We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly clean and cozy cottages in West Yellowstone”
Review of Yellowstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yellowstone Inn
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We rented Unit #1 which is one of the larger units. It included a small kitchen, a bedroom with two queen beds and a living-room with a fireplace. Although we didn't spend that much time in the room as there's so much to see in Yellowstone Park, I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the cottage and would definitely stay there again, this time using the occasion to sit in front of a fire with a glass of wine after a long day exploring the park.

The Inn is located away from the main business area, close enough to walk but far enough so you are removed from the noise of the town.

We were traveling with dogs and had no problems booking a room.

Room Tip: Unit 1 was one of the larger units and would be adequate for a family as there were two queen beds i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 154 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent two nights in cabin1. The sleeping quarters were a bit cramped but having a loungeroom as well did not make this an issue. The unit had a kitchenette which would be quite adequate for anyone who was self catering whilst staying there, it also had a fireplace which would be a great asset on a cool night.The units are located on the edge of town which meant they were quiet but a bit of a hike to get to the main area of town and restaurants (we found Bullwinkles restaurant gave good value for money).The owners were very obliging which always makes your stay more enjoyable. The units also had free wi fi which gave us the chance to catch up on a few emails.Would definately stay at Yellowstone Inn if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dishmop37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in cabin 1 for 8 nights...using it as a base to explore the park. It slept our family of 6 comfortably. There is an extra sink area in the bedroom, which is a bonus. It was very clean, updated and well stocked with free items. The freebies at the front desk are a nice bonus also. The hosts are friendly and helpful. The only thing that would have been nice is a bigger kitchen. It has all you need to cook, but it's very, very, very small. More like a kitchenette...mini fridge, stove, oven and microwave...even the sink is tiny. We had to store our dry goods on the fireplace mantle since there was nowhere else. The kitchen area is against a wall, and is only 4 or 5 feet across. We made due though, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wooly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one time. Room was comfortable enough but a bit cramped. We found many large beetles in the room. When we mentioned this to the manager just shrugged it off. Rooms were not made up daily.

At $150/day incl. tax, we felt it was overpriced. And they didn't even smile at us once!

Humph!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batavia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Yellowstone Inn is charming, clean and comfortable place to stay. Each of the rooms or cabins are unique The host is friendly and helpful. We stayed in cabin 6 and our friends were in cabin10. West Yellowstone is a wonderful base to explore the national park.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeNSueP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our room was upgraded upon arrival. It was larger than expected with a sofa, 2 queen beds and sitting chairs and a fireplace. Room was clean and well maintained. I had a problem with the window air conditioner knob breaking off, but the owner swapped the unit out promptly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtgriz98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is a small cabinlike facility on the far NW corner of West Yellowstone. It is on the edge of the town and not real convenient to services, restaurants, museums, etc, but the advantage of this is that it is away from the noise and touristy activities of the main streets. In other words, unless you have the time and want a little bit of a hike, you pretty much have to drive to eat or see the retail establishments of W Yellowstone.

The unit we were in was very compact. We have 5 in our family and the 2 queen beds fit 4 of us reasonably, but putting in a small cot that we had with us for the 5th made the room really tight. I had asked the proprieter of the Inn during my reservation if there was room for a small cot and he made it sound like doing this in (I think it was room 2) the room would be no problem. This was a moderate disappointment. We brought some of our food with us, especially breakfasts, and there is no space in the room to sit other than on a bed and one small chair and a very small table. There was a nice convenience refrigerator in the room.

The room was clean, a little must in the air when we entered and the bathroom as compact as the rest of the room. It was rustic with wood (probably pine) T&G on the walls, which is appropriate for Idaho/Montana/Wyoming.
Overall it was OK. I would consider returning, but also would look into other accommodations upon my return to this part of the country. It was reasonably priced especially compared with accommodations inside the park with similar or lesser features.

Room Tip: The room (I think it was #2) that we were in was very small. More fit for a couple (it does have 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCL62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.6 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yellowstone Lodge
Yellowstone Lodge
#25 of 39 in West Yellowstone
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Marina View Condos
Marina View Condos
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
806 reviews
0.5 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Inn

Address: 601 Highway Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $135 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our West Yellowstone Cabins and rooms are just a few minutes' drive away from the the National Park entrance, and conveniently located on highway 20, which also leads through town. We offer lodging with individuality and character that combines the rugged feel of Yellowstone with modern day conveniences. Franchised hotels and motels in West Yellowstone simply don't offer the unique accommodations and ambience available at our family-owned Inn. We are only minutes away from all of the stores, outfitters and fly shops in West Yellowstone. Enjoy the Yellowstone wildlife, and the beautiful scenic views and natural wonders as you hike or drive through the Park. Anglers appreciate that their hosts know the difference between a lake trout, cutthroat, and brook trout. Yellowstone Inn is your home away from home. Our unique Yellowstone Cabins and rooms sleep between two and five guests, many with their own kitchens and fireplaces. centrally located between Madison, Firehole, and Yellowstone rivers, our cabins and lodge-style motel rooms in West Yellowstone are perfect for fishermen, hikers, and sightseers. Most fishermen want little more than to wake up, eat, fish, and sleep, and the Inn puts them only minutes away from Hebgen Lake. Door racks are provided to properly care for your wet waders and boots while you get the sleep you need to bag the next day's catch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing