We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 West Yellowstone
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

My family stayed here while visiting Yellowstone. The staff was very hospitable. The don't have any carts to help with getting luggage but the staff helped me bring my bags into the hotel. I would definitely stay here again. Take note that it is on the outskirts of the "city". We had Pizza from the restaurant next door and it was a decent meal. The room didn't have a microwave but there was one available in the lobby.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestYellowstoneGM, General Manager at Super 8 West Yellowstone, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Joann T:

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel. My staff and I are very happy you enjoyed your visit to Yellowstone; Please come visit us again!

Mike Jackson, General Manager West Yellowstone Super 8
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    112
    81
    19
    15
See reviews for
119
113
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

The staff at this hotel were one of the best we have ever encountered! When we checked in late in the evening, Mike Jackson, the night front desk manager, was very hospitable. We were very tired from a long day at Yellowstone National Park. He carried our luggage for us up to the 2nd floor. Considering the fact that I have congenital heart problems as well as back problems, this was a great help! Mike gave us valuable help on what hikes in Yellowstone I could manage and which ones might be too much of a struggle. We were scheduled to stay three nights, but when we discovered how long it took us to get across Yellowstone, we decided to spend our last (3rd) night outside of the East Entrance, I felt bad about asking Mike to see if he could get us another room at East Entrance to Yellowstone, but he was very gracious and told me he understood. He called their hotel in Cody, WY for us and switched the reservation. I cannot say enough about how great we were treated by Mike. He even baked cookies (himself) for the hotel guests each night. If you don't want to pay the high hotel prices inside Yellowstone, or you're booking your trip at the last minute, Super 8 in West Yellowstone is a great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestYellowstoneGM, General Manager at Super 8 West Yellowstone, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
D. M.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! I remember you and how kind you were to my staff! We really enjoyed having you stay with us. Please come see us again the next time you visit Yellowstone!

Mike Jackson, General Manager, West Yellowstone Super 8
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Mike Jackson the Manager is a great guy. His staff is good and his rooms are good.
You pay a big price for your rooms but it is Yellowstone so you get what you pay for... Location. The breakfast was ok ... But could use a a few more tables inside.
Beds was good and bathroom was clean. Shower was so good .....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thai-mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestYellowstoneGM, General Manager at Super 8 West Yellowstone, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thai-Mommy:

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor! I agree that we could use a little more inside space for breakfast, but we would have to take room 101 off line to do that! We did add the wrap-around porch in 2009 to give us more room; it is a lovely area for breakfast in the middle of the summer. Once again, thank you for writing and please come visit us again!

Mike Jackson, General Manager, West Yellowstone Super 8
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We chose this because at $166 a night, it was much less expensive than the other hotels in West Yellowstone.

Breakfast was good- and they make wonderful cookies for guests each night starting at 6PM

Big negative- our room was never cleaned- we stayed two nights, and the first afternoon we got home late and the room wasn't cleaned.

The pizza place next door doesn't look great, but their pizza is phenomenal! I'm not much of a pizza person, but they use fresh crust and you pick any or all toppings-same price. They gave us tons of cheese on the pizza- yum!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globehoppr08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestYellowstoneGM, General Manager at Super 8 West Yellowstone, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Globehoppr08:

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel! I'm glad you liked the cookies and breakfast. I do apologize that your room had not been cleaned. I am sorry that happened; my staff prides themselves on great guest service! Thank you again for letting me know and for the review.

Mike Jackson, General Manager, West Yellowstone Super 8
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Although the hotel is 7 minutes out of town, it makes it a peaceful place to stay. We liked that.
The hotel is clean,rustic in it's decor, offers a continental breakfast, has a friendly staff and a great manager named Micheal.
Out behind the hotel is a new store that offers items you can grab so you don't have to make a trip to town - plus pizza!
We had no complaints!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view facing town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoniqueCreighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestYellowstoneGM, General Manager at Super 8 West Yellowstone, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
MoniqueCreighton :


Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! I am also glad you enjoyed the pizza next door at Lodge Pole Pizza. Please come and see us again.

Mike Jackson, General Manager, West Yellowstone Super 8
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel is about 8 miles outside of town. The receptionist was exceptionally cool and friendly. Good breakfast. Nice room with view of mountains and billboard.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RamblinRon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestYellowstoneGM, General Manager at Super 8 West Yellowstone, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear RamblinRon81
I'm glad you enjoyed your time here in Yellowstone! Thank you for your time in writing this review. Please come see us again.

Mike Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

I was a little wary booking here, with the reviews of the motel. But we were having a tough time finding a small cabin near Yellowstone. So I took a chance and am glad we did. The cabin was nearly brand new and very clean.

For the price of a motel room in town, we got two bedrooms and a kitchenette.

I only have four complaints and two are very very minor. First the bigger: the heater did not work very well; and the hot water heater was insufficient for a family of three. The two minor complaints: the parking was a little tricky due to the lay out; and carpet is needed on the bedroom floor.

Service was excellent. We got locked out of our cabin at ~10 p.m., and the manager cheerfully came out and let us back in.

It is a little far from Yellowstone, but the drive was not bad and it was worth it not to be in town.

Room Tip: Stay in a Deluxe Cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LegoAthos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
7.4 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#25 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
7.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
7.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#18 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
7.6 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 West Yellowstone

Property: Super 8 West Yellowstone
Address: 1545 Targhee Pass Hwy, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 West Yellowstone 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Yellowstone Super 8 offers a quiet setting just 7 and one-half miles west of West Yellowstone. With beautiful mountain views in all directions we are the perfect location for relaxing after a long day in Yellowstone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 West Yellowstone Lionshead Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Super 8
West Yellowstone Super Eight
Super Eight West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing