We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Kelly Inn and would definitely recommend it to others. The room was very spacious and comfortable for our family of 5. Two queen beds and a pull out sofa bed. Large sink area and counter outside of the shower & toliet room. Breakfast was good and the attendant was very personable and helpful. Loved the pancakes from the conveyer belt machine and fresh berries with yogurt and granola was delicious. Definitely was a welcome stay after hiking in Yellowstone! Pool was warm and hot tub was hot! Spacious enough to accommodate multiple guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meech89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for the great review. As fellow Hoosiers we are always glad to see folks from Indiana make it this far out west. We hope you had a great time in the park and will tell your friends and family to come see us. We need more Colts and Pacers fans to share stories with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    324
    135
    31
    21
See reviews for
411
354
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

So glad to have found this place, thanks to recommendations from Trip Advisor travelers. When I called to inquire a few months ago, Sally was so kind to give all the information I needed without putting pressure on me to book a room in the hotel. Eventually she helped me get a room for my family of six, which I greatly appreciated. The location was perfect and just a few minutes drive to the West Entrance. I was glad it is just a very short walk away from the West Yellowstone Visitor Center which hosts a few ranger-led programs. We did not have much time to wander around West Yellowstone itself, but it would have been easy to do so with the hotel's very central and accessible location. It is across the street from a Discovery Center, which I would have taken my daughter to, if we had extra time.

Check in was a little slow (someone had to be sent upstairs to see if our room was ready even when we arrived past the regular check-in time). Additionally, the sweet ladies at the reception desk had to check if the room we are assigned to had a "bear" peeking in through the window (which would have been a treat for one of my kids) and tried hard to get us in a room that had one. We ended up not getting in one, but that was OK; I so appreciated their efforts to accommodate their guests!

The room had a very nice decor, with two queen beds, a sleeper sofa and a rollaway bed added on. There was a small refrigerator to store our lunch supplies and a microwave that allowed us to heat up dinner when we came home late one evening after a long day at the park. Breakfast buffet was adequate and offered hot and cold items. The pancake machine turned out some pretty good pancakes! :-) I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone needing a clean, comfortable place to stay in West Yellowstone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfnshopntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We take our TripAdvisor reviews very seriously and appreciate everyone who shares their experience with others so that they can make an informed choice of lodging options. That is why we respond to every review personally. Sorry we did not have a room with a bear in the window available for you this time. Those rooms are in short supply and need to be reserved far in advance directly with the hotel since they are so popular. On your next Yellowstone visit give us a call very early and we'll help get you exactly the room that you prefer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

It is a nice place to stay. I have stayed in both the double queen room and the "upgraded" double king room. The only difference between the two, besides the obvious bigger bed, was that there is no comfy sofa in the King room:(. I preferred the queen room for that reason. The beds are super comfortable and the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammyiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We're happy to hear that you choose to stay with us on your visits to Yellowstone.

Just to clarify for those that have not stayed with us before, our standard double queen rooms located on all three floors do not have the pull out sofa bed. Our double queen deluxe rooms which are located on the second and third floors only are larger rooms with the sofa bed. They are the same size as our double king rooms which are located on all three floors. The double king rooms on second and third floors have an easy chair and ottoman rather than a sofa bed but those on first floor do not have room for the easy chairs because of the extra outside entrance. We strive to have many options to facilitate families of all sizes and needs. We also have very large suites with single kings, a wet bar and multiple sofa/ chair combinations along with a Jacuzzi tub. By reserving early directly with the hotel staff our returning guests who are familiar with our hotel can pretty much choose the room type and location that best fits their specific needs. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Hall, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights about a week ago. The room was spacious and nicely appointed though it should have been for $239 per night. The breakfast room was far too small
to handle the crowd of people, especially when the tour buses were there, which they frequently were. They did have tables in the pool area, but who wants to have their breakfast in a humid room smelling of chlorine? The food was not the greatest either. For these two reasons we chose to eat breakfast out on three occasions. However, the biggest issue we had was with fire alarms on two separate occasions. The first one was at 6AM and apparently was caused by the person preparing the breakfast. That is forgiveable, but the result was that everyone then came to breakfast at the same time; the result being chaos. The second incident occurred around midnight and the alarm went off about five different times. This time it was not forgiveable. Apparently some guest decided to make some toast at midnight and burned it, thus causing the multiple fire alarms as the smoke spread from detector to detector even though the staff tried resetting each one as it set off the alarm. My question is "Why were the toasters left out on the counter in the first place?" The hotel could also stand to have a second elevator since the three story building is quite long and the elevator is all the way toward the one end of the structure. I will say that it was well located and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review of your stay. We appreciate the comments and suggestions from all of our guests and react to those that we can. Your comments on the limited breakfast space is something we have been working on for some time. Unfortunately the hotels here were built before breakfast service became a standard and the limited service area and seating is not something that can just be added on without additional land which is not available. We recently remodeled our breakfast area to add a bar and bench to handle more guests within the space available. We also added the tables around the pool area which can now seat twice as many as our limited breakfast room. Unfortunately we simply don't have any other indoor space to utilize. Many of our guests, particularly those with large families, do choose the poolside option which alleviates the competition for seating in our breakfast area. We also supply trays to make it easy for those guests who prefer to take food back to their rooms for private seating. We also have picnic tables outside and are currently finishing construction of a new outdoor patio adjacent to our breakfast room for additional outdoor seating. We can actually seat as many or more people as most restaurants in town but if nearly 300 people all attempt to eat at the same time it would require a banquet hall size room to accommodate everyone. Since the bus tours usually leave quite early most folks have found that there is plenty of breakfast seating if they choose a slightly later time. We serve our full breakfast from 6:30 AM to 10:00 AM every morning but we have some of the quick serve items available much earlier for the very early risers.

We're sorry to hear that you also didn't enjoy our new expanded complimentary breakfast selections. Nearly everyone has told us that they really appreciate the addition of hot foods and more protein with a rotation of various eggs and meats in addition to yogurt, berries, cut fruit, biscuits and gravy and hot pancakes. Based on the prices of a breakfast at a restaurant in town our free breakfast has been a great cost saving amenity for most families. We hope that the crowd of guests at the time you came to breakfast didn't prevent you from trying our new items before choosing to pay for breakfast at a restaurant.

We apologize that someone set off the fire alarm while you were here. Due to the very strict fire regulations hotels must abide by for the protection of guests, smoke alarms are often an unfortunate but necessary inconvenience regulated by law. However, compared to the alternative tragedy that any loss of life would cause, it is a relief when an injury of death is prevented by those inconveniences. Prior to your stay we had already applied for and finally received permission to replace many of the smoke detectors in the lobby and breakfast area with newer heat sensors that still offer protection from fire but are not set off by smoke issues from breakfast service. We completed the project last Thursday so hopefully we can prevent future alarms and still not deprive our guests of the use of the amenities that they have asked for. We still advise our guests not to leave unattended items in the microwave or toasters at any hour. Even if the alarm doesn't go off a smoke filled room is not a pleasant place.

We hope if you should return to Yellowstone in the future that you give us another look even if you should choose to stay elsewhere. We hope all of our future guests appreciate the many changes we continue to make based on guest reviews such as yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We weren't sure what we were doing, but made a great choice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We ended up extending our stay by three days and they made it happen for us. West Yellowstone is a central entrance and Kelly Inn is about as close to the gate as you can get. The rooms are lovely with handcrafted furniture. The breakfast was substantial with plenty of protein for a day of exploring the park. It was the perfect choice and we look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your trip. We're glad that you discovered us and that we found a way to extend your stay. Since much of the summer many of the nicer hotels are totally sold out, we always warn those who come to Yellowstone without an advanced reservation that it is 100 miles to the next big town. We're glad that you were able to enjoy a longer vacation after coming so far. We hope that you will return and visit us again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Extremely clean, updated, and family friendly. Front desk offered lots of advice to travelers, morning breakfast bar got us filled up for hiking in Yellowstone, and the pool was great for the kids at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We make every effort to make our hotel a fun place for every member of the family as well as their pets. We're glad to hear that your family enjoyed your stay. The weather has been unusually cool and wet the past week so we hope your hiking adventure was a pleasant one. We hope that you took advantage of our huge hot tub and dry suana as a great way to relieve those tired mussels. If you should choose to return to Yellowstone in the future we hope you will give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We chose West Yellowstone so we could be close the park. While it is a very touristy area, this was a very pleasant hotel with nice spacious and clean rooms and a place to catch up on laundry. We were on the first level and had an outside and inside door so we could easily pack up the car. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was quite good. My hubby loved the instant pancake maker. Lots of great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel on your recent visit to Yellowstone. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review so that others can learn from your experience. We're glad that you enjoyed our hot pancake machine and our new breakfast service. We have gone to great lengths to expand and improve our breakfast service this summer and it is rewarding to hear that our guests appreciate those efforts. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next Yellowstone Adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.0 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Property: Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Address: 104 S Canyon St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9556
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn West Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing