We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just the basics, nicely done”
Review of Moose Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moose Creek Inn
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“just the basics, nicely done”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Moose Creek Inn, room had one queen bed, fridge and microwave, shower. The bed was very comfortable. The room is small but was well-kept, the inn is an older building but the rooms showed a recent remodeling in an attractive rustic western style, recently painted, etc. The WiFi worked well enough. As others have noted, the room is small, the parking lot is cramped so you might not get to park right outside your room door. We found it was reasonably quiet. Coffee and tea -- but no breakfast -- is served in the morning. A variety of restaurants and markets are within a 2-3 block walk. Prices in West Yellowstone in August are a bit steep but that's to be expected.

If you just want a room for a place to shower, sleep, and change clothes, the Moose Creek Inn is fine. If you want a place to lounge around a lot, this might not be it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RangeviewRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    147
    63
    19
    6
See reviews for
68
197
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

The rooms very nice for the price and nicely located within a short walk to many restaurants and gift shops. It was also super close to the West entrance to the park. The bed was very comfy and the WiFi worked really well. The only issue I had was with parking. The lot is small and if you get back from the park late, good luck finding a spot close to your room.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mandamu43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Well kept rustic inn, great value and close to the main strip. The rooms are very tidy and very wilderness based. The bathrooms are surprising clean and was pleasantly surprised in how well the wifi worked. Parking is right outside the rooms, so handy

Room Tip: Stayed on the ground floor, I should recommend the top floor as you get noise from the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkrause01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Here's a motel that tries to provide what a traveller needs. The rooms may be small but it provides a fridge, microwave and assumes two travellers so two suitcase racks which are so rare in USA accommodation of any level. Reasonably central in town although a bit claustrophobic with low ceilings. Walls a bit thin so ablutions being carried out elsewhere, or (if on ground floor like us) overhead guests walking around, easily heard. Staff friendly and helpful. No breakfast or wifi provided (the former not necessary although the price dictates it should) and the latter almost a necessity in this day and age. Room clean, bed needs an update soon, shower a bit squeezy but generally it's what you'd expect from this sort of property.

Room Tip: Second floor to minimise noise disturbance from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very well equipped but really not worth the (high) price. The staff was very friendly and helpful but the manager, Ms. Smith, on the other hand didn't even provide basic information about the places around ('Ask at the Visitor Center' and 'You can do anything you like') and she was rude to us when we were thanking one of the employees. She even intruded in our room while we were talking to the employee and reprimanded her in front of us. We also had a serious argument about the rate. Our credit card was debited for the total amount of our stay well in advance of our arrival – normally we expect to make a downpayment and then pay the rest on arrival, or rather at the end of our stay. The second greedy attitude here is that they apply 'dynamic rates' (we would say 'despe-rates'): when the place is booked (almost) full for a night, the rate you pay gets higher. We paid a certain amount for the first night, and a higher one for the next two nights, because on these nights, the hotel was almost full. We found this very strange, since the opposite often happens: you pay less per night when you stay longer. We found it unacceptable that we paid more for night 2 & 3 that for night 1 (all in mid-week). This procedure was not mentioned when we booked, only the total price was shown, and we took it for granted that the 3 nights had the same rate. The discrepancy only came to light after we got there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Touche_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priest River, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Next time I visit this will be the only place I stay. Rooms are clean with 'like home' feeling. Check in was quick and friendly welcome. Don't pay more at the chains. You get the feeling they really welcome & value their guests here at Moose Creek Inn!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

There is nothing inexpensive in West Yellowstone during the summer, especially the hotels. After checking TA I found this to be one of the higher rated ones with a "reasonable" rate. We stayed upstairs in the main hotel in a king room. The bed was comfortable and the dresser had plenty of room to unpack. The bathroom was small and the shower even more so, but if you simply need a place to crash after spending all day in Yellowstone it is fine. The front desk people were exceptionally friendly as well. Our only real problem was trying to find a parking space up front if we came back too late. All in all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLTopCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#28 of 39 in West Yellowstone
554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Creek Inn

Property: Moose Creek Inn
Address: 119 Electric Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly American West)
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Moose Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moose Creek Inn is family owned and operated, located just 3 blocks from the west entrance to Yellowstone National Park, in the town of West Yellowstone, Montana. The west entrance is the most favorable entrance to visiting many of Yellowstone Park's most scenic features such as Old Faithful, the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone, Yellowstone Lake, and Norris Geyser Basin. Moose Creek Inn is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and more. Book one of our clean and cozy rooms for your Yellowstone vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Moose Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moose Creek Inn Hotel West Yellowstone
American West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing