We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty bad value for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Under Canvas Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Travelled here with my friends last summer/early fall (just getting around to posting a review) and it was a terrible experience. We were really excited about this glamping experience! This was a reuinion trip for us (I live in Canada, two of us live in America and one in Europe) so we wanted to try something really different and fun. We stayed in two tipis and between the four of us, we probably got about 2 hours of sleep. They have the most uncomfortable cots in the world. I know the owners seem to try really hard to improve this "glamping" site... but it really is not worth the money. For the same amount, you can stay at a nice hotel where you will have a much more compfortable sleep. It was really dusty (not really their fault) but you end up feeling dirty the entire time and they don't have that many showers so you can't really shower whenever you want. On the pro side: it was in a good location, it was very pretty outside. But overall, we do not recommend this place.

And to the owner/whoever keeps writing comments on any negative review, please don't comment on this one. I read the one where someone else complained about the cots, you don't need to summarize what is in the tent. We know what was in the tipi, having a latern and a chair in the tipi doesn't change the fact that those are the most comfortable cots in the world. And we know how many bathrooms there are... also doesn't change the fact that everyone had to wait in line forever to use them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahDusek, Owner at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We're so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us last summer and that you had a very uncomfortable night. That is not what we want for our guests. We are continually trying to improve in every way we can and so by the middle of August last year all our tipi camp cots had mattresses added to them. I can't tell from your review when exactly you stayed with us but it sounds like you did not have a mattress on your camp cot when you stayed. We listened to our guests and will continue to do so and so all our tipis for 2013 will have insulated mattresses on the cots to help with comfort and warmth. We will also have more bathroom facilities in 2013 to ensure wait times for the bathroom are at a minimal so that guests can shower whenever they would like. I'm sure we'll have more things to improve upon during this next season as well but we'll continue to make changes so all our guests enjoy this unique experience.

Again we're so sorry this experience was not what you were hoping for. We trust this will not put you off glamping again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 688 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

We are typically a more camping than glamping family but really enjoyed our stay!! The tent and the facilities were top notch and the staff were fantastic. When we arrived in July we realized that I ahd made our reservation for June not July!!! They were extremely accomodating and went above and beyond to not make me feel as incompetent as they could have and possibly should ahve but worked to resolve the situation and get us placed and settled.

The site is beautiful and the access to the wonders around is great. I defintely reccommend for those who aren't typicall "campers" or for when you just want a bit more comfort and luxury then this is definetly a wonderful option

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cccamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I booked the Honeymoon Package for our anniversary and enjoyed our stay very much. When we arrived, there was a bottle of sparkling wine and beautiful flowers waiting in our tent. From my first booking inquiries to the day we checked out, the staff were friendly, helpful and accomodating. Part of our package was a half day of horseback riding or kayaking. We asked if they could arrange white water rafting for us instead, and they did (it cost a little bit more, which they made us aware of before they booked it for us). We also had a picnic lunch and private tour of Yellowstone in our package. I follow a gluten free diet, and my picnic lunch was modified to fit my diet and was delicious (I told them I'd be happy with a salad, but the caterer included slices of GF bread in my pack with a nice note saying they wanted me to have the option of a sandwich if I wanted it). The package also included their Sundowners experience on the bank of the river near the tent (non-alchoholic drinks and simple but very tasty, hors d'oeuvres).

We were there in August, and yes, the nights were cold. We brought warm clothes, they provided very warm, cozy bedding and plenty of firewood for our stove. But yes, you will need to get up and stoke the stove during the night. And yes, the pipes were frozen for a short time in the morning for our shower and sink (although we waited until later in the day to shower and the water was always nice and warm). And yes, we had to keep all food, beverages and toiletries in our car because the camp is in bear country (there was bear spray in our tent). But this is camping! These were things I was prepared for, and anybody staying here should be prepared for things like this, as well. It was the most comfortable camping experience I've ever had, but it's still camping--which is what I was looking for. It was a nice balance for a couple like my husband and I--I enjoy camping, and he's not so crazy about it. The setting is beautiful. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.

The restaurant and bar at the Bar N Ranch is also great. It's a little pricey, but the food and drinks are better than anything else in the area. We also had a delicious dinner one night at a tapas restaurant in West Yellowstone, Cafe Madriz.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Urbanfarmchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was a great choice for our trip to Yellowstone, mind the freezing cold nights and waking up with the pipes frozen so unable to have warm showers, but thats all part of the experience. The place was beautiful, and the tent was great, they provided us with plenty of firewood every day for the fireplace to keep us warm and heaps of blankets which was great.
Beautiful location, and the people working there were so friendly and made it enjoyable, will definitely stay here again if we travel back to yellowstone.

Room Tip: Deluxe safari tent was fantastic, having your own private bathroom teepee was definitely a luxury yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise26H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

What an amazing find! We had a great time at Yellowstone Under Canvas. The check-in was simple and easy, we were led to our deluxe canvas tent, and given a tour of the grounds. The site overlooks a meandering stream that you can swim in and a dense forest.
Nearby is the amazing, not to be missed, BarN restaurant. A short walk away and you're at this meticulously built family restaurant that features taxidermied animals around the cavernous wine cellar.
Back at Yellowstone Under Canvas the deluxe tent features a king sized bed, wooden chairs on the porch and a private tippee bathroom next door that has an amazing wooden shower.
At night a big bonfire is lit out in the meadow and guests gather round to tell stories of their travels.
We had a great time at Yellowstone Under Canvas and would highly recommend it.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe tent, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quotidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

An excellent location on the Snake River and the Tipi option was a great alternative to staying in a motel/hotel in West Yellowstone. If you like camping then this is definitely the place to stay when visiting Yellowstone - the facilities are excellent and one gets the feeling that the staff will do just about anything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The campfire at night was lovely to sit around for a chat and a glass or two of red wine.
A wonderful stay made even better by them allowing us to hang around well after our check out time to enjoy the river. Sitting and reading on the bank in this tranquil spot was a great way to kill a couple of hours. Thanks for a great stay and we sincerely hope to be back at some point.
The food and service at the Bar N Ranch restaurant were both top notch - maybe a little pricey - but not to worry as it was superb!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnoArkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My daughter and I wanted to a bit of camping on our cross country trek and decided to try Yellowstone Under Canvas!! What a treat!!! After reading Trip Advisor reviews we sprang for the deluxe safari tent with private peepee teepee!! That wood burning stove was NEEDED during the first week of August!! Though we did not prep the stove well enough to heat us all night long and we woke up freezing!!! The beds were comfy, the bathroom teepee was well equipped and clean.
We had the Sundowners snacks by the river around sunset and it was scrumptious and fun!! We went to the lodge for dinner... and it was a beautiful place with great service, lovely staff and yummy food. The staff at YUC were friendly and helpful. We loved this experience, but it was overpriced...but we will be talking about that night/experience for a very long time, so in the end it was worth the money to us!! If you are on the fence about staying there...go for it!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
6.8 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
743 reviews
6.7 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
804 reviews
6.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
6.1 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Under Canvas Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under Canvas Yellowstone

Address: 890 Buttermilk Creek Rd., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $289 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Under Canvas Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking up to the sights, sounds and smells of nature in one of the most spectacular places on earth, relaxing in your luxurious safari tent. Comfortable enough to rival a hotel room yet with the great outdoors all around you. If you ever liked the idea of doing the outdoors thing, but didn’t like the idea of roughing it, now you don’t have to! Visit the world famous Yellowstone National Park and enjoy the great outdoors in a way that’s not possible anywhere else. Just 10 minutes from Yellowstone National Park entrance our luxury camp boasts fantastic uninterrupted views, a quiet secluded location, an onsite restaurant, a host of on-site activities, and of course, Yellowstone right on your doorstep. This isn’t camping as we know it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Under Canvas Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing