We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Yellowstone”
Review of Three Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Three Bear Lodge
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This motel is very close to the west entrance of Yellowstone NP.
Our room was clean but the lighting was not bright enough when the curtains were closed. There was a problem with one of the cords to a lamp but otherwise it was a basic motel room. Housekeeping services were good and friendly. The motel offers $3 breakfast coupons per person for the Three Bear Restaurant, which is next to the motel.
Adequate parking and the town of West Yellowstone offers many shops and restaurants- a great place to take leisurely walks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elleb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 668 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Three Bear Lodge for three nights on our trip to Yellowstone and had a room in the new section of the lodge on the second floor over the front desk. The room was huge with three queen beds, a balcony and an extra sink and mirror outside of the bathroom that came in handy. We also received discounted breakfast at the Three Bear Restaurant each morning that was very affordable with great food. The lodge is a good place to stay with easy access to the west entrance of Yellowstone. The only drawback is there is no elevator to the second floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section of the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here while we were visiting Yellowstone. We had 3 adults and one 17 year old in our party. The rooms were very large. The shower and toilet were separate from the sink which for us was very helpful!

Breakfast was a bit spendy to eat every morning. Afte the first morning we opted to walk to the grocery store and get cereal for the next mornings.

The room was very clean and we had no complaints. Would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The motel could not have been more conveniently located. Just a short drive to the entrance to Yellowstone. The room was clean but nothing of any exception. The breakfast coupon at Three Bear Lodge restaurant was a nice touch. The food was of good quality and the location was convenient. We ate dinner at the Three Bear restaurant and another restaurant. The Three Bear restaurant was considerably better but a little pricey. The laundry room was convenient but the dryer was broke and the sign which noted the broken dryer was not easily seen. Clothes were hung over the shower bar in our bathroom to dry. Parking was convenient just outside the door to our room. A little noise from the parking lot until about 10:00 pm when everyone settled down.
Motel was a little pricey but like other accommodations you pay the price for staying in a location convenient to a national park. Not sure if we would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efeierabend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We checked in and were given the farthest room you could have in the motel section of the lodge. It was right across from the linen room that was attached to a seedy looking building that was not very attractive and part of the Three Bears Lodge/Motel. For the price we paid, we were VERY disappointed. The best part was when the housekeeper tried to enter and start cleaning our room at 8:00 a.m. The last time I checked, check out was at 11:00 a.m.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We thought our room was ok but the motel area was very sketchy. They have a great lodge building but the on the same property they have motel rooms that belong on skid row. I felt like I was in section 8 housing.
If you can't get the lodge don't stay there. Also found how they pushed the history of this property to be kind of off-putting.
Triple A? In their dreams.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beanylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We went to Yellowstone for a few days and stayed at the Three Bear Lodge. It was a great place to stay. It was very clean with a rustic, authentic feel, the staff was friendly and helpful and the location was great in relation to the park. We ate at the restaurant 4 times, the food was very good with fast and friendly service. The rooms were nice, clean and easily accessible. We stayed in the motel part the first 2 nights and in the lodge one night. There wasn't a big difference other than the lodge room had more room and newer furnishings. We had a jacuzzi tub in our room which was great after a day of hiking. Nothing but good things to say about this place and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Not much difference between lodge and motel rooms. Get a jacuzzi room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerrrr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Bear Lodge

Address: 217 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $76 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge constructed in 2009 and the Motel rooms remodeled in 2011. From the moment you approach this impressive Lodge, you will realize it is no ordinary hotel. From the massive volcanic rock, log, and beam exterior, through the dramatic lobby and reclaimed materials in the common areas — you will know you are in for a unique experience. As you open the door to your spacious and comfortable room you will be enraptured by the handmade furniture crafted with reclaimed wood from the original 1932 building.Outdoor swimming pool is open during the summer months. Be sure to stop next door and experience our famous Three Bear Restaurant for breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Three Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Bear Lodge
Three Bear Hotel West Yellowstone
Three Bear West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing