We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive and educational”

Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See LIVE grizzlies and wolves at this AZA Accredited, Not-for-Profit Wildlife Park and Educational Facility. Activities include: Keeper Kid's (hide food for the bears), live Bird-of-Prey Exhibits, view two separate wolf packs from the Naturalist Cabin, Wolf Enrichment, Safety in Bear Country Programs, Yellowstone Park Ranger Talks, a World-Class Bear museum, intriguing films and presentations. Open 365 days (GWDC bears DO NOT hibernate). Admission is good for two consecutive days. One block from Yellowstone National Park.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Impressive and educational”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great spot for seeing Grizzly Bears (they do not hibernate in winter) and a couple of wolf packs. Great photo opportunity as hard to spot in them Yellowstone itself.
Try to be there at a feeding time as the staff are very informative even if animals not hungry.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TontoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,432
    541
    117
    33
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“up close to nature”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

good up close observation of wolves and grizzly bears. large ravens all over. helpful staff with information. not expensive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW, amazing time!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We travelled to Yellowstone the end of march and were pretty upset when we found out the park was closed. Our hotel told us about the Discovery Center and we spent our whole two days watching the bears and wolves. It was awesome!! By far the best attraction we went to while travelling from Montana to Pei. I'm still telling everybody about our experience here and how amazing it was to see the bears play and the wolves laze around. We also walked out of there understanding a lot more about the animals. It was also priced well and the admission was good for two days and you could come and go as you please. So glad we were able to spend our time here. Will definitely return if we are ever in Montana again! :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best wildlife centres around”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We came across a flyer for the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Centre at our Yellowstone hotel and decided to head along to West Yellowstone to check it out. We had visited a wolf centre in Golden, Canada the week before and had enjoyed that, but the West Yellowstone Centre was much much better!

The centre itself had fantastic displays of different types of bears, from grizzlies to polar bears. Although there are a number of taxidermied bears on display there was also information on how each bear died and the year, which is something we hadn't seen before. We spent a couple of hours in the centre alone aside from actually seeing the animals. This added a lot of context to our experience and knowledge of wildlife in Yellowstone.

They have a number of grizzlies there, with only two on display at any one time. They appeared to be rotated around about every two hours. When we were there they had a couple of 2 year old cubs (brothers) who were chasing each other around and play fighting - very cute!

There were two wolf packs, each with four wolves. We understood from the volunteers that these wolves had been bred in captivity, but that they do not breed the wolves at the centre. Initially it was a warm day and all the wolves were sleeping, so we spent some time watching the fantastic Yellowstone wolf documentaries playing on tvs in the education centre. Then the weather turned cold and snowy - something we were dismayed about at first until the wolves woke up and became very active. They were chasing each other, playfighting, and coming right up to the floor to ceiling glass walls in the centre. We ended up staying until the afternoon feeding and couldn't believe where the day had gone!

For lunch we headed to a great Mexican restaurant right next to the centre - can't remember what it was called but the food was delicious.

If you have even a small interest in wolves and bears you will probably really enjoy the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Centre, especially if, like us, you didn't manage to see wild wolves in Yellowstone.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Where-to-next-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“BEARS AND WOLVES AND EXHIBITS, OH MY!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Although I had been to West Yellowstone several times, I had always skipped over this wonderful center and it's exhibits because of my intense fear of bears. With the park entrance being closed, I decided I wasn't leaving town this time without facing my fears and making the visit. It was wonderful to see these powerful animals up close! The schedule allows for the rotation of all the bears within the center to be out for viewing during the day. You watch the younger ones play and try to establish their alpha rankings among the group. You see the more mature, and larger bears, as they keep to themselves and sniff out the new humans who gaze upon them.
The staff is very helpful and full of information about the bears and the beautiful wolves, who of course were sporting their plush winter coats. The center offers a real time camera that you can view on their website,(for those who can't make the visit in person) and we couldn't help but take advantage of it by calling our kids in Colorado and telling them to visit the sites web cam and see us wave to them! It was awesome!
The information center provides archeological and taxidermy displays of bears as well as interactive displays that explain the life to death reality of the grizzly. The wolf center had some beautiful displays as well as a free informative film with benches.
The gift shoppe offered many selections at not too bad pricing (as well as sale items-I bought a shirt). If I had to pick one thing 'wrong' with the center, it is the entry fee of over $10. I just thought that was a bit steep, but the admission does cover 2 days worth of visits to the center for multiple viewings. I would have liked to see a 'single day' pricing option, since we did not go back the second day.
Overall, this non profit attraction is a wonderful and enriching experience for all ages and a safe haven for some awesome wild animals that might have been lost to us, if not for the center.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RSDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center also viewed

West Yellowstone, MT
West Yellowstone, MT
 

Been to Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing