We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, certainly reccomend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Under Canvas Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay, certainly reccomend!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We wanted to camp, but had flown out west and it would have been very hard to bring all our equipment and supplies. Thus, this is the next best thing! The staff was very friendly and accomodating and the tipi was very nice and clean. The fire was great at night, as we drank a few beers and talked with other travelers. The view is outstanding, and the facilities were very clean and nice for the conditions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobGeneralManager, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Robert, it was great to meet you when you stayed with us. I am thankful that you had time to enjoy an evening by the fire. That experience is so cool because of the diverse group of travelers we have. You can hear languages and accents from all over the globe. We keep a world map at our reception tent where we allow guests to pin their home. The only continent we have not covered is Antarctica! (And it won't surprise us if someone shows up from there.)
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    169
    78
    41
    32
See reviews for
298
202
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were lucky to find a tent just days before we arrived through an online site! We arrived mid-afternoon and the staff was not only helpful but super friendly. Our kids swam in the Madison River, just a short walk from our tent. They loved it through the water was about 40 degrees!!

The firepit was started late due to rain but so worth the wait! We met some awesome people and were serenated by another camper! We decided to drive to the Bar N Ranch lodge for dessert, just up the dirt road. We did not have a reservation and did not want to wait so we got dessert to go! Ate in our car since there is a strict no food policy on site, only drinks until bedtime. The huckleberry cheesecake is a must try!

We rented a deluxe tent with bathroom, definitely a must, especially if your tent is far from the reception area (the bathroom/showers are located nearby). Our bed was super comfy and the additional bed (cot) was also very comfortable. Although the temperature went down to the 30s and a tremendous thunderstorm went through, we were warm and dry throughout the night. Bob, the manager, was kind enough to assist us in lighting our fire just before 11pm, which is when the staff calls it a night. Overall, it was worth every penny, an adventure enjoyed by the whole family!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJAR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobGeneralManager, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I personally want to thank you for the kind words and mention. The entire staff works very hard to ensure that every guest gets a warm comfortable tent, no matter what Mother Nature throws at us. We spend a large part of our evenings entertaining guests by building fires in the stoves. It is truly a time when we get an oppotunity to connect with our guests. Who isn't comfortable around a cozy fire? Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and please come see us again.
Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed only 1 night in the Safari Suite right on the river and away from the main part of the camp. It was very relaxing. We didn't have the shower problems as others stated because we upgraded to the suite, but did see lines in the morning. The upgrade was worth it!

Enjoyed the comforts of a king size bed in a tent during a thunderstorm! Didn't stay long enough to take advantage of all the extras they have to offer, but wish we had.
* if this is a trip for 2- would recommend at least a 2 night stay. If bringing kids- rent the extra tipis just for them.
Could have been a very romantic trip if kids had stayed with Grandma :)
Would definitely try this agin, maybe in Moab!

I will say- if you are looking for a clean hotel, stay somewhere else. YOU ARE STILL CAMPING, there are bugs and dirt and noises, all the fun things that make this an EXPERIENCE!

Room Tip: If you want relaxing, peace and quiet and no shower issues, get the suite!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobGeneralManager, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
You truly explained the many ways to enjoy a stay with us, no matter if you are travelling with family or as couple. It is also amazing how many people are travelling solo and have stayed with us. Thank you for your kind words and please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had been looking forward to our stay here for 2 months. We booked through an online sight. The day of OUR scheduled check in, did not match theirs, us a month late. I was heart broken and as I attempted to reach this ridiculous booking sight, the young girl at the desk found us a tent! Yes it is pricey. We had to upgrade to the private bathroom tent but I was soooo glad!!! We had running warm water 24hrs and right next to our tent! The onsite restaurant was pricey as well, but man was that buffalo delicious! Met some great travelers at the camp fire and river. The view is amazing. The stars are amazing. We cuddled in a king bed with lots of cozy blankets and a wood burning stove going!! it was awesome! Cant wait to do it again nxt summer but stay a couple nights and bring some friends!! The staff were so nice! And the food and service at the on site restaurant were top notch!

Room Tip: If you can, the private bathroom is definitely a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40penny2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobGeneralManager, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Wow! I don't know what else to say. You described an experience that is exactly what we try to do for every one of our guests. Being relatively new at this it gives us great satisfaction to know we are getting it right. I am so happy that you have recognized the staff here. They work for hard to give you the most comfortable stay possible.
Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We're always up for an adventure and my wife found this place on AirBnB. It was perfect for us (but not everyone, as the other reviews suggest). The staff was charming and very helpful. The tent was...a tent, but the little wood stove worked great and the bed was remarkable: huge and with about 4 inches of covers. The lovely creek meanders through the property about 100 yards from the tents. Hot showers were available in a portable facility. This is only their second year (first year with a real manager) and they are learning fast. However, don't expect the Ritz. A highlight for my wife was helping round up the horses that broke into the camp from an adjoining property, but if that doesn't sound fun to you, try one of the boring lodges in town.

Room Tip: Onlly the premium tents are set up on wooden platforms. The rest may not have exactly level floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobGeneralManager, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We are so happy to hear your comments. We have really enjoyed hearing how warm and comfortable our beds are. As I am sure you experienced it does get quite chilly here at night and we have worked hard to ensure your warmth. As you mentioned the horses visited during your stay and we appreciate the help "rounding them up." We do adjoin a working ranch and on occasion get visits around (and occasionally in) camp. The horses are very well trained and love the attention from our guests. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
937 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

On July 25th, 2013 my wife, nephew and I took the chance and decided to experience something different...sleeping in canvas tents. Although underestimating how massive Yellowstone National Park is we arrive around 11pm that night. About six miles down the road and maybe a mile down a dirt road (which is nicely maintained) sits that campgrounds. The employees were very friendly and educatedus on how to use the bear spray if needed:) The tents were well sealed, the beds were x-large and comfort with plenty of blankets, and the popout cot had plently of foam and sleeping bags to keep a bear warm and comfortable. There was plently of light in the tents with even a stove to stay warm (along with firewood). The only down side was my wife usually takes showers at night and the showers weren't turned on until the early morning. The bathroom stalls and toilets were (for the most part) clean. Again, since we arrived late the camp fire was fading away, but looked enjoyable. Overall, this was really a great experience and may not be for everyone, but at least try something new every once in a while.

Rob

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobGeneralManager, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Rob, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I really appreciate the detai;s you provided. My only hope is that you will come again and enjoy the community fire. We literally have guests from every corner of the globe. This evening we even had a gest bring her guitar and entertain everyone.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, NY
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We were so excited to surprise our children with this "glamping" experience and pleased and surprised they were! This little surprise did not come cheap however, in fact it was very costly. Between the deluxe tent (we paid for the private bathroom) and dinner at the Park N Ranch restaurant on site, the one evening cost us more than $500.00 - an extravagance for us. $400.00 for the tent alone.
The setting is gorgeous and the young ladies who checked us in were lovely.
Our children swam in the cold river, we sat around the campfire and met some amazing people from all over the world.

As we settled in for the evening at about eleven p.m., things seemed to settle down throughout the camp as well. The tent was nice, the beds comfortable and the wood burning stove cozy.
At about 1:00 am however, all heck broke loose. For more than three hours we were treated to a chorus of loud, filthy language, fighting and rap music being played at full volume! Finally, at about 2:30 am, my husband went out to investigate but the rebel rousers were not by the campfire as we thought and since it was pitch black outside, my husband didn't make it too far and couldn't find who was causing the chaos.
Finally, at 4:00 am, after one last cry of "your mother is a fat wh&@e!" The noise stopped.

Bleary eyed and out of sorts, we attempted to get a cup of coffee that had been promised to us the night before by the glamping staff. We were told that she couldn't find the coffee and asked to return a little later. When we returned, Bob, the GM, told us that there would be no coffee today. When questioned further, he told my husband that he could use the 10%off coupon at the Park N Ranch and that providing coffee was not required but "a courtesy." I guess this "courtesy" was one that this business was not willing to provide its high paying guests.
After hearing this and after no sleep the night before, we couldn't get out of there fast enough.
At checkout, we noticed a number of things. #1: not once were we asked by any member of the staff if we had a nice evening or if our accommodations were ok #2: when we and other guests complained about the all night party going on, the staff told us they never heard anything and that the noise probably came from the KOA next door. Why would the owners choose to put a high priced establishment next to a KOA? If so, why didn't the GM make a call to the KOA management and ask them to resolve this situation? Oh, that's right, they never "heard" the ruckus and #3: the GM seemed to think that at 9:30 with guests lined up to checkout full of complaints that it would be a good time to "run into town to do a few errands" like "pick up some coffee and go to the post office."
While the idea is a great one, this needs a lot of work. Better customer service, access to the staff between 11:00 pm and 6:00 am, should the need arise and not some comment in their guest book,"don't wake up the staff unless it is a real emergency". Perhaps some security should be on call to prevent our harrowing experience.
Oh, and one last thing, we were told to leave all our sundries in the car so as not to attract bears yet there were plenty of sundries for sale at the desk should you not wish to make a trip out to your car at the crack of dawn.
Days later, we can laugh about this experience and it sure makes for a good story when we get home. Unfortunately, it came at a great price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kblkmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobGeneralManager, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
I am sorry about the ruckus that occurred during your night. We are next to a National Forest and there was a group of people partying through the night. A member of our staff did finally get them to leave the area. As far as coffee, our delivery man was late and we had someone in town purchasing coffee. In the mean time we were offering coupons for Bar N Ranch or even in your case to pay for your coffee at the bar N ranch. We do our best to satisfy every guest and are saddened by the fact we did not measure up in your case. Please feel free to contact me directly and allow me the opportunity to make it up to you with a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
6.8 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
694 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
746 reviews
6.7 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
346 reviews
6.6 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 39 in West Yellowstone
554 reviews
6.2 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Under Canvas Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under Canvas Yellowstone

Property: Under Canvas Yellowstone
Address: 890 Buttermilk Creek Rd., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Under Canvas Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking up to the sights, sounds and smells of nature in one of the most spectacular places on earth, relaxing in your luxurious safari tent. Comfortable enough to rival a hotel room yet with the great outdoors all around you. If you ever liked the idea of doing the outdoors thing, but didn’t like the idea of roughing it, now you don’t have to! Visit the world famous Yellowstone National Park and enjoy the great outdoors in a way that’s not possible anywhere else. Just 10 minutes from Yellowstone National Park entrance our luxury camp boasts fantastic uninterrupted views, a quiet secluded location, an onsite restaurant, a host of on-site activities, and of course, Yellowstone right on your doorstep. This isn’t camping as we know it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Under Canvas Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing