We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice classic cabin with some modern touches!”
Review of Brook Trout Inn

Brook Trout Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brook Trout Inn
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice classic cabin with some modern touches!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Kozy Cabin has a comfortable king sized bed. Nice satellite TV (I watched Tour of France stages on TV during the race). A few bugs and spiders but this is a rural cabin in the woods. Everything worked as expected. We had a cute little squirrel try to build a nest in our car's engine compartment. It was busy to get that all done in one night! The cabin is a nice distance from West Yellowstone. It's somewhat close to the highway but we knew that in advance. We did hear some traffic but only when we listened for it. The owner Bill was nice and always replied to our e-mail when we were deciding to stay. His accounting system is low tech but it works. We were happy to stay here and would also consider one of his other properties next time if we could book early enough.

Room Tip: The bedroom at the Kozy Cabin is in the back of the cabin so this is quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just spent a week at the Brook Trout Inn and loved the cabin we stayed in. There were four of us and we felt like this was our home the minute we walked in! The location was great and was a short distance from town and Yellowstone National Park. The kitchen was wonderful and was stocked with extras we didn't expect. I loved the laundry being in the main bathroom everything was so convenient!

This place is highly recommended ... the peace and quiet we had sitting outside at night made for a great way to end our days!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EclaDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent four days in August using the Kozy Cabin as our base of operations as we explored Yellowstone and its surroundings. Even though the property is right off Highway 20, the feeling was one of quiet and seclusion. The facility is a few miles outside the town of West Yellowstone, which can be very busy during the tourist season, and 8 miles from the west gate of Yellowstone National Park. The cabin is well maintained, with all the amenities for a family stay, including a fully equipped kitchen and cable TV (a lullaby for our urban-dwelling kids). There are working ranches in the vicinity, so horses abound, and the first taste of wildlife (many, many birds) got our kids excited to explore. We would definitely go back and spend time here again. The only warning I would give is that the bathroom, located between the living room and the bedroom, does not have a proper door, only a curtain, so if anyone in the family is shy, they may have some issues.

Room Tip: The Kozy Cabin is good for small or close families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We just spent the most wonderful 4 days in this lovely house in July 2013. 13 members of our big family from all over the world enjoyed the amazing beauty of the Yellowstone National Park, and loved the nights we spent together in your spacious house. Everything from the kitchen, to the bathroom, bedroom, living and dinning room, even the laundry room is perfect. More than what we needed. The location is perfect, 2 blocks from grocery stores and other shops and restaurants, 2 min to the west entrance of the Yellowstone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in Kozy Cabin at the Brook Tout Inn. It is a log cabin that has loads of charm. IT is not fancy but we felt quite comfortable here. We also slept quite well here. The cabin is well equipped although it could use some red and white wine glasses. It was great to come back to after a day of hiking in Yellowstone. There is lots of room inside and a nice deck outside. All in all a very good choice compared to a hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noland-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place was wonderful, it was large enough for 3 families with plenty of room for more. Its in West Yellowstone which was great in getting to eats when not cooking at home, and right by the west entrance of Yellowstone. Kids loved it. You can't go wrong with this.

Room Tip: Nice and Quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UtahUteFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Close to West Yellowstone entrance and it's an easy drive. Cabin had everything you need: washer/dryer, frig, stove, dish washer. Nicely finished inside with plenty of roome for 4 adults. Has a deck off the back, and a bababling brook running through. For sure the owner takes your comfort as a number one issue. Front window view it at forest leading up to snow covered mountain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
7.4 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
7.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
7.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
West Yellowstone B & B
West Yellowstone B & B
#1 of 7 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bar-N-Ranch
Bar-N-Ranch
#14 of 36 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.2 mi away
Yellowstone Under Canvas
Yellowstone Under Canvas
#3 of 36 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Trout Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Trout Inn

Property: Brook Trout Inn
Address: 1730 Targhee Pass Hwy, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-8708
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing