We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Three Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Three Bear Lodge
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed two nights in the main lodge had a huge double queen room. Nice comfy beds, good coffee in room and at front desk. Gift shop was small not to much of a selection but prices were fair.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    240
    113
    24
    13
See reviews for
246
256
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paul, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed one night on September 8,2011.. was told this was a "very nice topnotch suite". It was a small 2 bedroom with old furniture, and very over priced for what we were told.Won't be back there. And the restaurant was why over priced for the not so great food, had better at a chain food restaurant, the service was the only good part.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank spicykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

super fast businesslike checkin at 10pm; no need for a chatty clerk when all you we wanted to do was get to sleep after driving for 11 hours.

room was big (we had a double queen), the bathroom was large enough for wheelchaiir access (room 403), although since the toilet is in an alcove self-transfers could be problematic.

Lots of water pressure in the shower.

the in-room coffee maker is a joke (one of those keurig puck machines). Even if one enjoyed this kind of coffee creation, there was only one caffeinated and one decaf puck... for a double queen room??

Good value though, for >$130 all in over labor day weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trappist99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed two nights in late August 2011 during our Yellowstone trip and paid about $150.00 per night for one of the motel rooms. Room was clean but very 50's motel like albeit modern TV and fixtures. About a 100 yard walk (outdoors) to the main lodge. I assume that was where we would have gone for ice. Desk staff - especially the females (August 20-21) were downright surly, disinterested. One male was very nice. Coffee put out at 7AM quickly ran out and no one cared to quickly refill.None later in day. Breakfast in restaurant was OK and guests get a $2.00 coupon for each guest each day. Location on main street is close to "shopping". Other buildings (including ours) required crossing a gravel lot with potholes. Hotel will make arrangements for tours and guides. The Holiday Inn seems like a much better bet although we did not see the rooms. Owners discuss great lengthy history of the place and rebuilding after the fire. Surly staff alone is reason NOT TO Stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms clean, small, wall heat/air, small bathrooms in motel section. Think
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston23185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed at this hotel recently. Our room did not even have a number posted on it....we had to guess and try the key to see if it opened...it turned out to be Room 210, clerk was very vague about it. When we checked in he blew it off as "oh well"... it's the room with the number "1" missing. Turned out none of the numbers were listed on the plaque. Carpeting in front of our room was badly buckled, mentioned it to front desk staff, they made no comment or offer to move us. It was like if fell on deaf ears. When we entered the room, the unplugged alarm clock was in the middle of the bed as well as the clean towels. Appears someone was in the middle of tidying up and forgot to come back. Front desk staff not the friendliest. Would not recommend this lodging to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room/area before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HJK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed as a family of four in one of the two bedroom themed rooms in the Lodge. The themed room was fun, and the beds were OK. The location is great - just a few minutes from the Yellowstone National Park gate.
However, the service was unhelpful and amenities were basic - when the laundrette "hot wash" setting wouldn't work the response from the front desk was "oh well, you'll have to do a cold wash"; the business centre had one (old) PC and printer and was short of paper. The hot tubs were good, and the pool warm but not especially clean.
Not cheap, either - as the West Yellowstone location enables them to get high prices.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJRT_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We had a family vacation here to catch the tail end of the winter season. We chose 3 Bears because it was an economical match for our needs - they had package deals that included tours of the park, lodging, and some meals.

Hotel: The lobby is really nice and comfy with a big fire place. There are great historical photos with captions on the walls. Our room was spacious with a double sink, bathroom, fridge, and microwave. The view wasn't much but it was comfortable and clean. The front desk staff varied from helpful to outright cranky but were functional. We used the hot tubs, both were vary nice.

Tours: We booked 2 arctic cat tours (large vehicle on treads and skis) and 1 snowmobile tour. We decided to go that route due to the ages/abilities in our group but as it turned out, the snowmobile tour was the most fun and was easy for all of us to pick up and keep up. Snowmobiling into the park was a highlight, not just for the trip, but of my life. Just breathtaking to see the columns of steam rise up all around us, taller than skyscrapers, watch wild wolves and foxes run in the distance, otters play on the ice below our bridge, pass herds of bison and elk standing just yards away and under a tree holding a pair of Bald Eagles and their nest. The hot springs were other-worldly and we basically had Old Faithful to ourselves. Three Bears provided the guides and all of the necessary equipment from snowsuits to helmets and gloves. The snowmobiles were very comfortable and even if you have never rode one before, it was easy to learn and the guide was patient and helpful. Everything was in good condition. All of our guides were fantastic in the depth and breadth of their knowledge of the park and we really valued their insight....and they knew just where we should take our photos and from what angles.

Restaurant: Ok, here is the downfall of the experience. Breakfast was included in our package but only certain items - simple, cheap items like fruit or oatmeal were extra but you could get a plate of bacon, eggs, and pancakes included - which is fine for a day or two but on day 4 sometimes you really just want something light. They had "homemade" cinnamon rolls on the menu - only to find out there were right off the back of the Cisco truck and not nearly worth the $6+ bucks. One night we were exhausted and just wanted to pick up some take-out dessert. When we picked up our food, the server added his own tip to the bill (20%) without even asking and come to find out our Apple Brown Betty had all of 4 pieces of canned apple-pie filling covered in aerosol whip cream (another wasted $6!). Seriously, go somewhere else to eat. You'll save your money and eat much better.

Lastly - check out the Bear and Wolf center. We spent hours there watching the animals and the IMAX had great films.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIistheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Bear Lodge

Property: Three Bear Lodge
Address: 217 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in West Yellowstone
#4 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge constructed in 2009 and the Motel rooms remodeled in 2011. From the moment you approach this impressive Lodge, you will realize it is no ordinary hotel. From the massive volcanic rock, log, and beam exterior, through the dramatic lobby and reclaimed materials in the common areas — you will know you are in for a unique experience. As you open the door to your spacious and comfortable room you will be enraptured by the handmade furniture crafted with reclaimed wood from the original 1932 building.Outdoor swimming pool is open during the summer months. Be sure to stop next door and experience our famous Three Bear Restaurant for breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Three Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Bear Lodge
Three Bear Hotel West Yellowstone
Three Bear West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing