We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelieveable story!”
Review of Earthquake Lake

Earthquake Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site of the largest earthquake in Montana's history.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unbelieveable story!”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The visitor center gives one a great perspective of what happened when the earthquake struck and created the new lake. It is hard to fathom the events of that day without seeing the before and after photos of the area. A must see if in the area.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank MrBark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    94
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We visited this place and the visitors center was closed, however there was enough posted to make it a worth while stop.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank DennisNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Learn”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My husband first took me here on our honeymoon. I was really little then. All these years later, he is gone, and I finally get what the earthquake was about. I have since met people whose families died in this quake, and I have a special affinity for the Japan victims. Mother Nature bats last.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank wundersmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
314 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Awesome, just like I remember from my youth”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This was a highlight of 30 years ago trip to Yellowstone area. This year I bought my teens. Great experience both times. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank 2462skiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good but not a travel destination”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed at West Yellowstone and took off for a half-day outing to Earthquake Lake. The documentary film was good, and it was interesting to see the exposed mountainside and the dead forest poking up above the surface of the lake which was created by the mountain sliding to obstruct the valley floor.

Definitely not that interesting for our children. Probably this place is most interesting for the people who can remember the earthquake which happened in 1959.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank battacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earthquake Lake also viewed

 
West Yellowstone, MT
West Yellowstone, MT
 

Been to Earthquake Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing