We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't meet my low expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dude/Round Up Motel
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I wasn't expecting much from this place, but it failed to meet even my low expectations. The room smelled like mildew and the dead bolts on the doors didn't function (on our room or my sister-in-law's). Even better, in the morning we found empty beer bottles under our bed, presumably left over from the previous guest.

The only positive thing I can say about this motel was that the staff at the front desk were friendly and checked us in promptly. Everything else was terrible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbennett1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 53 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived after visiting the Yellowstone Park, tired and hot. The receptionist had some trouble understanding us as we did her, her English was poor. The room was quite large but very basic and before I continue, the most expensive we paid during our two night two hotel stay. The bed was comfortable enough but the bathroom door did not have a lock but that did not matter as the door did not close as the frame was warped. Two of the light fixtures were burnt out except the hall way light outside our room which blazed throughout the night and disturbed our sleep. One o the drawers were not cleaned and had some residue of the last residents pot remaining on the bottom of the drawer, nice.. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I you have a choice do not have the room where there is a closed hallway outside running to the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llanishen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The bed itself was clean. The motel is walking distance to "downtown" West Yellowstone. Our Bathroom door did not close. I spoke to the front desk clerk and she said none of their bathroom door closes. The bed also moves way too much. If one person moves on the bed the other persons feel like you're doing jumping jacks on your side.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Long Day On The Road In High Season Rates. We Were Not Expecting To Even Get A Room, But Surprise One Was Available. FIrst Off This is Not The Best Western Or The Hilton. But It is A PlaceTo SleeP Now The Room CleanlinessI Was Ok. My RulesAre The Bed Has To Be Clean, The Bathroom Has To Be Clean, AndThisHotelMeetThatI Requirement. The Carpet Was Disgusting, But The Remainder Of The Room Was Clean. The Location IsGreat RightDown Town And Blocks From The Entrance To Yellowstone. Overall A Place To Sleep, But I Would Not Make A Reservation Here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

If I can give this place negative stars I would!
This was NOT my hotel of choice to stay, but I came with a tour and they chose this place.

The room was smelly old and outdated and all the furniture were old! And the TV had POOR reception! Lots of channels had white lines running through it.

The carpet in the room was sticky and dirty. And their advertised free Wifi DOES NOT WORK!!

and drum roll: NO WARM WATER FOR SHOWERING! I had to shower in COLD water.

I called the front desk, and the answer the girl gave me was "too many people are showering now, you need to wait 30 mins" I did exactly just that, and the water was still COLD!

That's the minimum, basic requirement for ALL hotels! Hot water for customers to shower! is that too much to ask?!

And there were not enough outlets for people to charge their electronic devices!

JUST GO STAY AT ANOTHER PLACE!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Dirty, poor condition, and overpriced. For a few dollars more, stay elsewhere.

The linens and towels were threadbare. The curtain didn't cover the window, let alone block the light. There was a metal staircase outside our room and our room shook every time it was used.

There was no hot water. The "free wifi" was nonexistent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxtail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The shower were dangerous to small children because it would go from cold to scalding hot water in just a few seconds then back to cold. The rooms were nasty and old. The health department really needs to check these shower for the safety of adults and children.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rkhthh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#21 of 39 in West Yellowstone
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
674 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dude/Round Up Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dude/Round Up Motel

Address: 3 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $140 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Dude/Round Up Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Dude/Round Up Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dude/Round Up Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing