We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Great Location”
Review of Three Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Three Bear Lodge
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff was helpful. The food at the restaurant was great, went back often. Loved the location, within walking distance from shops, the IMAX and the Grizzly & Wolf Discovery Center.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 672 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

West Yellowstone is a really fun town and completely walkable. Loved it! Our room at the Three Bear Lodge was clean and comfortable and was very convenient to everything. We were on the second floor, and as mentioned above, the staircase was very narrow and long. If you have any breathing problems, as I do, ask for a first floor room. My only complaint would be the attitude of the desk staff. We arrived an hour early, after an 11 hour drive and the young man rather rudely, simply said, "check -in is at 4 PM." When we saw the stairs (I have emphysema), we asked if we could possibly have a first floor room. He said briefly, "We're full. " I understand that both of these encounters involved some responsibility on our part, but did not feel any concern or willingness to help from the clerk. This is the first time in our 5 week cross- country trip that I felt the staff was less then kind. Whenever we walked through the lobby, we never received a "good morning" or any comment at all from anyone at the desk, not even a glance. Again, the room and location were great, but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGraner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your response and critique of our staff and property.
I apologize that you were not received in a proper manner upon arrival. We do not allow that type of poor customer service and I have talked with the employee about this and we discussed steps and attitudes to make sure it never happens again.

Thank you for choosing us and I hope you will find better greetings if you choose to visit us again.

Sincerely,
Travis Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Cozy, rustic place – conveniently located for exploring Yellowstone. We thought the restaurant looked a bit iffy (and the Yelp reviews almost scared us off), but we had a very nice, hearty breakfast there one morning. The restaurant staff (Karen our waitress in particular) were incredibly helpful and friendly. Easy to walk to restaurants/shops in town (although this could likely be said about most places in West Yellowstone)

I wouldn't call it a glamorous experience, but then, not sure that's what most people would or should be looking for when visiting Yellowstone. They provide a small gym and 2 sauna/jacuzzi pools as well as on-site laundry (which was broken at the time and we didn't need, but is a pretty smart amenity to offer at such an outdoorsy location, I think). Pool wasn't quite ready for the season, but it looked like a nice size. The hotel staff seemed a bit more aloof – questions about if/when the laundry would be fixed or how to work with the sauna/adjust temps were kind of shrugged off.

All in all, I just wanted a place to comfortably rest and explore the wonders of Yellowstone. Don't expect to be overwhelmed, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_Wolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here on a recent trip to Yellowstone. Was the nicest motel on our trip. The outside was ok, but don't let that fool you. The inside of the room was great, had a fridge/micro and was very clean. Highly recommend!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Morgan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great place to stay! We stayed in the old part of the hotel and if I was going to be spending a lot of time in the hotel I probably wouldn't stay here, but with so much to see and do in Yellowstone we were only in the room to sleep so it was perfect! Clean, affordable, comfortable even had a microwave and refrigerator for small things. Best of all it accommodated our family of 5 perfectly with 3 Qn beds in the room! I would definitely stay here again, even in the old part.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Three Bear Lodge is a really good place to stay in West Yellowstone, which feels somewhat limited in quality. It's in a good location (most of the town is, I guess), just a short walk to the center of town. You can park on the street right in front of the hotel, which is convenient. If you're on the second floor, you have to lug your stuff up a fairly narrow staircase since there is no elevator, but we requested a second floor room and we knew that going in.

The hotel staff was friendly and courteous and were helpful when we needed to reschedule our stay due to illness. The room itself is nice and big and has lots of nice touches you might otherwise not expect in a hotel.

I assume some of the rooms have a good view of something; ours did not, just a parking lot.

The biggest problem I had was the A/C unit; the fan would shut off randomly and come back on randomly. It didn't seem to follow the temperature or anything. Not sure if this is by design or not.

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leshii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were in a tiny room without even enough room for our suitcases. The door opened against the bed which made it very difficult to move our stuff in. The ac unit doubled a heater which we needed. The room was clean and nicely decorated, just small and nothing special

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadydomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 39 in West Yellowstone
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Bear Lodge

Address: 217 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $74 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge constructed in 2009 and the Motel rooms remodeled in 2011. From the moment you approach this impressive Lodge, you will realize it is no ordinary hotel. From the massive volcanic rock, log, and beam exterior, through the dramatic lobby and reclaimed materials in the common areas — you will know you are in for a unique experience. As you open the door to your spacious and comfortable room you will be enraptured by the handmade furniture crafted with reclaimed wood from the original 1932 building.Outdoor swimming pool is open during the summer months. Be sure to stop next door and experience our famous Three Bear Restaurant for breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Three Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Bear Lodge
Three Bear Hotel West Yellowstone
Three Bear West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing