We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Condo #105 was great”
Review of Pine Shadows Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Shadows Motel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Condo #105 was great”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

It has 3 bedrooms and 2 baths. It was great for us (3 adults, 5 teenagers).
Full kitchen, with pots, dishes and even salt, pepper and sugar.
Very clean, spacious.
Initially, my sister had a room at the adjoining Motel, but when we saw how big the condo was, we asked Chad if she and her son could give up the Motel room and stay at the condo with us (to bring the total to 3 adults and 5 teens). Chad graciously agreed.
The location is great for access to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Owner at Pine Shadows Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Devesh-
Thank you so much for the kind words. Mallory and I are very glad that we where able to accommodate you and your family. We thank you so much for staying with us and hope to see you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    47
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
63
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

As i said in my title, it's a great place to stay, West Yellowstone is small and everywhere is in walking distance. We only stayed 1 night prior to going into the park... We booked a King Size room, it was super clean and well presented. Has a fridge to keep the beer cool, heating/air.... Staff are super nice, accommodating and very helpful. I'll be returning to this place, hopefully in winter to take advantage of the sledding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReeceBurtonTabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Owner at Pine Shadows Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. They mean so much to Mallory and I. We try our best to make sure that each guest leaves our place and our town with a smile. Hope to see you this winter for some snowmobiling. Even if you don't ride a Ski-doo. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We love this place! I think we have stayed a total of four times now, and the condo/cabin really is perfect for having our parents go too. The condos are well stocked, always clean, and very big. You will probably want to drive the few blocks over to main street with kids, but I am happy to do this to have the bigger space for such an affordable rate. We always use the grills outside too. Chad and Mallory are the owner/operators, and they are as nice as you could hope for. Thanks for always taking such good care of us!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volkl156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Owner at Pine Shadows Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Angie-

Mallory and I wish to thank you for the kind words. It has been a pleasure having your family stay with us in our condos over the years. It means so much to us when we are able to start recognizing names and faces. Seeing happy return guests is the main goal in this business and I am glad that you feel we are worth coming back to. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenyon, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

the condos were clean and big.these are great persons to work with.we had condo117 two bathrooms two bedrooms sleeps ten had alot of room.this is the only place we will stay.they have great guides taylor,jr.bill and shop and office guys great to.thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrett_340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Owner at Pine Shadows Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for kind words Barrett family. Glad to have been able to make your trip wonderful. You are a great crew and we hope that you are able to spend more winters riding with us. And thank you for supporting us with all the HiCountry and Ace Powder Guides gear that you purchased. Not to mention the Avalanche Gear. Really makes us happy to see people take avalanches serious. Thanks again and hope to see you all this up coming winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Thank you Chad and Mallory for making our stay very enjoyable. It is wonderful to see such a nice family operation. There were six of us staying in the condo and everything worked out just fine. It was wonderful to wake up and have our rental sleds right out side our door - gas tanks full and just waiting for a wonderful day of riding. At the end of the day the machines were put into a nice garage so the next day everything had no ice and no snow on it. We arrived late in the evening after a two day drive from Canada so needless to say very tired. The condo was cozy and warm. We did pack a crockpot so we were made meals that were ready to go when we arrived back from riding. If there was anything missing or anything needed all we had to do is ask and we did receive very promptly. When you first walk into the condo the livingroom and dining area seems really large but after you have six riders and all the gear that goes with each person it was nice to have such space for putting on and taking off helmets, etc. The property is a nice walking distance to everything in town and there is two grocery stores that have everything you may need.

The only thing that would have made our trip better was if your groomers in the area would GROOM the trails. We know that this is beyond your control but perhaps you can mention something to the people who look after the grooming as people come to Yellowstone in the winter to ride and enjoy the beautiful views and when the trails are not properly groomed it does not make for a good day. I am not sure if your business has to contribute to the grooming of the trails but here in Canada if we had to pay for the grooming we seen in Yellowstone, we would fire the groomers and hire new ones.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Owner at Pine Shadows Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We thank you so much for the kind words. Hopefully we will see you again this year and hopefully we will have better snow and the groomers are out grooming the trails. Thanks again for supporting us at Pine Shadows and HiCountry/Ace Powder Guides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here, our first time, just about 3 weeks ago and we loved it. We stayed in the motel part, a very nice room, spotless and they took good care of us. The room was always clean, and even though it is out of town, we had no trouble getting to where we wanted to be. The owner and his wife were very nice, and we lost something as we were packing to leave, and he immediately called and sent it to us. We would and probably will stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't believe I would pay attention to the negative reviews. Some people are never satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Owner at Pine Shadows Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Mallory and I would like to say thank you for staying with us. We know that there are many options and places to stay here in West. Each guest is very important to our small business. I thank you so much for the kind words. We hope to see you again. And glad we could get your stuff back to you. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We recently stayed in one of their condos and we couldn't believe how unclean it was. It looked like they just wiped the counters and that's it. The floors were sticky and dirty so I didn't want my one year old crawling around. We had to go ask for a mop and clean it ourselves. The beds were comfy but the pillows were awful plus it looked like they didn't wash the bedding because there was hair in it and on the blankets. It's too bad because it was roomy and could be nice it just needs better cleaning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missybond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Owner at Pine Shadows Motel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I am so sorry for your experience. Mallory and i take pride in trying to provide the clean place for people to stay. I am sorry that you found the condo less then satisfactory. We had had people helping us clean, as of tomorrow they will not longer be with us as this is the second review from our customers like this. Mallory and I will go back to cleaning ourselves to make sure that each of our guest can be assured that we have made sure that things are to our standards and hopefully yours. I wish to personally say i am sorry on behalf of my family. I hope that you will consider giving us another chance. Thanks Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#18 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Shadows Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Shadows Motel

Property: Pine Shadows Motel
Address: 229 North Hayden Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned motel and condos in West Yellowstone. We have many different and affordable options for lodging for single occupancy to families. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Shadows Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing