We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Under Canvas Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The staff was super friendly and helpful. The bathrooms are wonderful...so much nicer than anything that I've ever experienced camping...even nicer than some hotel bathrooms that I've been in. A group of friends and I stayed in a tipi. It was comfortable and pretty spacious. I slept well the whole night through. I would go back again in a heartbeat and would highly recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aepelchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 688 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite. Great big comfy bed, wood burning stove, a seating area and the bathroom in the tent was a plus. Unfortunately the heater for the pipes was not working so the water wasn't warm. After a day of hiking we ended up taking cold showers. Nonetheless, the claw foot tub in the tent was a nice touch as well. Loved the concept of "glamping" under the Montana starlit sky.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a wood burning stove for those chilly nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pipsy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My mom and I are traveling across the country and I booked us a TP at this place months ago for two nights. I thought the cot was very comfortable and the multiple mummy sleeping bags were warm. My mom however, wanted a motel. So after she couldn't sleep at all the first night, the people at reception were so nice! They upgraded us without a single hesitation. The room we got had a wood burning stove and a king size bed. We both slept very well and left super happy. The setting is fantastic with a 360 degree view of the mountains. These people were super nice. id stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank io b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobandJoAnn, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is the constant feedback from our guests that helps us find ways to do things better. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Love the outdoors and being surrounded by natural beauty that is surreal? If so, then you owe it to yourself to spend some time at Yellowstone Under Canvas. The mountains, the Montana skies, the meandering stream and willows, with the cranes and geese singing their songs, well it's peaceful and exciting all at the same time. Then add a tent that is out of a dream.
As you approach, you step onto the wooden deck, which continues into your tent to become the floor. Inside you see a beautiful, warm, and cozy interior with a big inviting bed, a wood stove, and comfortable sitting area with a soft rug underfoot. I slept like a baby and awoke ready to explore Yellowstone National Forest, a short ten minute drive from the deck of my safari tent! It was heaven!

Room Tip: Deluxe tents have a view of the creek, but if you can't get one, well all the tents have the ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the great comments and having the opportunity to serve you during you visit here to Yellowstone. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I are pretty adventurous and don't mind roughing it now and again. However, when you're paying 300+ dollars for a "luxury" tent you should expect much better service. The two teenage girls who greeted us at reception were as sweet and polite as they were incompetent and didn't even know the phone number for the reception desk. The wood burning heater in the room would not work, so I had to go to reception and ask Jeff for help. After 45 minutes of cold he walks in with a flamethrower and takes 20 minutes to light the wood. He then assures us that we'd be able to keep the fire going with a measly box of matches. Obviously it didn't work and had it not been for the many sheets we draped over us we certainly would have caught pneumonia!
Great idea, poorly executed. Stay away.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gpiacentini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I do apologize you were uncomfortable at night and my fire skills did not get you through the night. Comments such as yours will help us evolve in all of our skills and knowledge of the local area. Again, thank you and we appreciate your recent visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

"Glamping"- what a great experience! If you like the outdoors, beautiful scenery, and great service, but not the sterility of a hotel, this is the place for you. All the pleasures of camping without all the hard work. You don't have to lug stuff around or set anything up. At YUC, you get hot and cold running water, showers, potties you can sit on, and someone to bring you and your luggage to your tent in a golf cart. Nights get cold in Yellowstone, but the wood stove in the tent made it cozy, and keeping the fire going is actually fun. And if your fire goes out, the bedding is way more than enough for a "3 dog night". Made lots of new friends there, staff and other guests. The staff is outstanding and I didn't experience the word "No" from them my entire stay. This is their second year and they are still evolving the concept and are very open to observations by the guests. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Not inexpensive, but the overall experience is worth the price. Upgrade to the Deluxe tent if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTnative116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Yellowstone Under Canvas. I am pleased to hear that you loved the concept we offer. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Loved it! It totally exceeded my expectations. This is not a hotel but a comfortable and upgraded version of camping. I don't like tents, sleeping on the floor, putting tents away! This place gave me the camping experience with comfort. They provided us with 3 sleeping bags, even a towel. No camping site gives you that! Staff was amazing!! Location was also great, a short 6 m drive from the west entrance to YNP yet in a beautiful outdoor sitting surrounded by mountains and next to a peaceful river. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BWhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to know our staff and facilities exceeded your expectations, we strive for an outstanding level of hospitality when it comes to our new friends staying with us. We hope to see you again in your travels to Yellowstone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
6.8 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
743 reviews
6.7 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
804 reviews
6.1 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
153 reviews
6.5 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Under Canvas Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under Canvas Yellowstone

Address: 890 Buttermilk Creek Rd., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $289 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Under Canvas Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking up to the sights, sounds and smells of nature in one of the most spectacular places on earth, relaxing in your luxurious safari tent. Comfortable enough to rival a hotel room yet with the great outdoors all around you. If you ever liked the idea of doing the outdoors thing, but didn’t like the idea of roughing it, now you don’t have to! Visit the world famous Yellowstone National Park and enjoy the great outdoors in a way that’s not possible anywhere else. Just 10 minutes from Yellowstone National Park entrance our luxury camp boasts fantastic uninterrupted views, a quiet secluded location, an onsite restaurant, a host of on-site activities, and of course, Yellowstone right on your doorstep. This isn’t camping as we know it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Under Canvas Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing