We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well it's fairly cheap and well located . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Buffalo Hotel
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed August 24, 2012

the staff here were fairly helpful and the rooms are big. However . . .

The rooms could be cleaner - there were things in the fridge from the previous occupants - but the bedding and bathroom were clean. You have to pay if you want breakfast - I'd suggest going to a cafe (there's a great place for coffee on the corner of N Canyon St and Yellowstone Av called Espresso West, and if you want a stodgy breakfast try Old Town Cafe)

Don't expect much from the pool and hottub: the pool is tiny and shallow and the hottub is outside so is quite gritty, but at least it provides an area to sunbathe and relax.

The building itself is pretty old so sound travels: we had a ground floor room near reception and you could hear the people above us walking around and flushing the toilet as well as the people walking up and down the corridor outside our room.

All in all I'd probably stay here again, but I'd check out the Best Western first.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for White Buffalo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 213 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed there for only one night, it actually did not matter how the room looked like. Anyway, the room is small and dated. The good thing is that this hotel located next to west yellowstone so we did not have to get up early the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JieZ208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

It used to be called Yellowstone Park Inn and Suites. Apparently the owner keeps changing the name, maybe it's because he doesn't want people to keep track of what a terrible place this is.
My first impression was that it was strange that the girl at the front desk was wearing a yucky old stained jacket with cat ears on the hood.
They made my dad pay full price before they would give him the room key. At the time it was like $180/night.
The courtyard was disgusting, the pool was completely empty with about an inch or two of blackish green water at the bottom covered with misquotes and dead things and it had a big giant crack in it.
There were loud people who had taken up residency in the room across from us. The windows to the rooms had broken screens and blinds.
Our room wasn't much better, there was stool in the toilet, there were two light bulbs that were burnt out and the TV wouldn't work.
The Wi-Fi wouldn't work either.
When we were leaving we decided to go through the back door because it was close to our room. The back door was located at the end of this tiny, narrow hallway with the carpet coming up. The back door led to an alleyway and was left unlocked day and night.
In the alleyway there were scary looking people watching us as we packed our stuff into our car. I was lucky to get out alive.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is one of the worse hotel I have ever been to....there's roaches everywhere! When you walk to your rooms...there's roaches climbing on the walls in the hallway....these are not the little roaches...these are the humongous ugly kind.
There's so many things wrong with this place.....our first nite there, there were no hot water to shower! What type of hotel has no hot water? Front desk informed us everyone showered at the same time so they used up the hot water...we had to wait 3 hours later to shower with hot water!
There were ticks and dead roaches in the bathroom floor. We were on the 1st floor so when anyone walked on top of us we would hear everything! TV didn't work....front desk came and changed the batteries...still didn't work. Sheet and bedding looked so dirty and soiled....luckily we brought our own sleeping bags. Second day the maid forgot to clean our room even though we had a sign on the front door for "Maid Service". Hotel and rooms had some weird unclean smell. I think i can go on forever...just stay away from this overpriced, dirty, and disgusting hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyjames007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

I am sorry this guest had a bad experience. The claims about roaches and ticks are inaccurate. I am sure that they generate the desired response from readers however. I do fine it interesting that this guest stayed multiple nights in a location that they have described as noted in this review. If this had happened to me I would not have stayed the first night, let along any thereafter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We booked a room for two nights and ended up staying one. It was one to many. Our room was located on the first floor directly next to the service room/closet. The carpet in the hallway was filthy, the room smelled like smoke covered up with perfume(even though it is a non-smoking facility), the curtains were tattered, the toilet paper roll was over half gone, the bottom of the tub was stained brown, the pillows had stains on them, one of the lights didn't work, the bathroom had a horrible paInt job and there was mold on the ceiling. I could keep going but it just makes feel more and more disgusted that we paid $160 a night for it. We ended up making an hour drive to a different hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wheat208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

I am sorry that this guest had such an unpleasant experience. When these things occur, we immediately review the rooms and circumstances to identify any issues that can be dealt with. We just recently purchased this property and are working hard to rectify old issues. This may well have been the case here. We would always hope that guests let our onsite manager know of issues so we can address them. I am surprised that this guest said they needed to drive an hour to find another hotel since our property is in West Yellowstone. There are thousands of hotel rooms within a few blocks or our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was by far the WORST place we have ever stayed anywhere! We were just there last night. We checked in late, and the cost was $156.00 total. I was SHOCKED at the condition of the room. Front door was not able to shut tight and lock securely. There was a smell in the room. Badly stained and worn out carpet, and chairs. The spring in the bed on one side was pressed against the mattress. The bathroom counter was split on one side and peeling off on one end. The light fixture above the mirror was falling out of it's base. The bathroom door couldn't close. Breakage and missing pieces of the bottom wall and bath was unsightly. Toilet couldn't flush. We called front desk, and they tried to fix it, but it still continued. Shower did not heat up at all. Turned knob to the extreme end hoping hot water would flow, but barely warmish cool water finally flowed after letting it run for 7-10 minutes. Towels were the small cheap almost see through fabric. They had the built in liquid soap container that did not work in the shower, luckily we brought our own soap. Could hardly see the OLD T.V. No other amenities in the room was available- no microwave, small fridge, iron, etc. Listen, the $39.95 Econo hotels like motel 8 out shines this place by a long shot. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE!!! The only decent and deceiving appearance is the lobby area. You see, that gets you in. After that you're on your own. Would have gone to another hotel, but they were all sold out in town. We actually skipped breakfast, the room alone created a serious lost in our appetite. Lessons learned, will never return to that scary place again!

Room Tip: There are NO good rooms, unless you want to sleep in the lobby area. If you are late looking for a p...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTrails208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

As other reviewers noted the hotel is definitely overpriced and could get much better ratings with a reasonable price for its facilities.

We stayed in a large room with two queen sized beds with two kids. The room was clean and reasonable, but we also had problems with our bathroom door not closing due to a lifted floor, which was most likely caused by some water seeping into it. Furthermore the room's air-conditioning was quite noisy, so we turned it off and opened the window, which was luckily possible.

The hotel breakfast was good compared to the breakfasts I had at American hotels so far, but still not that exciting compared to European standards. In addition the hotel has free parking in front of it and a little pool.

The cons are stained floors in the hallways, which leave a bad impression on entering the hotel when you first arrive and the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tirioka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#21 of 39 in West Yellowstone
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#31 of 39 in West Yellowstone
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
653 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Buffalo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Buffalo Hotel

Address: 236 Dunraven, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $114 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — White Buffalo Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your White Buffalo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing