We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun family event”
Review of Yellowstone Rodeo

Yellowstone Rodeo
Lexington, KY
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun family event”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This a small rodeo with local talent. Watching these gals and guys miss a lot of their tricks makes you really appreciate just how hard these stunts are, something that can be hard to realize when you watch the pros doing it. The rodeo clown was very good, funny and quite the athlete. They do a few things to keep the audience involved, like an adorable calf scramble for the littlest kids and a dance contest. If you pay a few dollars extra for the grand stand, you'll have assigned seats that are dead center to see all the action. My only complaint was that there was a little too much advertising. I don't mind the banners all around the arena, but the non stop mentioning of local businesses by the announcer was hard to take. The rodeo starts at 8 PM and finishes around 9:45 PM.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SEFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    30
    12
    3
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a top-notch rodeo, but still fun”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

It's a small local deal and so there aren't many riders and the skill level isn't the highest (but way better than me - so there's that). Still, it's a fun way to spend an evening if you're out that way.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdalegonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Rodeo??? More like joke!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Well... Lets see, "Silverfox" is the announcer at this joke, Bobbe McMillan wins all the events and she is co-owner of the rodeo company. They HIRE their cowboys to perform. If ya don't believe me check it out at ranchworldads.com. I was there in 2010 and they had a very personable and PROFESSIONAL announcer who worked his butt off to inform the crowd but in 2011 there was a whole crew of announcers who were awful. The owner of the company is rude, hateful and shows no respect for the cowboys, his help or spectators. In short, if you want to go to a rodeo that is fun and exciting...... Go to Cody or anywhere for that matter. Don't waste your money for a disappointment. Crooks, poor entertainment, fake, AMATEUR AND UNPROFESSIONAL.

Helpful?
Thank Rodeomk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small Town Rodeo Fun”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a great kid-friendly activity. While probably only one of any cowboy/cowgirl completed an activity successfully, it was a super way to spend a Saturday night. We took my 9 year old nephew who had never seen any type of rodeo at all and he was enthralled. He especially loved when they brought the kids into the ring, led them in exercises then sent them chasing after a calf with a bow on its tail. Forget the seat numbers or placement on your ticket as the locals just sit where they want. My husband and I were laughing as several out of towners were rather put out by this approach.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank megcda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“True Wild West Fun”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

An authentic rodeo complete with bucking broncos, barrel racing and calf roping. Our children loved the experience and was a favorite for us during our visit to Yellowstone National Park.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellowstone Rodeo also viewed

 
West Yellowstone, MT
 

Been to Yellowstone Rodeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing