We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Buffalo Hotel
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel is falling apart. We were upgrading to a larger room due to problems with assigned room. The room was on the north side of the property on the ground floor. Buses park right outside our room. Door did not have security lock thus put a chair in front of door. Water pressure was very poor. Free breadfast was not suitable for humans.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, General Manager at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

I wish to express our sincere regrets that you found our hotel so disappointing. While we are an older hotel, we are far from “falling apart.” The new owner is making a great effort in upgrading the entire hotel as you can see in the improvements to the front lobby, snack bar, and theater.

Unfortunately, you booked one of our economy rooms through Expedia. Your reservation was for three days. Your only complaint for the three days was the room was too small. We accommodated your request by moving you to a larger economy room. As we have stated in earlier responses, our economy rooms are not our best rooms. We will soon be updating them with new carpet, air conditioning, and other amenities. Until then, we make them available at a reduced rate.

While the restaurant is actually a separate entity from the hotel, we have had many compliments on the breakfast service. In fact only two complaints this season so far. It you would have been helpful to know what you found wrong with the food.

We wish you would have brought your concerns to our front desk or to the general manager and given us the opportunity to try to improve your stay. Your comments bring problems to our attention. We can assure you, the next guest in that room will find it in better condition thanks to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for White Buffalo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 213 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel was compacted by Chinese tourist. The rooms does not seem clean and the hotel lobby attendant was livery rude. When attempt to take shower at 10pm. There was absolutely no traces of hot water. I called the lobby asking for answers, and she basically told me, everyone's taking a shower now, so you'll just have to wait until its available...an hour later still no hot water! I would not recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Len201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, Manager at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

We are sorry you had a bad experience at our hotel. It appears you came to our hotel at a very hectic time just as several tour buses arrived. If our front desk staff appeared rude and unaccommodating, I sincerely apologize.

As for the hot water problem, I again apologize. It doesn't take long to overwhelm our hot water system when a large number of guests arrive at the same time, let the hot water run for several minutes to steam wrinkles out of their clothes, and take showers all at the same time. It usually only takes 30 to 45 minutes for the system to recover. The fact that water in West Yellowstone enters the system a minimum of ten degrees lower than at lower altitudes, compounds the problem.

It is obvious to me these problems resulted in the low ratings you gave us in value, location, rooms, and cleanliness. Did you rate these areas low because you honestly felt they were that bad or were you so angry with us you rated everything low for cause?

Considering the thousands of people who visit our hotel and are very pleased with us, you and our staff must have been having a terrible night, For that, we are truly sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed in the older part of this old hotel. There's only so much the staff can do to clean the old walls, peeling paint, stopped up sink, etc. The staff was absolutely WONDERFUL. It was very very cold when we were there over Memorial Day weekend, and there was no heat in the room (very odd). Staff had put a small space heater in the room, but my husband has been ill and I was worried about him being warm enough. The hotel was full so they couldn't move us, but they did bring us a brand new larger space heater. Breakfast was the very best free breakfast that I have ever had at a hotel/motel. Hopefully management will quit renting out the older units, especially the ones without heat or air.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the main part of the hotel and not in the back older part.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naalehuretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thanks for the kind words about the staff. Its nice to here positive things. Regarding the age of the property, it is what it is. Just like me, you can't turn back the clock. But unlike me, this hotel is undergoing significant improvement. Current ownership has been in place for about 18 months now and we are pleased with the progress we are making and understand that we need to continue our improvements, which we plan to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The breakfast was great. The room we were in needs to be rennovated. The fixtures were old, the decor was bland and unappealing, the carpet theadbare. The sink stopper didn't work but this was reported and hopefully fixed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kahlile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

We always appreciate guest opinions. I will find out which room this quest stayed in to see what may need to be done. I of course disagree with the characterization of our property being bland and unappealing. Any reader could watch our video at www.whitebuffalohotel.com to make their own decision. In addition, we have no problem with a quest asking to preview a room prior to their stay. We want everyone to be comfortable and have a good experience. Accurate reviews are helpful. Punitive or overly negative reviews only damage our ability to continue our process of improvement and development so we encourage all guests to accurately and honestly review our property in a comparative and competitive marketplace. As relatively new owners we look forward to the thousands of guest who will stay with us this year and enjoy the pool, hot tub, guest only movie theater, lending library, kids cabin playroom as well as our fabulous hot breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the White Buffalo several times. The staff is always accommodating and friendly. The beds are very comfortable....and I am very picky about beds! We love having the refrigerator in the room for our snacks and beverages. The entry to Yellowstone National Park is about 2 minutes away. Our favorite thing is to spend the whole day in the Park. Last visit in the course of two days, we saw 19 bears and all kinds of other wildlife. It was too rainy to hike, but it is also great to go in the park when it is rainy because the animals come out in the cool rain. After a lovely day in the park, the White Buffalo is just the place to go. We can relax a while or enjoy the amenities and then check out the quaint town of West Yellowstone for shopping and dinner. We hope to go back soon with our adult children. The price to stay at the White Buffalo is very reasonable, it is family friendly, clean, great location. We highly recommend it!

Sybel and Bart B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sybel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Not much I can say but thanks. We really love it when our guests have great experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Exterior is nice and clean , they have a unique life size white buffalo statue out front that the kids really loved and great photo op.

Lobby and front desk look new and remodeled, our room was very clean and had nice new sheets also looks like they are updating he room's as there is new tile floor in bathroom..
They also have a new looking movie theater room that was free with family friendly movies.

Great breakfast buffet and friendly staff !

Can't wait to come back next year !

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unclecjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

We are always pleased to hear of guests who have had great experiences. Typically, someone with a complaint is about 20 times more likely to express their negative feelings than those who have a positive stay. The few negative occurrences frequently skew the review process, so I'd like to thank this guest, and others who have done so, for taking a minute to tell us we are doing things right. We are not perfect, but we are working hard to give guests a positive experience in a remarkable place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The outward appearance & lobby are impressive. We therefore paid first @ were shown our room. We couldn't bring ourselves to stay and asked for our money back. There was toilet paper stuck in a peephole in the door. Curtain was half off its rod just hanging there. From reading other reviews it sounds like there are some nice clean rooms here, but ours was very disappointing. For the rest of our week long trip we asked to see the room first.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

We always appreciate guest reviews and I wish I knew more about this case. Our records show the guest arrived at 2:55 PM and left (was refunded in full) at 3:04 PM. Immediately following their departure both our GM and Front desk representative checked the room. Both indicated to me that there was no problem with the curtains, but both also said that in fact a previous guest had stuck toilet paper in the peep holes (front and back doors). I can only guess that the previous guest thought that people could look in and see as much as a person inside sees when they look out. (That assumption of course is wrong.) We have many guests from foreign countries where this item may have been something new to them. These peep holes are an additional security measure that many people appreciate. Still, the toilet paper should have been removed by our housekeeping staff. I wish I had a good excuse for this but I don't. The housekeeper just blew it. We apologize. We will reinforce this issue with our staff and hope it does not occur again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#21 of 39 in West Yellowstone
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Buffalo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Buffalo Hotel

Address: 236 Dunraven, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $114 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — White Buffalo Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your White Buffalo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing