We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We chose West Yellowstone so we could be close the park. While it is a very touristy area, this was a very pleasant hotel with nice spacious and clean rooms and a place to catch up on laundry. We were on the first level and had an outside and inside door so we could easily pack up the car. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was quite good. My hubby loved the instant pancake maker. Lots of great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel on your recent visit to Yellowstone. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review so that others can learn from your experience. We're glad that you enjoyed our hot pancake machine and our new breakfast service. We have gone to great lengths to expand and improve our breakfast service this summer and it is rewarding to hear that our guests appreciate those efforts. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next Yellowstone Adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 994 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I spent a couple days of our honeymoon at the start of May at the Kelly Inn at West Yellowstone. Firstly the hotel is a fantastic location for (obviously) the west entrance of the park. It literally is 2 minutes away. We were given a double queen bed room and it was huge. Additionally it was great you could park right outside your door too. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms contained all the amenities that you could need. The bathrooms are a little basic but you can forgive that as we had 2 wonderful nights of sleep.

The spa area is particularly lovely, especially at night after long walks in the park where the light is dimmed and the light of the pool areas (blue) are enhanced. The spa pool is wonderful and the swimming pool is nice and warm.

The breakfast was a really nice added bonus and contained everything you could possibly want before a day walking around the park.

I wanted to finally add how nice the staff were. The red headed lady at reception was particularly lovely (apologies I didn't get your name) and really gave us some good tips. Finally, on our final day we had to call our car rental company as we wanted to change the details of our drop off destination. A really kind lady who I believe was the chef/cook for the breakfast gave us her phone to use to avoid any expensive charges using my UK phone dialing a US number.

Thank you for a great stay Kelly Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lambyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff and facilities. It sounds like you had a great time at the hotel and hope your experience in the park was even better after traveling so far to see Yellowstone. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and hope you will return some day and visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a great property in a great location for entering Yellowstone Park's west entrance. Our online reservation (made through an agency) didn't get to the hotel ahead of us and our room was not available when we arrived. However, the managers and other staff were very helpful, and we ended up with an even better room than we had expected. The room was large and very well furnished with good quality furniture that was perfect for the area. We had a very comfortable king bed and there was a nice chair with an ottoman for comfortable seating. Room was exceptionally clean. The hot breakfast in the lobby was very good. Front desk staff was wonderful in helping us find restaurants that we might enjoy. My only regret is that we only had one night here. Would definitely recommend this hotel! Side note: We opened our window early in the morning and heard coyotes howling in the park!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for the nice review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel so much and would recommend us. We hope that you will have a chance to return to Yellowstone and stay a little longer next time. One night is definitely not long enough to explore the many wonders of Yellowstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent three nights here while visiting Yellowstone and had a nice room. Everyone was very nice and the breakfast was very good. One problem the first morning: the fire alarm was set off by breakfast being cooked. We had arrived late the previous night, but we were able to go back to sleep. The breakfast server apologized and we had a lovely conversation. We especially enjoyed the biscuits and gravy and the pancakes. The hotel is very close to the entrance to Yellowstone and makes it easy to go into the park and return at the end of the day. We would recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlknv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We apologize about the alarm going off at breakfast. A dual powered alarm system is a moral necessity and legal requirement to protect the safety of every guest in every hotel. Unfortunately sometimes it can be very inconvenient while it is doing what it was designed to do. Since breakfast was not a standard part of doing business when most hotels here were built we have had to add all of the new breakfast service to areas that legally had to be fully covered by smoke detectors. As we have added additional hot items the risk of smoke events have increased. With the current volume of foreign tour groups we have also experienced more frequent issues of guests not understanding how to use some of the standard appliances which can heat items beyond the smoking point so we try to monitor breakfast very carefully.

Due to the recent alarm events caused by breakfast service appliance smoke we received approval to have many of our smoke detectors replaced by heat sensors. These newer devices will still provide safety from a fire but not be sensitive to the smoke from toasters, microwaves, waffles irons or pancake machines. This project should be completed this week so we can be confident that you will not be disturbed by a similar event on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located very clise to the West Yellowstone Park entance.
The hotel room is clean with confortable mattres.
The brackfast area is small but the complimentary breackfast is ok.
I had a small problems with the toilet flush but they promptly had it fixed.
The staff is very helpful.
If I return into the area I will stay there again. It is worthy to try

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogerio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit a review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and would choose to stay with us again. We hope you will find the time to visit Yellowstone again in the future and will give us a call to help with your lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Started staying here in March 2010 and have returned each year since. Rooms are updated and very clean. The managers, Sally and Don, couldn't be nicer or more helpful. They have added a more complete breakfast and Trish, the food supervisor, is very responsive to individual needs. With many choices to choose from, I will continue to stay here!

Room Tip: Make sure to book early as it's a very popular place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissyca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review of your latest visit. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our new breakfast additions. Trish has been a wonderful asset to add to our outstanding staff and she has worked very hard with us to come up with many new ideas to keep our loyal guests like you coming back every year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel was good. The room was clean and location was great. The breakfast was good. The only issues we had was that there was a stain near the wash basin and the water draining into the wash basin very slowly. We brought our concerns to the manager and she was very responsive. She took notes of the concerns and also mentioned that the stains were probably because of the ash trays being used by some of the previous travellers. I think the prices were a little bit expensive for the services. Everything else was pretty good.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room that has another door to the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us. Thank you for bringing the slow drain to our attention so that we could fix it promptly. I believe the person you spoke to must have been one of our helpful front desk staff. As for the minor stain on the wash basin possibly caused by a smoker, I should point out that we are a 100% non smoking hotel and have a very severe fine for anyone smoking in our hotel rooms just to prevent this kind of damage to our rooms. Those that think they can hide the fact that they smoked in a room always get caught and always get charged the fine. That's why credit cards are required to reserve a room. Thanks for pointing it out so that we had the opportunity to work on removing the stain before the next guest arrived.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
767 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 104 S Canyon St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9556
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $99 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn West Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing