We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro motel in festive tourist town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Al's Westward Ho Motel
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Retro motel in festive tourist town”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Prime location at the gateway to Yellowstone. Within easy walking distance to variety of restaurants, gifts shops, etc. We drove 12 miles to the rodeo on a gorgeous evening for a taste of Montana. Rooms are basic but clean with complimentary shampoo, body lotion, and razor. No in-room or in-lobby coffee but nearby restaurants open around 6:00 a.m.

Room Tip: We felt fortunate to get a room without a reservation, but if you are planning a trip, I advise maki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Praline39588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    69
    55
    13
    21
See reviews for
50
96
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Room was very clean. The place is old but so what. Walking distance to everything in town. Owner is a little feisty. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grazewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This motel is located in the very pricey town of West Yellowstone. It has a great location right at the west entrance to Yellowstone National Park. It was cheap for the area but would have been regarded as a rip-off at close to $100 per night anywhere else. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable, so I was not greatly disappointed, though there were no extras such as shampoo bottles, coffee, breakfast, pool, exercise area, computer, etc.. (When I inquired about coffee, I was told that I could get a free cup at a nearby gas station-- which was closed when I passed it early on a Sunday morning.) Given that your purpose in staying at West Yellowstone is almost certainly to see Yellowstone National Park, I guess that all you probably need is a comfortable bed to sleep in, so this motel is OK.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelerwithbudget49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We arrived in West Yellowstone without a booking (mid-June) and looked at about 8 motels, picking AWH on price ($20 cheaper than the next one). Room was fine, with flat screen TV and free internet. After spending the next couple of nights in Jackson, we returned to West Yellowstone and had no hesitation in staying another 4 nights at AWH. We were arriving at 8 or later and leaving at 7 or earlier, so all we needed was a good bed, a good shower and a quiet room. AWH is on a quiet road and is right beside the park entrance. The only thing we missed was a coffee machine.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonX09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This place is great for the money! Our room was spacious for the money, and we even got cable & a flat screen. Plus, it's a quick walk to all the great stuff in West Yellowstone!
Protip: Call, don't reserve online. You could save money this way -- the front desk person confirmed this.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinpressonladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My spouse and I reserved a queen room weeks in advance. When we arrived, we had instead been assigned a room with 2 twin beds. We complained, and asked what was the point of reserving, since Mrs. Parker had given away all the queens to other travelers. Her entire reply: "You have a room that is adequate for two people." (!?!) Since when are 2 twin beds considered "adequate" for a married couple? Other motels seem to be able to manage their reservations better than this -- or at least say "I'm sorry" when they don't.

In addition, the room was far too bright at night. We draped every towel, washcloth, and anything we could find, over the curtain rods, because the curtains were wholly inadequate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisaCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

For what it is, the motel fit the bill. Yes, it's old, but so are most of the properties in the area, unless you pay big bucks for a chain. We left a jacket behind and they promptly mailed it to us. You are on top of town, so park the car and walk. It is yards from Yellowstones west entrance.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#18 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#26 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al's Westward Ho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al's Westward Ho Motel

Property: Al's Westward Ho Motel
Address: 16 Boundary St., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Al's Westward Ho Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Al's Westward Ho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al`s Westward Ho Hotel West Yellowstone
Als Westward Ho Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing