We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yellowstone Inn - Warm, cozy, friendly, and convenient”
Review of Yellowstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yellowstone Inn
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yellowstone Inn - Warm, cozy, friendly, and convenient”
Reviewed January 28, 2006

After spending a considerable amount of time researching lodging options in West Yellowstone, we decided on the Yellowstone Inn because it had everything that we were looking for. Sofa in front of a real wood-burning fireplace, wood provided, on the edge of town for peace and quiet, microwave and mini-fridge but still within a 5 minute drive of everything. We came back to a warm and clean cabin and fluffy linens everyday. We stayed there 1/24/06 - 1/27/06 and found it very warm and cozy. The new owners Burt and Liz were very friendly and gave us a lot of pointers about dining and entertainment choices. They were very gracious and accommadating. They knew that we were checking in late and turned on the heat and lights for us so the cabin was nice and toasty when we arrived. We stayed in cabin 4 which had 2 queen beds in front of the fireplace so it was very romantic and warm. Each night, we had to turn the heat down because the fireplace put out so much heat! They have a website where you can view pics and descriptions for each cabin. We ate breakfast (per Burt's recommendation) at the D+M right on the main drag, Canyon St. and really enjoyed it. Had pizza at the Wild West, it was really good, generous toppings and cheese, and ate a few times at the Chinatown restaurant. Yes, there is decent Chinese in West. For snowmobile rentals and tours, we went with Yellowstone Adventures. They are a class act and very professional, unlike a rental place that was very close to the Inn. Go 3 blocks back towards town on Rt. 20 and Amy at Yellowstone Adventures (next to the Arby's/Gas station) will take excellent care of you. We went into the National Forest the first 2 days on our own and did the guided snowmobile tour to Old Faithful on the 3rd day. The trails in the Forest are well-marked and I would highly recommend going to Two Top and Big Springs. Don't forget to check weather and trail conditions before heading out. Saw the two moose that hang out at Big Springs and some monster trout. Loved our trip to West and can't wait to go back. We will be staying at the Yellowstone Inn our next trip and I would highly recommend it! Feel free to contact me if you need more details at silverfanmd@yahoo.com Have fun and ride safe!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bing C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    57
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2005

We stayed at Unit 5 with our 3 yr old. We were mostly sighseeing and hence did not stay in room enough. There as huge queen size bed and sofa, TV, fridge , kitchen, microwave and stove top.

It was extremely convenient, clean and the beds were always neat when we came tired by end of the day. The office was very helpful and we had a good stay. We paid about 65$ with kitchen in cabin style , very close to grocery stores, entrance to Yellowstone park etc.

Recommend it esp. if you are just going to come back for the night and rest..

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ppxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2005

We stayed at the Yellowstone Inn in mid July, 2005 and would stay there again. We rented unit #1 for three nights. We had 6 people in our party, 4 adults and 2 children. Unit #1 is part of a 4-plex but our stay was very private and we never heard the people in the next unit.

Unit #1 has a living area which included two futons/couches, a fireplace and small kitchen area with fold up table and chairs for dining. The kitchen was well stocked with pans, plates, utincils, a silverware, coffee maker, toaster. The fridge was small and there really wan't any freezer space to speak of but we didn't mind that. The electric stove is old but gets the job done. The fireplace was well stocked with fire wood but we never used it. There is also a TV and window air conditioner in the main living area.

Unit #1 also has a large bedroom at the rear of the unit with two queen beds with a vanity (sink and counter) which was great having six people in the unit at once. The beds were good and had nice quilts on them and extra pillows. The bathroom was a decent size with a tab/shower and was stocked with fluffy towels, soap, shampoo & conditioner. I could not find a electrical plug in the bathroom which was a minus but I was able blow my hair dry in the bedroom.

The unit is a little older but has been kept in great condition. I appeared that the unit had been remodeled not too long ago. The walls are all real wood panels (pine) and give the unit that great cabin feel. There are also picnic tables and BBQ's that you can use with your stay. Our next trip to Yellowstone will include a stay at the Yellowstone Inn.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hrlychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2005

Units are a little on the older side, but they are a good value and they had everything that we needed. The staff took very good care of us are were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and will plan on staying here again if back in the area.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Trout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2005

Our family of five stayed here on a recent trip to Yellowstone. Apparently each room is different in this small motel. We stayed in Unit #1. It had two queen beds in a bedroom and two full sized futons in the living area. Pine panelling, lodge decor and wood burning fireplace added character but room smelled smoky from previous fires. Firewood was provided. Unit had full bath which needed some upgrading (old tile, water faucet in tub hard to turn). Small kitchenette with stove, oven, microwave and small fridge. Lots of dishes and cookware provided. Motel has no icemaker and no ice trays in tiny freezer compartment. You'd have to get ice from a gas station if needed. No pool. Walls not sound proofed. College students in next unit were loud, but we found a box fan to run to drown out the noise. This is a small, locally owned place with nice people. Even with its blemishes, we'd consider staying here again.

Helpful?
6 Thank rme245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#18 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#26 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.6 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Inn

Property: Yellowstone Inn
Address: 601 Highway Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our West Yellowstone Cabins and rooms are just a few minutes' drive away from the the National Park entrance, and conveniently located on highway 20, which also leads through town. We offer lodging with individuality and character that combines the rugged feel of Yellowstone with modern day conveniences. Franchised hotels and motels in West Yellowstone simply don't offer the unique accommodations and ambience available at our family-owned Inn. We are only minutes away from all of the stores, outfitters and fly shops in West Yellowstone. Enjoy the Yellowstone wildlife, and the beautiful scenic views and natural wonders as you hike or drive through the Park. Anglers appreciate that their hosts know the difference between a lake trout, cutthroat, and brook trout. Yellowstone Inn is your home away from home. Our unique Yellowstone Cabins and rooms sleep between two and five guests, many with their own kitchens and fireplaces. centrally located between Madison, Firehole, and Yellowstone rivers, our cabins and lodge-style motel rooms in West Yellowstone are perfect for fishermen, hikers, and sightseers. Most fishermen want little more than to wake up, eat, fish, and sleep, and the Inn puts them only minutes away from Hebgen Lake. Door racks are provided to properly care for your wet waders and boots while you get the sleep you need to bag the next day's catch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing