We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”
Review of Moose Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moose Creek Inn
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed at the Moose Creek Inn during Labor day weekend this year. True to other people's reviews, we found the place a bit rustic, but overall, fine. The beds were comfortable and the room had a TV with Satellite (great for watching east coast college football while in the west:) as well as wireless. We were finishing out the last night of our 12 day trip to Yellowstone, so we actually stayed in the room a bit more than usual (packing, etc.), however most people only use the hotel rooms for sleep. If that is your purpose and you are looking to spend $100 per night, than this is a good pick.

The only 'dings' are that the room door was so difficult to open, we had to get the staff to assist and there is no elevator, so be kind with the person managing the carrying of the luggage. Also, while at first site, the room is clean, there were definitely a few questionable areas in the corners that hadn't seen a mop or broom for a while.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amplusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 370 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

We came to Yellowstone Park without any reservations. Bad choice. We knew there would be nothing in the Park, but thought we would be able to find something in the towns at the entrances.

West Yellowstone is full of hotels, motels, inns, restaurants, souvenier shops and everything catering to the tourist. Unfortunately, even approaching the "shoulder season", all of the chain hotels were booked solid. We cruised around and checked many smaller motels on side streets with very mixed results. Most were run down or not very clean.

We finally came upon the Moose Creek Inn and were pleasantly surprised. It is a "Mom and Pop" type establishment. Very small. The rooms are also small, but lovingly decorated in rustic cabin type decor. Really cute. The best part was the cleanliness - the room was spotless.

I have to say that we did not find the matresses to be "saggy" as noted by an earlier reviewer. There is a difference between a saggy mattress and a medium soft mattress.
This is one of my pet peeves with chain hotels. They all seem to have extra firm mattresses, which are about as comfortable as sleeping on the floor. I can't believe that most hotel guests prefer extra firm mattresses. We usually wake up with sore hips and shoulders after sleeping on these "cement slabs". But we slept very well at Moose Creek Inn.

As with most hotels and motels these days - I always do a bed bug check before unpacking - no matter how expensive the room is. When I checked the mattress in our room at Moose Creek, I was surprised to find a brand new mattress. (by the way - there were no bed bugs!)

The room was a bit overpriced, but it was in line with what the prices were in the area. It was reasonably priced in comparison with the chain hotels. I just thought that everything around Yellowstone was overpriced - especially since it is getting late in the season. Don't expect a big breakfast - they offer a simple continental.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank batya410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This place is for very small people. The room was tiny, the bathroom was even smaller, no room to set your things and the shower is so small that if you are over 6 foot tall you better not drop yor soap cause if you try to pick it up you will bump your head. Plus there is a sickly sweet smell. Never again!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eekeim511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

A great place to stay. Very courteous staff!! Rustic decor. Would recommend! Restaurants and shopping all within walking distance. Rooms may be a little small but remember people, You Are On Vacation!!!! Get over yourselves. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We spent 2 nights at Moose Creek Inn in West Yellowstone. We loved the place the moment we checked in: Flower pots hanging from the ceilings, free items such as razors and dried cranberries at the front desk, free coffee and breakfast, and a lovely decor where you can really tell someone thought about how to make a motel cozy and welcoming. Although the mattress was a bit uncomfortable, we would stay there again anytime!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blue8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The rooms at the Moose Creek Inn were tiny, but very clean and comfortable. I also enjoyed the tasteful Yellowstone themed decor. The motel is family owned and operated, and the staff is fantastic. They really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. We also enjoyed the simple continental breakfast each day and the gift sacks full of toiletries. The price was very reasonable in comparison to other motels in the area,and we will be back.

Room Tip: As far as I know, all the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamieLynn1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Moose Creek Inn sounds like the name of a rustic log lodge out in the woods. It is actually an old two story cinder block building a few blocks from the center of West Yellowstone. I'm not sure how long it has had its current name, but you can see the name of a low-end discount motel chain under the paint on one wall. It has about 16 rooms.

Someone decided to fix the place up and they have really put a lot of effort into making it a cozy place to stay. We enjoyed the rustic log decor and animal motif fabrics. The room was perfectly clean and everything worked. The two staff members we interacted with were very pleasant and helpful.

Unfortunately, our room was tiny and dark. We had to keep the dark drapes closed for privacy. The shower stall was so small you could barely turn around. It was OK for two nights, but I'd hate to spend a week there.

As you can see from the rate information, the room rate during tourist season is about three times what a room like this would go for in a normal market. Don't bother complaining, that's how it is in West Yellowstone during the tourist season.

I would have preferred one of the large chain motels nearby, but they were booked up for the days in June that I wanted. They were also even more expensive.

If you like small, rustic and cozy rooms, you'll be fine at the Moose Creek Inn. If you want a large room, a pool, work out room or a hot breakfast, you've got the wrong place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eyedoc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Creek Inn

Address: 119 Electric Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly American West)
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $229 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moose Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moose Creek Inn is family owned and operated, located just 3 blocks from the west entrance to Yellowstone National Park, in the town of West Yellowstone, Montana. The west entrance is the most favorable entrance to visiting many of Yellowstone Park's most scenic features such as Old Faithful, the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone, Yellowstone Lake, and Norris Geyser Basin. Moose Creek Inn is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and more. Book one of our clean and cozy rooms for your Yellowstone vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moose Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moose Creek Inn Hotel West Yellowstone
American West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing