We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place!!”
Review of Pine Shadows Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Shadows Motel
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

very nice condo., it seemed very new and the layout was great!! rented snowmobiles from there( high country) and had a great time!! the beds were very nice. would highly recommened to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ziggy-monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    47
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
63
45
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Three of us stayed at the Pine Shadows before and after a backpacking trip in Yellowstone. They have at least one room with three double beds and one single bed; perfect accommodations for three or four individuals. Comfortable room, friendly hosts, and a decent value for the money -- check it out!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank QuailHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Really enjoyed staying here. The staff were helpful and the condo was ideal for us and with a fully equipped kitchen we were able to have some good home cooked meals here. The little boy also slept well and once he was asleep we could chill out downstairs.
The place was walkable to the town and nearby park, which was good for your 2yo. Being close the park we were usually in there by about 8.30 am.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This was our second visit to west yellowstone and staying at Pine Shadows Motel and again we have no complaints. The condo was everything we needed and plenty of room. Clean, Clean and Clean. The owners are super people, they really turned this place around from years ago and were told they will be re-doing the motel part of the property in the next month..good luck to them and if you're looking for a clean and friendly place, Pine Shadow is the place to stay. FYI, photo on Trip advisor doesn't do this place justice...alot better looking place. The sign is the old one.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jtr060780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights for a trip to Yellowstone NP. The room was very clean and had a fridge, microwave, and desk that I could put my computer. The bed was clean and comfortable, although there was no alarm clock... Bathroom was clean as well... a bit small but nothing too bad... the area was very quiet and I felt secure there. Internet worked fine. It was about a 3 or 4 minute drive into town where the restaurants and shops were... not too bad, but do not expect to walk to these places from the motel. Town is on the way to the park, so you can grab coffee in the morning or bring back dinner with little effort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natl_parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

First the positives... I got a very decent rate on the room for the area. Well at least I think I did since they don't post the rates on their website. I had to call for a rate. There was a decent size refrigerator and microwave in the room. There was free wifi. That worked fine.
The people were very nice and helpful. There was a laundry room and bbq grills out front. It's close to the west entrance of YNP but so are all the other hotels and motels. From what I can see it did appear clean. I felt comfortable and safe that the owners did live on the premises. It was a very, very basic room that is fine if you just need a place to sleep and will not spend much time in the room.

For the Negatives..... Perhaps the condo's are much nicer but the motel portion needs a lot of work! I booked a queen bed type room since I was traveling solo. The room was spacious enough for one person but it can definitely use a lot of updating. First off since I was spending more then one night here I wanted to unpack a little. Of course I had clothing that needed some ironing. The irons and ironing boards were in the guest laundry building across the parking lot. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to iron there or take the iron and board to my room. The ironing boards were locked open so I couldn't collapse it. I ended up just carrying it to my room open and then returning everything when I was done.

The bathroom was extremely tiny. It looks they they put in a new shower but it was too big for the size of the bathroom. Getting in and out was difficult. You could not leave the bathroom door open and open the shower door at the same time. The lighting was awful in the bathroom. In addition, they didn't have an electrical outlet in the bathroom to use a blow dryer. In fact, the outlets were very few. There was one for the microwave and refrigerator. Another by the door which the floor lamp was plugged into. I used the second outlet for my camera battery charger which I had to switch out with my cell phone charger. Then there was one near the desk which the television and desk lamp was plugged into. Finally one somewhere behind the bed but the lamp above the bed was plugged into that. I couldn't move the bed so I couldn't get to the second one. To blow dry my hair I used the outlet by the door where I was about 10 feet from the mirror above the desk. Getting up as early as I did even opening the curtains wouldn't bring in enough light to see so I had to leave the lamps plugged in.

The bed was comfortable enough except that the lamp above it was right there. It also made me nervous that the pillows were right on the electric cord for that lamp when sleeping. I had visions of the lamp falling on my head while asleep.

They are located "away" from the main portion of the town and you could walk to the main streets but it would be more then a few blocks. It was just easier to drive.

Overall the room could use a good update! There was one picture on the wall. The bathroom was so tiny I didn't have anywhere to put my toiletry bag. One thing that somewhat "turned me off" was that the gal at the reception desk made a comment that if I didn't want maid service to put the "do not disturb" sign on the door. It was as if she was hinting for me to do it. I was also concerned about the gutter right above my room where my rental car was parked. There was a lot of water draining from it in that one spot and this wasn't even at the end of the building. I didn't know how much water was up there but I had visions of it breaking away from the building and smashing into the rental car. That would have been an interesting story for the rental car company.

I'm not sure if I would stay here again. I normally like to support independent hotels/motels because of the personal touch but this one really could use an update. Like the saying goes... you get what you pay for. Perhaps if they gutted the place and started fresh. It felt old and was dingy. As frugal as I am, I would spend a few more dollars and go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for whatever discount you can get....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldWanderer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We were very happy with our choice to stay at Pine Shadows. We booked 2 condos to accommodate all of our kids and grandkids. There was plenty of room for all. The only thing we didn't like was that there were no dressers to use to unpack our clothes, which we wanted to do as we stayed there for several days. Other than that, had a great time and the owners were great to work with as we had to change our reservation dates a few times before we could get everyone's schedules coordinated.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorac11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
681 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#22 of 39 in West Yellowstone
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Shadows Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Shadows Motel

Property: Pine Shadows Motel
Address: 229 North Hayden Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned motel and condos in West Yellowstone. We have many different and affordable options for lodging for single occupancy to families. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Shadows Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing