We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, quiet accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Cabins are very comfortable. Nicely landscaped, with front patios that allow for outdoor relaxing. The interior has granite countertops in the kitchen and bathroom. Very large shower, and outstanding beds. The fire pit is a nice touch; convenient to all of the cabins on any particular loop. They supply a S'mores kit to use in the evening over the fire.

A simple thing that's a welcome touch: full sized coffeemaker with enough excellent ground coffee for a full sized pot. Artwork and photos inside reflect themes from the park and seem very customized for your room. Binocs, a walking stick and flashlight are supplied for you to use (but not keep).

The only drawback to sitting by the fire pit at night was the walkway lighting, which was kind of overpowering. Whether for safety's sake, or decorative, it was a bit much at night.

Overall, nice place to stay with the quiet you would expect from a cabin not attached to other rooms on the sides.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler22345095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

We appreciate your time and attention in reviewing the Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone. Thank you for your complementary feedback, we always like to hear that guests found the design and decoration to be pleasant. And we really love to hear that our guests found their stay to be quiet and relaxing. Thank you for noting the lights along the walkway, we will see if we can make any improvements to the outdoor living experience. Please come stay with us again anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
There are newer reviews for Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 719 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights with my parents. There was plenty of room for all of us and we were very comfortable throughout our stay. The cabins aren't in the woods as they may seem, but they are charming just the same! Our cabin was clean and conveniently located to the main part of West Yellowstone and just minutes from the West entrance to the park. The amenities were great - lots of soap and shampoo, adequate supplies in the kitchen, and of course the s'mores packages for the fire pits are great. A few minor improvements could make things even better. There weren't enough hangers for towels, so we hung our in the bedroom closets. When all 4 of us were eating in the cabin, we brought in the chairs from the porch (which are very nice), because the couch would be just a bit too tight! An additional chair in the living area would be great.

We are so glad we chose to stay here and would definitely do so again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank je2sica84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Greetings, thank you for taking the time to review the Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone and share your thoughts. We are thrilled to hear that you found the cabin to be comfortable and convenient for a Yellowstone National Park adventure launching point. Your proposed improvements to the Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone are appreciated and will be discussed immediately. We have noted the lack of seating being an issue and hope to have places for everyone to sit and eat when you come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The cabins are very nice and new with granite counters, contemporary decor and a s'mores kit to use out in the fire pit. This has got to be one of the nicest cabins we've ever stayed at. I highly recommend staying here! This will always be the place where we will stay whenever we visit West Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eatdrink1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Hello Eatdrink1, thank you for the exceptional review and positive comments on the Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone. We are very pleased to hear that your stay with us comes highly recommended. We cannot wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in cabin #31 for two nights the last week in September with a good rate of $151. It was exceptionally appointed and comfortable with two queen beds. Lots of towels and the large bottles of shampoo, conditioner, body/face wash was a good surprise. We had hot water for both nights but on the checkout morning only cold water.

Yes, it would be helpful to have an inside table. The room is spacious so next time I'll bring a small folding camping table to solve the problem. A journey for traveler comments is a fun idea-be sure to read and add your notes.

You can't park in front of the cabins. Parking is behind the cabins yet it seemed secure enough with adequate lighting. We left valuables inside the vehicle (cameras, lenses (to avoid condensation problems). We would have preferred being able to see the vehicle from inside the room. Watch your step between cabins. We found mud and animal waste with grass trying hard to grow. Rain and snow will sluff (slough) off for a real mess in the fall and winter.

We recommend the Explorer Cabins and will stay again on all of our annual Yellowstone trips.

Room Tip: We were happy with cabin #31
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Greetings CP, thank you for your thoughtful review and stay with us at the Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the journal for our guests’ to share their experiences while staying with us. Your comments and thoughts are appreciated and noted, we are working on possible seating solutions for the upcoming season. For additional vehicle security we can offer parking on our underground garage located next door below the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We look forward to seeing you again this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The cabin we stayed in was comfortable, clean, well equipped and convenient to the entrance to Yellowstone. The fireplace was welcome on cold evenings and the wifi and TV were good. Except for some strange water temperature issues in the shower and a temperature in the refrigerator that froze our Pepsi we had a good stay. It would be nice if the cabin had a table and chairs, there is adequate room. Eating on the couch is always messy. The town of West Yellowstone is quaint even though many of the shops close for the season after Labor Day. There is a laundry facility and swimming pool in the hotel next door and the front desk brought us ice when we requested it. The cabin's front porch has nice chairs and there is a fire pit that is lit each night nearby the half circle of cabins we stayed in. Overall this is a nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takemeout15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you reviewing your stay at our Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone. We truly appreciate your feedback and comments on the accommodations. The seating issue is one we are working on for the upcoming season, thanks for noting that. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the fire pit outdoor living space and found the short walk to use the pool and laundry machines acceptable. We hope that you make it back our way again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We originally booked a room for four nights at the Yellowstone Park Hotel. As we were checking in I overheard the front d3esk person saying they had availability in their cabins. We initially went to our room but after seeing the narrow hallway and cramped and somewhat tired room, we went back to the front desk and asked to see one of the cabins. We had noticed them on the way in and commented that they looked like a neat place to stay.

We were given a key and told to take a look. It was easy to make the decision to move to the cabin. We had to pay a nominal difference which was well worth it.

The cabins are all new and well equipped. We had more room than we really needed but as it turned out we were able to use the extra room one evening to host an impromptu gathering of fellow photographers who were all visiting the park as part of a photography class.

We had a king bedroom, a queen bedroom, bath and kitchen/living room. The kitchen was equipped with glasses, plates,bowls and utensils. A small two burner range top, microwave, small fridge and even a dishwasher.

A built in gas fireplace with remote controls added a nice touch and there was even a fire pit which was lighted every evening. And of course the free s'mores.

All in all it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Hello Riley, thank you for taking the time to review the Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone. We enjoyed reading your review and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities of the cabin so much! We aimed to provide guests with a comfortable home base for missions in and around Yellowstone National Park. Please come stay with us again next time you are visiting West Yellowstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

the owners of this place got it right. brand new cabins just outside the west gate of Yellowstone. fireplace, heat, a/c, front porch, comfortable. the little touch that I thought was totally cool was upon arrival they give you a "s'mores kit." a bag filled with marshmallows, grahams, and chocolate. in the evening they light the fire pits near the cabins and you can toast your s'mores and meet your neighbors. felt like camping out but with first class accommodations. a touch pricey but not unreasonable for being next to a popular national park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon95747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone for your recent stay in West Yellowstone, and for taking the time to review our property. Your review means a lot to us and we appreciate your time. We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the outdoor living space with your fellow travelers. We aimed to provide a touch of the outdoors mixed with a very place comfortable stay. Please come stay with us again anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone

Address: 201 Grizzly Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $146 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of West Yellowstone our new 50-cabin property provides a unique vacation experience by combining cabineering℠, generational travel and dog-friendly travel. Enjoy stylish decor, upscale linen and your own private cabin. The kitchenettes allow for light cooking to enjoy a simple meal. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing