We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as glamorous as we had hoped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Under Canvas Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were really excited for our glamping experience on our Yellowstone trip. We opted to get the teepee (tipi?) and weren't slightly disappointed with our accomodation because it was a lot more basic than the pictures on the website. There were only 3 showers so there a line in the morning. And the cots were painfully uncomfortable. Neither of us got more than 3 hours of sleep that night. The concept was really cool and the location was good (just a few minutes away from West Yellowstone) but this was really no different than just regular camping (except you don't have to set up your own tent and they provide the sleeping bags). So if you own all your own camp gear, just go camping instead. It'll be cheaper. I think those deluxe tents are a lot nicer so maybe book that instead. But the teepee? I wouldn't recommend.

Room Tip: When they say it gets cold at night, they mean it. Teepees don't include heat so make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahDusek, Owner at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Our tipis are a basic camping experience for those people who want to go camping without having to bring all the gear. Our tipis are all set up with camp cots, sleeping bags, liners, lantern, safari chairs, blankets, pillows and towels. For guests who do want a more luxurious camping experience with real beds we do suggest booking either a standard safari tent or deluxe safari tent. We do have 5 luxury shared bathrooms currently not 3 as this guest has suggested. All of them have a shower - with hot water, a sink and flushing toilet.
It does get very cold here at night and guests who come with appropriate clothing have a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 689 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Beautifully situated along the banks of the Madison River adjacent to a working ranch and conveniently on the same road as the Bar N Lodge with a nice restaurant. My family was skeptical at best as they really enjoy a nice hotel experience but this exceeded all our expectations. I had opted for the Deluxe Safari Tent with the "real" bed and wood stove. We had read earlier that because of the high risk of wild fires that no stoves could be used during this time. We were so happy to find that the risk was low so we loved starting our fire at sunset, unreal views, then going to the camp Bonfire beside the river to chat
And socialize with the other guests. Some families shared pictures of the bears and other wildlife spotted in the park while
We all shared the highlights of the day. The hosts Will and Sara were attentive to our needs and had our firewood and starters delivered to our tent each night. The LED lanterns were helpful in the roomy tents with even a dresser to deposit your belongings. We all agreed that having our own private bathroom TP next door was crucial for late night moments. Having No food or toiletries in the tent was kind of different as we travel with lots of snacks, but the rationale of removing items that would attract the bears made it worth while. My son brought his fly fishing rod and loved seeing all the great fish!
We would return here in a heartbeat! Gorgeous, Serene, comfortable, Fun!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank lisachilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My Husband and I started out Yellowstone/Grand Teton Trip here and it was about what we expected.

The tepe was clean and came with 2 cots (completed with sleeping bags, sleeping bag liners), 2 towels, 2 extra thin fleece blankets, a director's chair, a small table for the bear spray and LED lantern. Unfortunately for us the sleeping bags weren't rated for below 30 degrees and so we were both shivering by morning even with the extra blankets. Also if you're taller than 6 feet I would recommend getting a tent with a stove for heat (although there was a fire warning so people couldn't even light those) or bringing your own bag. Since my Husband is 6 foot 2 he stuck out of the sleeping bag quite a bit which added to how cold he was.

We're pretty avid campers and I thought that it would be fun to stay in a Tepe for the first night of our trip. The view here is spectacular and our tepe was situated so that we had a view of the river and the fields next to the site.

There were ample restrooms with 2 tepes housing a shower/toilet each and a trailer with 3 shower/bathrooms. After 11PM they turn off the power in the trailers but they do provide lanterns inside. However when we left in the morning around 5:30AM there was no residual power to pump water to flush the toilets, wash your hands (they did have hand sanitizer) or take a shower.

Also sound carries (ALOT) since none of the tepes/tents have insulation so expect that. And since it is bear country no personal care items (shampoo, lotion, sunscreen, chapstick, bug spray, deodorant) or food are allowed in the tents/tepes so be prepared to cart them from your car to the bathrooms anytime you need something.

Since we had a rental it wasn't a big deal but if you have car you are really picky about beware of the electric cattle guard at their gate. It scratches paint.

Other than that we had a good if quick stay but next time we'd definitely come a little more prepared.

Room Tip: Even in the Summer bring thick PJs and an extra blanket or two as well as something to shuttle items...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msasaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahDusek, Owner at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Our sleeping bags are rated down to zero degrees Fahrenheit. Often guests do experience the cold by either not having them zipped up correctly and by not utilizing the hood part of the mummy bag. When used correctly they are more than adequate especially when appropriate clothing is also worn and the extra blankets we provide are also used.

We are currently under no fire restrictions and guests with Deluxe tents can use their wood burning stoves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I decided to go all out and stay in the deluxe safari tent. I am not a camper, but I love being with nature, so this was perfect for me. While at Yellowstone Under Canvas you are camping and have all the pros and cons of camping in bear country, but you also have a big comfy bed, flushing toilets and hot water. All campers at the site have access to hot water and bathroom facilities, but since we opted for the deluxe we had our own private tepee bathroom...SO WORTH IT!!! Yes, it is a small bathroom, but it's CAMPING, so just having a private bathroom only a few steps from the entrance of my tent was GREAT! We also had a wood burning stove in our tent, and even in late July/Aug we had to use it at night. It got down to about 40 degrees at night, which is cold to us Texans. However, the bedding is very warm and comfy and will keep you warm even if you don't have a stove in your tent. I cannot speak to the cots though??? The bed was comfortable and the view of the mountains was wonderful. I also loved the area. Every morning we heard geese and ducks flying by, we heard the cows and horses on the ranch and the first night I heard, what I thought, were wolves howling in the distance. Talk about a thrilling camping experience. Let's just say that night I did not make any late night trips to the restroom! :) All the staff were wonderful. Will worked hard to make sure everyone had what they needed, and worked hard to keep other campers quiet at night. On one occasion some rowdy campers were having alot of fun after the curfew of 11pm, and Will was able to get them quiet, so we could all get a good night's rest for our early morning hikes. It was great and I highly recommend this experience to anyone who enjoys camping or wants to camp, but prefers to have the luxury of a bed and hot water! I also suggest going all out and getting the deluxe tent...why not...you only live once.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our family of 5 spent a gorgeous long day at Yellowstone and then headed to try out this new craze called "glamping". I had a bit of anxiety thinking about the potential disappointment we would all have if this place was dumpy, dirty, and or disgusting! I was so hoping to meet the owner, Sara, who had called me multiple times before we arrived to make sure we had secured the correct accommodations insuring our comfort. BUT, bless her and her husband, they were enjoying their second day off this year! The staff that greeted us was incredibly personable, conscientious, and diligent towards everything. Deluxe Tent...how could anyone complain about the adirondack chairs in front of your tent, a wood-burning stove, a huge comfortable bed, chairs and table within for awesome card games, bear spray, vintage National Geographic Magazines, chest of drawers, bedside tables, 100% organic toiletries, the warmest sleeping bags and cots for the kids with their own chairs in their tipis, and the piece de resistence...our own tipi bathroom with a FLUSHING toilet, a small shower and sing with HOT water! The Sundowner (yummy plates of chicken kebobs, salamis, olives, cheeses, crackers, desserts) was worth it by the river...you can get a glass of something stronger than punch at Bar N's Lodge. Their restaurant was delicious with a lovely wine list....that totally sustained us through the night! After dinner, our kids had to actually speak to us and relied on playing cards with their parents for entertainment. This is something we will be talking about for a while! I wish Yellowstone Under Canvas congratulations and keep on doing what you all do! Thanks as well to Bar N!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

If you are looking for lovely scenery and don't want to camp in a 'run of the mill' campground, which can be noisy and unattractive, this serene site is the place for you! The camp is located a short drive from West Yellowstone and a short walk to the nearby ranch restaurant. Our family of 3 had a wonderful vacation in a deluxe safari tent with an adjacent tipi for our 10 year old. Highlights were the river which runs along the side of the camp which provided a refreshing dip each afternoon after touring Yellowstone, and the nightly campfire under the evening sky. Don't come if you are expecting all the comforts of a 4/5 star hotel. This is wilderness living and for those that can handle a camp shower and waking up to nature's beauty all around in the cool morning air, you will be very happy to have picked Yellowstone Under Canvas.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pdxtravellers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My son and I stayed 4 nights with Yellowstone Under Canvas and had an amazing time. I would recommend the Sundowner as a nice touch to end your day facing the Madison River. The staff was extremely attentive and helpful - from help starting a fire to making arrangements for outings and such.
A wonderful outdoorsy - but without all the hassles - experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
6.8 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
750 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
806 reviews
6.7 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
694 reviews
6.2 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
604 reviews
6.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Under Canvas Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under Canvas Yellowstone

Address: 890 Buttermilk Creek Rd., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $289 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Under Canvas Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking up to the sights, sounds and smells of nature in one of the most spectacular places on earth, relaxing in your luxurious safari tent. Comfortable enough to rival a hotel room yet with the great outdoors all around you. If you ever liked the idea of doing the outdoors thing, but didn’t like the idea of roughing it, now you don’t have to! Visit the world famous Yellowstone National Park and enjoy the great outdoors in a way that’s not possible anywhere else. Just 10 minutes from Yellowstone National Park entrance our luxury camp boasts fantastic uninterrupted views, a quiet secluded location, an onsite restaurant, a host of on-site activities, and of course, Yellowstone right on your doorstep. This isn’t camping as we know it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Under Canvas Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing