The detail was shown from the handcrafted furniture, to the goldilocks story across the walls, to a fan that threw heat out in the bathroom. The room was spotless and it had two sinls one inside the restroom and one outside. It had four beds (3 Q and one Goldilocks twin) that were spaced out in two different areas seperated by a door. The spacious room had great wifi, and a desk to work on, as well as a microwave and fridge. The restaurant was a good valve for breakfast , but for dinner was a bit pricey but again it is west yellowtone. Altough I only walked by the motel section it seemed alot different from the lodge so I would probalby only stay in the lodge section. One quick think to remember is that there is no elevator in the lodge and I believe all the suites are upstairs.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed in the motel section. The room was clean with a large counter in the bathroom and another counter with a bench and mirror. The pool was warm. I was hesitant after a the past few reviews, but very happy we kept our reservation here. The staff was helpful, but no overly friendly. Rooms had a fridge and microwave. Close to everything in town and 2 blocks from Yellowstone park. We ate at the restaurant next door for breakfast. At check-in, we were given coupons for a free kids meal and a couple of dollars off an adult meal. The breakfast was good. In talking with others, they all liked breakfast, but not dinner. There are plenty of close places to eat. We had the mexican food from the bus and it was good. The candy store across from Dairy Queen was also very good with excellent fudge.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpgood4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Room was very nice/clean/spacious - no complaints. Staff was not so nice. During an 11-day vacation, we traveled many areas in the Yellowstone (MT & WY) area & South Dakota and stayed at about 5/6 different motels. All motels were nice/clean & staff very nice and appeared to appreciate our business on behalf of the motel. The Three Bear Lodge staff (the 2 people we had contact with) acted as if they were doing us a favor by letting us stay at the motel!! At $188 each (2 rooms), I definitely expected a more courteous staff! They were not exactly rude - just not pleasant, not friendly!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hohumho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Bear Lodge

Address: 217 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $77 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge constructed in 2009 and the Motel rooms remodeled in 2011. From the moment you approach this impressive Lodge, you will realize it is no ordinary hotel. From the massive volcanic rock, log, and beam exterior, through the dramatic lobby and reclaimed materials in the common areas — you will know you are in for a unique experience. As you open the door to your spacious and comfortable room you will be enraptured by the handmade furniture crafted with reclaimed wood from the original 1932 building.Outdoor swimming pool is open during the summer months. Be sure to stop next door and experience our famous Three Bear Restaurant for breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Three Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Bear Hotel West Yellowstone
3 Bear Lodge
Three Bear West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing