We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading Website & Overcrowded Campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Under Canvas Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Firstly I should say that I don't generally do camping so this was an experience for me. We decided to pay the $681.10 for two nights 'glamping' in one of their Deluxe Safari Tents, unfortunately we were disappointed. Their website is beautiful but the photo's don't show the reality. The campsite is small yet very crowded with all the tents very close together.

The good:

We loved the location, this part of Montana is breathtaking. Excellent proximity to Yellowstone National Park and the town of West Yellowstone. The tents were very cute, ours had a double bed with a dresser, coat rack and wood burning stove. The bedding was clean and the tent was cosy. The Bar N Ranch (within walking distance) does a great breakfast!

The bad:

The tents were so crammed together and I was kept awake the first night by my neighbor snoring. You can hear the tents zipping and unzipping and the generator for the bathroom. There were always people walking by and it didn't have the solitary vibe it portrays on the website.

We payed for our own bathroom tipi but I couldn't use it, it was a little dirty and there was no way to keep your clothes dry while you showered. There was no mirror, no light and it was freezing cold. I used the communal bathrooms which were heated and equipped with showers, sinks and mirrors. They were kept pretty nice but there were only three of these for the whole site so queuing was no fun at all. They are shut down at 11pm so the toilets couldn't be flushed and there was no lighting after this time. I believe they added two additional bathrooms but they were the tipi type so most people avoided those and kept queuing.

Obviously the weather is Montana is unpredictable and the nights get very cold. We were very excited about the wood burning stove but unfortunately on the first night we were banned from using it as there were fire restrictions. I believe they are now announcing this on their website but at the time we booked we were given no indication that this would be an issue. Tsk, tsk!

I would definitely visit this area again but would avoid Yellowstone Under Canvas unless they could make some improvements in the design of their overcrowded camp and improve their value for money. After all, it is advertised as 'glamping'.

Room Tip: Learn to love your neighbor!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkSaguaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahDusek, Owner at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

We are obviously very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay as we would have hoped. It seems however that you stayed earlier in our season and since then we have made numerous improvements to our service and the camp itself. There was a very brief period of time that guests were not able to use their wood stoves this summer due to Fire restrictions however, we implemented new spark arrestors that satisfied our local fire department and they granted us permission for our stoves to be used even during a fire ban in the area. We made every effort as fast as was humanly possible to do everything we could to ensure our guests were able to use the services they were expecting. Obviously because we are not a normal hotel our external environment will often through us some curve balls! Guests do have to come prepared for alitttle adventure and for the elements to affect your stay. If you need no variables in your life then definitely go stay in a hotel! If however you want to appreciate nature, enjoy the outdoors and have spectacular views then this is the place for you.

We have 10 acre site - which is not small and we have had 25 tents up this year. We do have plans to change our layout for our 2013 to space the tents out further and introduce Super deluxe tents that actually are totally secluded and away from sight from any other tents.
So watch this space for 2013!

Our bathroom facilities all have mirrors in them even the tipi bathrooms - we just currently have one that has been damaged that is waiting for a replacement mirror to arrive. Our tipi bathrooms have been greatly enjoyed by guests all summer and for many have been the highlight of their stay. After all taking a shower in a tipi outdoors is rather novel! Again though it is impossible to keep every creepy crawlie out - everyday they are cleaned and insects removed but we can't petrol the bugs 24/7! Even now in a normal hotel room the cooler weather will see insects making their way inside to find warmth! We do shut our generator off overnight so there is not any residual noise in the camp - toilets can still be used and flushed though. There are also lanterns in the bathrooms so they will never be dark. Again though this still is camping - luxury camping yes, but it still camping! Guests do need to remember that when booking to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
There are newer reviews for Under Canvas Yellowstone
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 685 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

What an excellent idea, to just show up and camp with everything provided! This was such a good idea, the tipi's were perfect and the accommodations were above and beyond. It was a great time all together, but the staff was exceptionally courteous and helpful with anything we needed. I highly recommend this as an option for staying near yellowstone (not far at all!). It does get cold at night, but extra sleeping bags were provided when needed. Thank you guys for a great time, a convenient and comfortable camping experience. Would definitely do it again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I booked this place when I discovered all the lodging options inside Yellowstone park were full. I found this place even better than staying in the Park! The sceneray is gorgeous, their capacity is about 50-60 people/per night, so its also quiet. Located a 5 minute drive from W. Yellowstone. We stayed in a tepee tent which was cleaned every day. It can get quite cold at night, so definitely bring heavy pjs. It was in the low 40s when we stayed there at the beginniing of August. The staff were friendly and helpful and provided extra blankets. In fact, they put a lot of effort into making sure everything is up to par, charging the flashlights every day, putting bear spray in the tent, and hosting nightly campfires. No food allowed anywhere in camp.

Room Tip: The tepee tents are just as nice as the delux tents, and if you're not going to be spending a lo...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Something I don’t generally do so bear with me on this. On Tuesday July 31 2012 a buddy and I stayed at Yellowstone Under Canvas and what a pleasant surprise! We originally were to stay at a hotel in downtown West Yellowstone but ran across their website. Traveling through Yellowstone on Motorcycle is an incredible experience and this overnight stay just enhanced our trip.
We opted for the Teepee which included two nice camping cots very nice sleeping bags with liners pillows adequate blankets two sitting chairs a small table towels a battery lantern. The shower and bathroom facilities although shared offer complete privacy locked from the inside with more than enough hot water to accommodate the guests. Staying in Yellowstone Under Canvas beneath that big Montana sky is amazing. There is a lodge and restaurant including a well-appointed bar adjacent to this property within walking distance. All being said this was an incredible experience and wish we had known we would have used this as our motorcycle riding base camp. I ride a big heavy cruiser; I was a bit nervous after I was told there was a mile of compacted gravel leading into the camp area. Not to worry it’s more like a quarter of a mile and very well maintained, I think my Grandmother could have rode my bike in there.
One thing to note food is not allowed into the camping area do to Bears in close proximity, they provide each tent and Teepee with a large can of Bear repellent as a precautionary measure.
If you are traveling to Yellowstone to experience the great outdoors under the big and beautiful Montana sky then this is your ticket to total bliss then this is your ticket. If however you want evening turn-down service with the little mint on your pillow, this is not for you. Do yourself and family a favor experience Yellowstone the way it is meant to be experienced and try it for at least one night.

Thanks Yellowstone Under Canvas for helping make lasting memories.
Respectfully,
Greg Stacey,
Vernal Utah

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We really did not know what to expect, and I was frankly a little nervous about it ... But we spent 3 magical nights in what has to be one of the prettiest setting right by the South Fork of the Madison. We were lucky to have great weather and a full moon, so I can't imagine how the stay would have nfolded if it rained, but the safari tents were beautiful, the wood stove kept things cozy, and the kids had a great time. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have been on my fair share of camping breaks, some good, others great but this was by far the best. The location is perfect, only a short drive from the entrance of Yellowstone and the town but secluded enough to feel private. The river at the bottom of the camp is great to canoe down or just dip your toes in, but perhaps the nicest thing to do after a day in Yellowstone is to chill out around the fire with a few drinks and relax.

Three of us stayed in a canvas tipi, the cot beds were very comfortable and the sleeping bags provided were nice and cosy. Thick blankets were supplied too but i found the sleeping bag warm enough. Showers were hot and the bathrooms were very clean with soap etc supplied. The staff are incredibly friendly and will do anything to help, they all made us feel so welcome and suggested activities and locations to do and see in and around the park.

Overall this was the best camping break i have ever had, a perfect way to get the full Yellowstone experience and highly recommended to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: If you get cold as for more blankets.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campbell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I can not stop talking about this place. This was the highlight of our trip. I am so glad we didn't just stay in a boring hotel room. Myself, my husband and 2 children (6) (8) had a standard tent and it was perfect. The scenery is breathtaking. We went fishing in the river every morning and evening after our trip into yellowstone. The Bar n Ranch restaurant right next door was excellent. Such a great experience for our family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
6.8 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
716 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
786 reviews
6.7 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
360 reviews
6.5 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
669 reviews
6.1 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Under Canvas Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under Canvas Yellowstone

Address: 890 Buttermilk Creek Rd., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $288 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Under Canvas Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking up to the sights, sounds and smells of nature in one of the most spectacular places on earth, relaxing in your luxurious safari tent. Comfortable enough to rival a hotel room yet with the great outdoors all around you. If you ever liked the idea of doing the outdoors thing, but didn’t like the idea of roughing it, now you don’t have to! Visit the world famous Yellowstone National Park and enjoy the great outdoors in a way that’s not possible anywhere else. Just 10 minutes from Yellowstone National Park entrance our luxury camp boasts fantastic uninterrupted views, a quiet secluded location, an onsite restaurant, a host of on-site activities, and of course, Yellowstone right on your doorstep. This isn’t camping as we know it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Under Canvas Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing