We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place”

Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See LIVE grizzlies and wolves at this AZA Accredited, Not-for-Profit Wildlife Park and Educational Facility. Activities include: Keeper Kid's (hide food for the bears), live Bird-of-Prey Exhibits, view two separate wolf packs from the Naturalist Cabin, Wolf Enrichment, Safety in Bear Country Programs, Yellowstone Park Ranger Talks, a World-Class Bear museum, intriguing films and presentations. Open 365 days (GWDC bears DO NOT hibernate). Admission is good for two consecutive days. One block from Yellowstone National Park.
Petaluma, California
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

It was our last day in West Yellowstone, do we came here. We had a great time. Everything was interesting and the animals are well taken care of. The animals are all rescued and this is also a nonprofit organization. This couldn't be better in my book. This is a must to visit and we will be back the next time we visit Yellowstone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DroolieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,526
    575
    127
    35
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rathdrum, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth the visit if you are staying overnight”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The displays are interesting and well thought out. The highlight was being able to watch the grizzly bears up close as they forage for food hidden by the naturaists. They also have an interactive program for children.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank murrob35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Absolutely a must! We have lived by wolves and bears,but this place is absolutely about more than that, and their actions are so in the wild. There is more than just grizzlies and wolves, the entire area was well thought of. I left my prescription sunglasses i the gift shop and they mailed them to me free;they were home before we were! The entire place is friendly and spectacular.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaden6WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of staying in west yellowstone”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We highly recommend making the trip out to west yellowstone to visit this center even if you aren't staying on this side of yellowstone. We went twice in one day so we could see different bears and see the wolves up and around after they had eaten in late afternoon. Love how they tell stories about each animal and where they came from. What a great rescue center!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wildcat90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“really enjoyed this”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

the wolf part was blah, similar to our local zoo. But the grizzly section- they pulled the bears out ,allowed kids in to hide food, then pulled the kids out and let a different pair of bears out (approx 11 AM) and the bears (huge!) wandered around shoving logs and bashing open a garbage can looking for their treats, really interesting to watch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3Vic3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center also viewed

West Yellowstone, MT
West Yellowstone, MT
 
West Yellowstone, MT
 

Been to Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing