We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoked trout BLT...and more...”

The Branch Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Westward expansion brought rail travel and ranches to the Continental Divide, where cowboys (and today’s national park visitors) could live the dream of a horizon-free lifestyle. Inspired by the natural beauty of Yellowstone, the Branch Restaurant celebrates “Open Range Cuisine” where beef and game dishes are infused with local flavor and enjoyed with a selection of regional microbrews and hand-crafted premium cocktails. A selection of tasty vegetarian and gluten-free options are available.The restaurant boasts casual attire, seats on a first-come-first-served basis and does not accept reservations. Children's menus and box lunches are available. The Branch Restaurant & Bar is the ideal locale to enjoy a delicious dinner while recounting the day's exploration of Yellowstone National Park.Open daily, year-round.
Hines, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Smoked trout BLT...and more...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our first visit to the Branch(Oct 24)...had lunch. My husband had the 3 wild game sausages(pheasant, elk, & buffalo) with a plum dipping sauce. They were so delicious with the seasonal beer the server recommended! I had the BLT with smoked trout -spread with a horseradish mayo -so good I aimed to come back for dinner and order a smoked trout Caesar salad! We were there during the off season-a very attentive server.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    111
    59
    51
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
157 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

The restaurant was a great find. They had excellent food at a reasonable price. The waiter was exceptional in that he was very intuitive. He brought refills on drinks without prompting, kept our kids entertained, offered suggestions on the menu and engaged our group. There is also a set of neat refurbished train cars built into the restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Try the Golden sauce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We love Barbecue and were surprised by the variety of the sauces at the Branch. The Huckleberry sauce was very good, but I was surprised by the Golden sauce. It's a mustard based sauce. We had wings, pulled pork and sweet potato fries. It was all very good. We were grateful they were open as most of the places to eat had closed when Yellowstone Park closed for the Federal shut down. As a bonus attraction, there's an old train car attached that is in original condition with the coach, sleeping booths, seats, dining car all in one. Free to walk through.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sande57701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Bison Pot Roast was Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The title says it all. We're an older couple from the East coast, so bison was on our to-do list when we went to Yellowstone. The bison was slightly shredded and served in a large bowl with carrots, potatoes, and lots of thin gravy. Tender perfection! The portions were generous and the service was very good. We would go back in a heartbeat! The restaurant is lovely and very well maintained. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Two2FortheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

The fish was particularly good at this restaurant. It was very quiet so the service was good but not much atmosphere. The train carriage from 1903 in the entrance is worth a look.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davehChester_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Branch Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
West Yellowstone, MT
 

Been to The Branch Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing