We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anywhere but here!”
Review of Traveler's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Traveler's Lodge
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Anywhere but here!”
Reviewed October 2, 2010

No wonder they had a vacancy when no one else did, it was a pretty sad place, starting with the outside. Actually the room itself was not too bad, considering the outside, but I felt a need to strip the beds first and make sure there were no surprises. Very very strong disinfectant odor. No coffee for the in room coffeemaker, finally convinced the young man at the desk to give us some, he did not want to, and he had no idea where the icemaker was. Lesson learned, book ahead in West Yellowstone. If I had it to over again, I would have gone with a trustworthy chain hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    14
    20
    33
See reviews for
20
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltic, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

The staff was very unhelpful; didn't even know where the ice machine was! Carpet in room was filthy dirty - just not a nice place to stay. We stayed in Jackson Hole the next night at a lodge for way less money and the room was a HUNDRED TIMES better with friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Yellowstone is a Very busy tourist town. Getting a reservation is essential. This motel was not really pretty but it is in walking distance to everything in the small town. The room was old and kind of dingy. The bathroom was the knd where you'll lose your knees if someone opens the door. The tub shower worked but nothing more. Sheets were clean and no weird smells or bugs or anything. Boy at front desk was helpful and knowledgeable. Free hot buffet breakfast was located at sister hotel on different street which made the price and room better. Overall it did the trick and paying more than $150 per night hurts so I would stay there again because you are only sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelwithfamilyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowstone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Staff is the most unhelpful group of people I have ever met. The hot water in the shower didn't work and then was scalding hot. The tub backed up during the shower, cutting it short. The front desk was less than helpful and finally sent "maintenance" (some kid in a ball cap) who disappeared off and on over the course of two hours. The problem was never fixed, they left their tools on the bathroom floor with a half torn apart completely useless tub/shower. My wife had to shower in another room (luckily we were traveling with family), there was hair on the pillow cases and the couch was broken. If I had to do it again I would stay in my tent before ever coming here!!!
Stay FAR away from this horrible hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2010

AC not working ( which make you not able to sleep at all), not enough parking, bathtub drainage not working, bathroom ventilation sucks, rooms are so dimmed , the manager and staffs there do not give a dang about what we complained and I can go on more. DONT EVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL IF YOU WOULD ACTUALLY WANT TO SLEEP DURING THE NIGHT. I like to give a negative 5 stars ...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartyfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

This hotel was clean, but very poorly maintained. The bathroom floor was stained, the wall vent coated in rust, the rack for hanging clothes was falling off the wall, the carpet was stained, the bathroom cabinet was falling apart with no doors or drawers, just he shell of a cabinet with a sink in it, the windows were not clean, they were so dirty you could not see out of them. A coffee maker was furnished, but they would not leave coffee in the room. There was no clock and the TV received only three channels and they were so snowy it was difficult to catch the news or weather. The last straw was no hot water! At check out I reported to the clerk (an unshaven scary looking man) there was no hot water and his response was to just look at me. I ask his name which he refused to give me and then I ask who the owner was and he claimed not to know who he worked for! Enough for me...I will never go there again or to the Yellowstone Country Inn where I stayed the night before and checked out due to very bad maintenance problems. After arriving home discovered both hotels are owned by the same company. West Yellowstone is so full of tourist they overcharge for everything. Think I'll go back to going there in the fall. Of course, now I know why they make you pay before you see what you are paying for!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel4fun2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The staff was pleasant and our room was large, very clean and smelled good. Given the time of year we were surprised to find a room at all and for $65 per night we were very pleased. Most motels prices were $100 plus--if you could find an available room. I can't speak about the hot tub or pool as we didn't see them or use them. Another nice feature is that we were just down the street from many gift shops, restaurants, IMAX and the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center. It was great to be able to walk to these places.Based on our experience we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snook13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Lodge
Yellowstone Lodge
#26 of 39 in West Yellowstone
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#21 of 39 in West Yellowstone
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveler's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveler's Lodge

Property: Traveler's Lodge
Address: 225 Yellowstone Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Traveler's Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Traveler's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelers Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing