We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pine Shadows Motel
Nearby Hotels
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)
$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar-N-Ranch(West Yellowstone)
$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $349/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Marina View Condos(West Yellowstone)
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Park Hotel(West Yellowstone)
$455
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $301/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$455
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$439
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $491/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gray Wolf Inn and Suites(West Yellowstone)
$319
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Under Canvas Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)
$674
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
83
54
12
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
54
12
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull size kitchensnowmobile rentalsfridge microwavewould stay here againyellowstone parkother hotelsstayed here for one nightfree wifisnowmobile tripliving rooma great staybeds were very comfortableeasy accesschadcondoofficegas
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 158 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

As I was sitting down to review this motel, I read through another recent review title "Clean but sterile...", and feel like they nailed it pretty well, so rather than rewrite his review, I'll just add a few thoughts of my own.
The owners are a very friendly, helpful young family, and the motel is clean and well maintained, but when I stepped into the hallway I felt like I was going to the dentists office, it just had a very sterile, commercial feel to it.
There is coffee available in the office, but it doesn't open until 8am, so if you want to get up and going early you will need to make a run through the McDonalds drive-thru to get your fix. Coffee makers in the rooms and ice machines would be very useful additions to this property.
Finally, we hung up most of our towels to reuse, but tossed a couple in the tub to get them changed. When we came back at the end of the day we found them laying in the tub where we left them, and the beds only haphazardly made. The owners were apologetic and things were much better the second night, but their cleaning staff seems a bit lazy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Owner at Pine Shadows Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for the review. We are as of today getting our coffee pots in and putting them in the rooms. We do have an ice maker in our office for our guest. As the building is new we know we have to get pictures, etc in. And we are working on doing just that. As for our cleaning girls missing the stayover, I am so sorry. The one thing Mallory and I work hard on is keeping things clean. I hope that all is well and thank you again. Chad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed one night in the motel rooms at the Pine Shadows Motel. The Motel is a few blocks off the main area of town which might be good if you want really quiet, but bad if you want to be able to walk to restaurants or anything. We were in what appears to be a very new structure. It looks brand new and smells like it was painted and carpeted yesterday. I don't know if it was, but when you open the main door, the smell was a bit overwhelming.

This is a tough review to write, because we had such mixed feelings about this place. The manager or owner Chad was very nice and helpful on the phone. The room was a very standard size room with 2 queen beds. We appreciated the microwave and fridge. However, this was the most stark and sterile room I've ever stayed in - ever! There was not a single picture or any artwork or anything on the walls or anywhere. Just absolutely plain white walls and the most plain room I've ever seen.

There was no coffee maker, no ice bucket, no hair dryer, no iron, no extra pillows or blankets....nothing. It was as if your aunt had a spare bedroom with just beds - or maybe like a hospital room. It was incredibly clean, which is a huge bonus, so that makes our review mixed. We loved the cleanliness, but there was nothing else to love. A little personality would go a LONG way in this place. A lot of artwork in hotels is tacky and out of date, but even that would add something at least. And really, no hair dryer or coffee maker?

I have read about the condos also affiliated with this Motel and they sound (and by the photo's look) a lot better. If you can get one of the those, they are probably good.

So - again a mixed review for the motel rooms. I would not return unless there was nothing else available. The area is filled with so much nature and personality - this didn't quite fit in and at over $130 a night, you can do better.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the condo's if you are going to stay here.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtripdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Owner at Pine Shadows Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thanks you for the review. I am glad you found your room clean, it is something that Mallory and I try very hard to make sure happens. I wanted to let you know that we take each review very personal as this is our home and business and wish to do everything possible to make sure our guests, become family and returns. I also wanted to let you know that as of today we have received our coffee makers and are putting them in each room. Hair dryers are also coming. We are also looking at different pictures to order to put in the rooms. Thanks you very much for staying with us and hope to see you again some time. Chad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We rented the big condo (condo 118) that sleeps 10. It was a huge 2 bedroom. There were 3 beds in one of the rooms and 2 queen beds in the other.

Here are the pros:
1) The condo was clean and very spacious.
2) The bed was comfy.
3) There is a full size refrigerator in the kitchenette and the kitchen was well stocked with plates and cutlery.
4) 2 good sized bathrooms


A few cons would be:

1) The pillows were not comfortable at all. They were too fluffy high and we ended up not using the pillows. We had a neckache the first night of trying to get comfortable sleeping with the pillows.
2) Condo 118 parking is on streetside, not in the parking lot of the condo unit.
3) The laundry room closes at 9 pm. In my opinion, a little too early for families to be able to use
the laundry room coming back from a tour at Yellowstone.

Overall, a great place to stay. Would recommend to families planning a stay at West Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkjldk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Once again we ventured west and had a wonderful time...we booked at Pine Shadows and again we have no complaints. When we arrived on Friday our room was ready and spotless. They (Chad and Mallory) have rebuilt the motel part of their business and it is awesome. The room was very clean and smelled great..that is one thing I really look for, no smelly rooms or halls. The owners are so friendly and Love their little kids. It is nice to see a family owned business these days, makes the stay feel more enjoyable. They helped us plan some of our adventures as they know the area very well...thanks to them. Enjoyed the music festival that was going on down the road..thanks to chad for bringing it to our attention. We will be back either in the fall or next summer and will stay at pine shadows when we return. Would have like to share photos but can't get them to upload...

Room Tip: motel for smaller groups, the condos are so nice if you have four or more...lots of room and a great deal as you can cook if you want...really saves on the budget if you don't have to eat out everyday..
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtr060780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We tarvel to West Yellowstone once a year. And the Motel that we used to stay at had raised it prices from $89 to $250 a night, (they were bought out by a large chain).
I like to support the small businesses and not the national chains when ever possible. And to our suprise we found a real gem the Pine shadows.
Not only were the room rate very reasonable, the rooms were very clean, well maintained, and large. And the owners Chad and Mallory were the best, very freindly and helpful. The motel was so nice we extended our stay. It is so nice to come back to a clean room and soft bed after a long day of hiking in Yellowstone or visiting the nearby ghost towns and caverns.
We look forward to visiting them next year and for years to come.
A big "THANKS" to Chad and Mallory for making us feel like family and making our stay perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews