We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hang on to your hat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone Big Gun Fun

Yellowstone Big Gun Fun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Yellowstone Big Gun Fun is an indoor shooting range located at the West Entrance of Yellowstone National Park. We offer rentals of machine guns, handguns, and rifles to provide our customers and their entire families with a safe and fun activity they'll remember for their entire lives.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hang on to your hat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were visiting Yellowstone and saw this while cruising the town. Should we stop in? Uh, yeah! We chose one of the three gun packages. Wise choice! We had expert instruction, and what a friendly guy too. Super fun! I felt safe the whole time. The entire experience was one of the high points of our trip! Do not miss this, or you will regret it. You can't do this at home, right?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hellojenjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    17
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pocatello, Idaho
2 reviews
“Awesome!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

This place is AWESOME!!! Went for my husband's birthday. So much fun to shoot guns you'll probably never shoot in your lifetime...unless you're in or have been in the military.
My husband and I were on Cloud 9 for several hours after!!
The owner is also Amazing! He explains in quite a bit of detail on what the guns are or were used for, how to operate them (obviously) and is right there with you the entire time you are handling the gun(s). Truly Amazing experience and we can't wait to go back this summer!
Thanks so much for giving people such a Super Fun opportunity!!!
~SNK

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kacheena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big Gun Fun REALLY is Big Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Big Gun Fun, located in the heart of West Yellowstone, Montana, really is BIG fun. Those who operate the establishment are extremely friendly and knowledgeable. They take time to make sure the choices you make are what you really want to do and do not rush you through the process. Shooting a machine gun was a once-in-a-lifetime experience for us. It was exhilarating. Make sure you take time to visit this attraction. You won't regret it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marsha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kids shoot too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Great atmosphere and knowledgeable staff, They took my two girls under their wing and provided a safe, educational and fun experience shooting a couple of different .22 pistols. The girls have their targets hing up in their room and brag about them to family and friends.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Joeav911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Adrenalin Rush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Wow!!! What an adrenalin rush! We shot amazing guns and received great instruction.

We went last week on a day off from Big Sky. The host/owner helped my family members pick out great gun packages and targets. We ended up with a Derringer, the Gatling Gun (so cool), a Lugar, Tommy Gun, AK-47, an Uzi, a double barreled shotgun and a few more. Only two of us had ever shot a gun before (skeet shooting) so it was very new to us.

The owner, an accomplished marksman himself, was amazing in his instruction about each gun. Safety was first and foremost. The features of the weapon, how to hold, load, aim, stand, accept the recoil, and unload the gun were all clearly articulated and demonstrated before we even touched the gun. He really worked with us to get us to aim properly. He helped take my marksmanship to a new level. I can't wait to see my skeet shooting scores improve!

We really had a great time and learned a lot. My wife was really impressed with the knowledge and emphasis on safety from the owner and his spouse. This is a top-notch operation, definitely not a couple of yahoo's with a shooting gallery. I can't wait to go back next year.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RobInVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellowstone Big Gun Fun also viewed

 
West Yellowstone, MT
West Yellowstone, MT
 

Been to Yellowstone Big Gun Fun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing