We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop, don't pass it up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Yellowstone's City Center Motel
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
RANDOLPH
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice stop, don't pass it up”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

As usual I found that the reviews on Trip Advisor are right on the money. Stayed here after the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally and touring Yellowstone. We were a group of three couples and upon arrival I was surprised when the woman at the desk greeted me by name. The rooms were clean and comfortable,The bathroom was spotless. The bed was very comfortable. The location was perfect for us. Close to everything and a market across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EDWARD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    76
    26
    10
    9
See reviews for
73
55
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avondale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Clean room, comfortable bed and very friendly folks. Everything in my room worked. Short walk to all restaurants, stores and museum. As someone else put it "basic accomodations in an expensive town." I was traveling alone and the City Center Motel served my need perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaleH444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reutlingen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The motel and the rooms were well maintained.
Christy and Ted at the frontdesk are absolutly friendly and helpful.
Nice tablesoccer, and kitchen with microwave, pans and pots and all the stuff you need for cooking..
Looking forward to coming back again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThomasPeter2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We chose the City Center Motel based on the Trip Advisor reviews. It was fine for a night's accommodations. The room was older, but it was clean and very large. We found the beds to be comfortable. It was easy to walk to anything in town. We didn't use the large common room, but there was a group that was making good use of the kitchen, televisions and tables in there. The room does not have a phone and the washcloths were falling apart, but otherwise the stay was fine. This motel was a reasonable option in a town of overpriced rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank where2next2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandinIronInn, Manager at West Yellowstone's City Center Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello -
Thank you for choosing the City Center for your lodging needs while you were visiting Yellowstone Park. We appreciate feedback like yours, and the motel has already received new towels. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip through town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkdale, AZ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed with my four year old daughter. The bed was uncomfortable. The pillows were very poor. I asked for more pillows and was told they had none. For the price, not worth it. I should have spent an extra $30 for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LastTrainClarkdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandinIronInn, Manager at West Yellowstone's City Center Motel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello -
Thank you for leaving a review for the City Center Motel, and bringing this to our attention. Even though the beds in the rooms are brand new, we understand that there isn't a bed that's a perfect fit for everyone. As for the window latch, we will have it repaired immediately. I hope you enjoyed your time in Yellowstone, and were able to take home some wonderful memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyrum, UT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in room 26, with two queen beds for a couple with a teenage son. The hotel is compatible with the town, same environment and considering summer season was much below prices around. Ted and Christy were helpful, informative and vey nice. You have privacy and all you need if you ask. The Wi-Fi worked great, plenty space in the room and a good shower area. There was a squeak in the floor in front the bathroom sink, the toilet was small but we were pleased with the service offered and the walking distance to downtown. We spent the day in the park and came to shower and sleep.
I have read a lot of very good or very bad reviews. I guess it depends of the kind of people you are. If you are going to Yellowstone to have fun and enjoy the beauty, this is a great place, central, close to the West entrance, comfortable and you get what you need with the benefits of a central area. The parking is big enough and you can park fine. Considering the high traffic of people coming in and out, is quiet and enough. There are restaurants, grocery stores and gift shops all around at a walking distance. Considering the absurd prices of food in town, this hotel was a great find.

Room Tip: Take your shampoo, soap and toiletries. Ask for more towels if needed and you get what you request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyfamilyUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandinIronInn, Manager at West Yellowstone's City Center Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a nice review for the City Center Motel in West Yellowstone. I think you are absolutely correct that each individual traveler is expecting something different from their stay at a lodging property. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed West Yellowstone, and the location of our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family & I traveled by vehicle to Salt Lake City, West Yellowstone, Sheridan, Wy, Rapid City & De Smet South Dakota over 1 1/2 weeks before heading back home. We stayed in 5 different hotels over that time & by far this hotel was the low point of vacation. I didn't want to write such a lousy review for anybody but this was probably the dirtiest motel/hotel I've ever stayed in. I do a lot of research on trip advisor & thought City Center Motel would be fine for just crashing for 2 nights while we were visiting Yellowstone. I was wrong about this one. I tried to keep the costs down because the better hotels wanted $200 a night (very pricey in this area because there is no where else to stay outside of Yellowstone without driving a long way) & I didn't want to spend that much just to crash. This only costs $100 a night. Their website claims this place is newly remodeled. This must have been a mistype because the heat register in the bathroom was hanging off the wall & the chain lock on the motel door was hanging half off which made it useless. The biggest dissappointment was how disgusting the bathroom was when we got there. The place wreaked like animals. I understand this motel lets animals stay but I've stayed at other places with animals & I haven't smelled something this disgusting before. Probally the fact they only charge people $15 for animal cleaning when most hotels charge over $100 to bring an animal. The floor in the bathroom & bathtub had black hair all around it & I'm assuming it was dog hair. I don't know how you clean a bathroom for a guest & miss all the hair & dirt that was in there. My wife hated being there & I just reminded her it was just 2 days & just at night. You know a hotel is a little better when they ask you how your stay was when you check out. I got nothing like that here. I'm telling you to skip this place, spend a few extra bucks & look for something better. I wish someone would have warned me like I'm doing now before I stayed here. Look at the last review before mine & apparently it looks like they had the same experience. Must have been the same room LOL. Don't say I didn't warn you.

Room Tip: Only tip is to skip this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#22 of 39 in West Yellowstone
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#25 of 39 in West Yellowstone
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Yellowstone's City Center Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Yellowstone's City Center Motel

Property: West Yellowstone's City Center Motel
Address: 214 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly City Center Motel)
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in West Yellowstone
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your West Yellowstone's City Center Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Yellowstone`s City Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstones City Center Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing