We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty average but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Super 8 West Yellowstone
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“pretty average but pricey”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

we (4 adults in one room) stayed there 3 nights...we supposedly got the deluxe double queen room...pretty small for a deluxe. i knew it was going to be pricey because it was in west yellowstone. the breakfast wasn't anything special...cold cereal, bagels, toaster waffels. the rooms were clean and the employees were very friendly. all in all just basic and nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    117
    85
    22
    15
See reviews for
122
117
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
380 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is about 7 miles due west of downtown West Yellowstone. The rooms are comfortable, clean and good value. The morning breakfast is what you'd expect. It's just a few minutes drive back to West Yellowstone for a wide range of dining options.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimfromjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was a nice location and less expensive than hotels right in West Yellowstone. I liked the outside deck and the inside sitting area was nice as well. I enjoyed the cookies and hot chocolate. However, the bathroom was tiny as was the sink area. It was rather dated in our room. My brother however, had a very nice room with adorable rustic furniture and a large bathroom with granite countertop. And he was only a few rooms down from us. Not sure why all the rooms are not updated.

Room Tip: Ask for the rustic room with the large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cher211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestYellowstoneGM, General Manager at Super 8 West Yellowstone, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Cher211:

Thank you for the nice comments about our location and pubic spaces on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Your brother must have been in one of our upgrade king rooms. They are normally $15 more per night. This hotel was built to Super 8 standards in 1986 and as such does have small bathrooms in the standard rooms. We were able to convert 6 rooms to the upgrade kings, but the room itself is now smaller to allow for the larger bathroom. Next time you visit, try one of the upgrade king rooms -- many couples like them.

Mike Jackson
West Yellowstone Super 8
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located 8 miles far from West Yellowstone but I think this is the only con of the Super 8. At our arrival the manager was really nice, welcoming us with chocolate biscuits, and provided us with some advices for dinner. The room was really good, clean and confortable. We had a pizza for dinner in a place just around the corner. breakfast in the morning was just perfect! If you don't mind driving 8 miles from West Yellowstone, this place will bene just Perfect!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Silvia_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestYellowstoneGM, General Manager at Super 8 West Yellowstone, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Silvia_Rick:

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the West Yellowstone Super 8! Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am also happy that you enjoyed your meal at Lodge Pole Pizza next door. I hope to see you the next time you visit Yellowstone. We will have the cookies ready!

Mike Jackson, General Manager
West Yellowstone Super 8
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A very well run hotel, after we booked in the manager said there would be hot cookies ready very soon which was a nice touch.The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable, lovely views from our window. The breakfast room was a bit small and it got really busy in the morning, some people had to stand to eat their food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witcheshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestYellowstoneGM, General Manager at Super 8 West Yellowstone, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear witcheshouse:

Thank you for the nice review on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the West Yellowstone Super 8! We do bake cookies almost every evening and have them out at around 6 o'clock -- It is great that you enjoyed them! Our breakfast room can get a bit crowded at the peak of the morning rush; we built a wrap-around porch right outside the room to help with this situation. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Yellowstone!

Mike Jackson, General Manager
West Yellowstone Super 8
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here on a cross country motorcycle trip heading west after visiting Yellowstone. Thought it would be much cheaper than going into Jackson, which was correct. The motel was staffed by international college student interns from various countries who were billeted out back in separate quarters. The reason I mention this is that this property is isolated next to a campground about 7 miles west of West Yellowstone, which itself is not a very big or very nice town so I felt bad for the interns. I imagine they thought working a summer near "Yellowstone" would be a great experience, but without transportation, they are pretty isolated.
The motel itself was fine, but there is no place to eat nearby. The campground has a little pizza joint attached which is where we had to eat, and the food was awful. The alternative was to drive back to West Yellowstone, eat, then drive another 7 miles back to the motel. We chose pizza, but might just as well have skipped dinner.
So, the motel itself was OK, but considering its location, I would never stay here again.
However, the intern we met, a nice young woman from Jamaica was very professional as was the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndmVt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestYellowstoneGM, General Manager at Super 8 West Yellowstone, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear ndmVt:

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor. I am sorry you did not like the location of our hotel. We are 7 miles west of the town of West Yellowstone. Many people enjoy the quietness of our location and the natural beauty of the surrounding mountains; however some would prefer to be in town. We have always tried to be upfront about our location. On my staff this summer I do have three international students; one from Jamaica and two from Turkey. When they apply for these positions they receive a job offer that describes in detail our location. While here they have multiple opportunities to tour Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks, attend plays in West Yellowstone, meet and interact with guests and other employees from all over the United States and generally round out their English skills. I have been employing J-1 Visa students for years now and have had many return for a second or even third year. Of course when they graduate they are no longer eligible for the program and we miss them very much. Thank you also for trying the pizza next door. I am sorry you did not enjoy it. If anyone is anyone is dissatisfied with their meal, I know the manager will either replace the meal or refund the money.
I hope you enjoy your future trips to Yellowstone and I hope you would consider giving us another chance.

Mike Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
7.4 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#24 of 39 in West Yellowstone
589 reviews
7.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
338 reviews
7.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
7.1 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#22 of 39 in West Yellowstone
134 reviews
7.5 mi away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#19 of 39 in West Yellowstone
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 West Yellowstone

Property: Super 8 West Yellowstone
Address: 1545 Targhee Pass Hwy, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 West Yellowstone 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Yellowstone Super 8 offers a quiet setting just 7 and one-half miles west of West Yellowstone. With beautiful mountain views in all directions we are the perfect location for relaxing after a long day in Yellowstone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 West Yellowstone Lionshead Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Super Eight
West Yellowstone Super 8
Super Eight West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing