We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Themed room was fun”
Review of Three Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Three Bear Lodge
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed as a family of four in one of the two bedroom themed rooms in the Lodge. The themed room was fun, and the beds were OK. The location is great - just a few minutes from the Yellowstone National Park gate.
However, the service was unhelpful and amenities were basic - when the laundrette "hot wash" setting wouldn't work the response from the front desk was "oh well, you'll have to do a cold wash"; the business centre had one (old) PC and printer and was short of paper. The hot tubs were good, and the pool warm but not especially clean.
Not cheap, either - as the West Yellowstone location enables them to get high prices.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJRT_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
There are newer reviews for Three Bear Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 660 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

We had a family vacation here to catch the tail end of the winter season. We chose 3 Bears because it was an economical match for our needs - they had package deals that included tours of the park, lodging, and some meals.

Hotel: The lobby is really nice and comfy with a big fire place. There are great historical photos with captions on the walls. Our room was spacious with a double sink, bathroom, fridge, and microwave. The view wasn't much but it was comfortable and clean. The front desk staff varied from helpful to outright cranky but were functional. We used the hot tubs, both were vary nice.

Tours: We booked 2 arctic cat tours (large vehicle on treads and skis) and 1 snowmobile tour. We decided to go that route due to the ages/abilities in our group but as it turned out, the snowmobile tour was the most fun and was easy for all of us to pick up and keep up. Snowmobiling into the park was a highlight, not just for the trip, but of my life. Just breathtaking to see the columns of steam rise up all around us, taller than skyscrapers, watch wild wolves and foxes run in the distance, otters play on the ice below our bridge, pass herds of bison and elk standing just yards away and under a tree holding a pair of Bald Eagles and their nest. The hot springs were other-worldly and we basically had Old Faithful to ourselves. Three Bears provided the guides and all of the necessary equipment from snowsuits to helmets and gloves. The snowmobiles were very comfortable and even if you have never rode one before, it was easy to learn and the guide was patient and helpful. Everything was in good condition. All of our guides were fantastic in the depth and breadth of their knowledge of the park and we really valued their insight....and they knew just where we should take our photos and from what angles.

Restaurant: Ok, here is the downfall of the experience. Breakfast was included in our package but only certain items - simple, cheap items like fruit or oatmeal were extra but you could get a plate of bacon, eggs, and pancakes included - which is fine for a day or two but on day 4 sometimes you really just want something light. They had "homemade" cinnamon rolls on the menu - only to find out there were right off the back of the Cisco truck and not nearly worth the $6+ bucks. One night we were exhausted and just wanted to pick up some take-out dessert. When we picked up our food, the server added his own tip to the bill (20%) without even asking and come to find out our Apple Brown Betty had all of 4 pieces of canned apple-pie filling covered in aerosol whip cream (another wasted $6!). Seriously, go somewhere else to eat. You'll save your money and eat much better.

Lastly - check out the Bear and Wolf center. We spent hours there watching the animals and the IMAX had great films.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIistheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We loved the Three Bear Lodge. It is ideally situated only two blocks from the west gate in West Yellowstone, a quaint little town with lots of souvenir shops and restaurants. We were in a 1 BR themed suite, with 3 beds, one for papa, mama and baby bear! It was very cute and clean, and although our kids are teenagers and not into the storybook decor, they did enjoy having a bed to themselves, and mama and papa liked having our own room too! The room came with a microwave and mini fridge so we were able to heat up snacks and keep drinks cold. We ate breakfast at the restaurant in the lodge and found the food very good and reasonable too! This was one of the first places we stayed on our two week roadtrip and by the end of it, found that it was one of our favourites!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthVanFamilyofFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights while we explore Yellowstone National Park. We stayed in the motel section and it felt very dated. It was a place to sleep and shower, but the price paid for the quality received was not commensurate. Clearly they can get away with this only because of their location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The lodge had clean spacious rooms and a rustic decor. The rooms are pretty basic with a deck, fridge and small microwave. The internet worked well except for late evening.
There are no elevators but the stairs are on the inside, so be sure to request the first floor if you cannot climb stairs with luggage as there was no offer of help to our rooms. The man who checked us in barely looked up except to take my credit card.
There is a small pool that for some reason closed at 7 pm each evening and the indoor hot tubs closed at 10 pm.
This is a great hotel for the rundown town of West Yellowstone, but anywhere is a basic chain hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank druggist87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed in a two bedroom "suite" with my family of 5. The bed arrangement made it a tight squeeze and the beds were not very comfortable, but it was a great location just down the road from the West entrance to Yellowstone and the lodge is very clean and well maintained.

The pool was a nice addition and the kids loved it in the afternoon as well as the the hot tubs after a long day in the park. The Lodge is within the small town of West Yellowstone and walking distance to all the fun, quirky shops and restaruants that we really enjoyed visiting.

All in all, the Three Bears was clean, convenient and priced right for a yellowstone stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJosontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Don't expect anything fancy, I don't think this area has anything upscale. But is is a large room, we stayed in the lodge part, and it is clean. It is in walking distance to the stores and restaurants in the downtown area. It is very close to the West entrance to Yellowstone, which is its main advantage. the pool was right outside our window which got noisy in the afternoon, if we had wanted to rest. We arrived very late, right before 11 pm, the lobby closes at 11 pm and I am not sure what would have happened it we had gotten there after that. one complaint was that they water kept backing up in the shower.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cynful2no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Bear Lodge

Address: 217 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in West Yellowstone
#4 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $113 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge constructed in 2009 and the Motel rooms remodeled in 2011. From the moment you approach this impressive Lodge, you will realize it is no ordinary hotel. From the massive volcanic rock, log, and beam exterior, through the dramatic lobby and reclaimed materials in the common areas — you will know you are in for a unique experience. As you open the door to your spacious and comfortable room you will be enraptured by the handmade furniture crafted with reclaimed wood from the original 1932 building.Outdoor swimming pool is open during the summer months. Be sure to stop next door and experience our famous Three Bear Restaurant for breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Three Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Bear Lodge
Three Bear Hotel West Yellowstone
Three Bear West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing