We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay in West Yellowstone !!!”
Review of Three Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Three Bear Lodge
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Though Yellowstone National Park was only partially open in late April, we had never stayed in the small town of West Yellowstone (which was also partially open), due to this particular time between winter and the summer tourist season.
Locating this hotel/motel/lodge was a blessing and the price was definitely attractive, along with the Lodge itself ! The welcome from the clerk was great and helpful. We chose a ground-level motel-style room behind the main building. It was fantastic, spacious, comfortable and downright perfect for our 2-night stay. Can't find ANYTHING to complain about, and had all the Park roads been open, we could have stayed here even longer. If we ever return, THIS will be the place to stay for us !!

Room Tip: Ask about the 'motel style' ground-level rooms......lower price, convenient parking by the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 674 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

I've been to their excellent restuarant many times but never stayed at the lodge. We were not disappointed. The people at the desk were very nice and helpful. I received a military discount which I appreciated. We stayed in one of the outside ground rooms and They were very comfortable and clean. They had all the ammenities; satelite tv, fridge, microwave, coffee. The restuarant is right next door and is one of my 2 favorite places to eat in West Yellowstone. The lodge is convenient to the downtown shops and museums. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

West Yellowstone is a great location for visiting Yellowstone. We stayed 4 nights in the motel area in July of 2013. We can't say anything real bad about it, but nothing exciting either. Basic rooms, nice heated pool, reasonably priced breakfast at the adjacent restaurant. In short, adequate, if you spend most of your time traveling in the national park, but not more. The price was very high, but so is everything else this time of year...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaniv R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I was glad to have a great place to lay down to sleep. Beds were nice and comfortable. Rooms were new and spacious. The only thing missing was two bathrooms. The main lodge is new after a fire a few years ago.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Three Bear Lodge was a welcome site after driving 20 hours from Illinois. We have stayed there before and used to be part of the Three Bear Family of employees. The new section is nice with clean comfortable rooms. I am somewhat spoiled by recent stays in a Condo that offer two bathrooms but Three Bear did not promise me two bathrooms so it was all good. The staff were great as always with only a few faces I still knew. Thank you for a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Be sure you know what section of the Hotel you are booking. The main lodge rooms are brand new sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nauvoovillasmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thanks for coming back to see us. It was great to see you and your family.
Thanks for the review as well.
We get asked about 2 bathrooms, but we do not have any rooms with 2 baths. Only rooms with 3 queens and even one with 4 queen beds!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed in early August 13 in one of the "motel" rooms that are cheaper, versus the "lodge" rooms. These rooms are like what you would expect from a motel--you drive up and park in front of your door and there is no corridor or anything to the room. However, the finishes are well above that of a typical cheap motel. Our room had 2 rooms and 2 beds--one king and one double or queen. The second bedroom was pretty tiny. Both rooms had TVs and a place to store clothing. The first bedroom had a dresser and closet, and the second bedroom had a dresser and a rack on the wall to act like a closet. There was also a fridge in the room. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was pretty clean in the important ways, but not completely spotless. I'm not used to sleeping in a motel, and I'm from a big city, so I wasn't thrilled about the door exiting directly into a kind of alley (that is the parking area between the restaurant and the hotel). Otherwise, though, we didn't spend much time in the room...so it was a clean and safe place to sleep for a few nights, no more and no less. We did eat breakfast in the restaurant with a coupon--reasonable and hearty and good to start the day off with!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlangalDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to respond. We appreciate all feedback. I especially liked your photos. It's nice for others to see what you experienced, not just the photos we have selected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A fun, rustic, well located hotel right in the town of West Yellowstone.

It's modest, but a good family hotel. Old yellowstone historical items in the lobby. Rooms have nice old reclaimed wood head-boards in the rooms.

Great breakfast restaurant... The best in West Yellowstone.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Slipless71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your response and for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took the time to let others know of your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Bear Lodge

Address: 217 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#9 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $116 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge constructed in 2009 and the Motel rooms remodeled in 2011. From the moment you approach this impressive Lodge, you will realize it is no ordinary hotel. From the massive volcanic rock, log, and beam exterior, through the dramatic lobby and reclaimed materials in the common areas — you will know you are in for a unique experience. As you open the door to your spacious and comfortable room you will be enraptured by the handmade furniture crafted with reclaimed wood from the original 1932 building.Outdoor swimming pool is open during the summer months. Be sure to stop next door and experience our famous Three Bear Restaurant for breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Three Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Bear Lodge
Three Bear Hotel West Yellowstone
Three Bear West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing