We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed two nights with our family of four. Two roomy king beds in room were extremely comfortable with fresh bedding. Frig and microwave in room were convenient. Hot breakfast was basic but perfect to get us on our way for our snowcoach trips into Yellowstone Park. Staff was very friendly. Lounge area recently renovated with beautiful stone fireplace....staff indicated plans are to renovate lobby and food service area as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for the nice review. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. We hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

My mom and I travelled from Jackson to West Yellowstone for a snowcoach trip and stayed at the Kelly Inn for two nights. The staff was incredibly friendly and the facilities were nice (extremely comfortable beds).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent snow coach tour of the park. We appreciate so much continued support from all our neighbors in Jackson and hope to see you often in the future. Thanks for adding to our extensive list of reviews so that others who are not as familiar with our hotel can make an informed lodging decision when visiting Yellowstone for the first time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in WYellowstone one night. This hotel is ok but we wouldn't stay there again. We were so tired from all the activities of the day and every time a car drove up outside, we could hear the doors slam and the people talking. We heard this most of the night since we go to bed pretty early. We would probably just visit WYellowstone again just for Wild West Pizza and move on to another place to stay. Not worth the price we paid for the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEK2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments about your visit to West Yellowstone last September. We're sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the outside parking lot noise. You didn't mention if you were in a first floor room or had your window open for you to be disturbed by such normal activity from outside. It would certainly not be unusual for a very light sleeper to choose to turn off the AC unit and open the window in September's mild weather. We apologize that you didn't sleep well. Though our rooms are constructed with 6 inch thick walls with sound blanket insulation, unfortunately the windows and doors do have limitations as a sound barrier.

For extremely light sleepers who are looking for the most economical lodging choice we recommend checking the TripAdvisor reviews for some of the small motor motels in town. They are generally built of concrete block on one level and have fewer rooms with far less guest traffic noise. Although they don't offer many amenities, most are clean, very economical and usually offer the quietest options of any lodging choice. These might present a more favorable option than spending the day in Yellowstone, having dinner and then moving on. Since it is at least a hundred miles and an hour and a half drive to the nearest major town that offers other lodging options most people find that West Yellowstone is the most logical place to spend the night. If you should return to visit Yellowstone in the future just give us a call and we'll be glad to recommend some other local lodging options that might be a better fit for your budget and your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here on a recent business trip to West Yellowstone. We brought the dog and were delighted to find the pet friendly rooms had two entrances, one to interior hallway and one to exterior/ parking lot. Easy in and out with the dog! The room was a higher quality and less worn than I usually find in West Yellowstone. If a family group, the hotel is directly behind McDonalds. I do recommend this hotel if you are planning a Yellowstone trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cpyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As a neighbor from Wyoming we hope that you will visit often and choose our hotel again on your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Loved the fact they asked if we were traveling with pets - (we weren't) but clearly they are catered for. Our suite was large, clean, well equipped with a comfortable bed. The staff were very helpful but unobtrusive. Breakfast was pretty average but it was clear it was continental. Excellent place to base yourselves for that Yellowstone trip.

Room Tip: We had the suite over reception and it was quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merlintrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

You sure came a long way from New Zealand to go snowmobiling but you couldn't have picked a better place for it. Yellowstone is a totally unique place in winter and West Yellowstone is often referred to as the Snowmobile Capital of the World for good reason. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us during your adventure. Thank you for submitting a review of our hotel. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return some day and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here one night on June 7, 2012 - we had drove through part of Yellowstone and needed a place to stay. We had our two dogs with us which they gladed accepted and our room on the ground floor opened into the hallway (like a hotel) but also opened too the parking lot on the other end (like a motel - we parked in front of the room) - this was a great layout especially when travelling with dogs! The room itself was very cute - wood style with bears and moose decor which fit right in with Montana and Yellowstone. The bedding was comfy, room was great size and no complaints from us. It was a bit pricey but as a walk-in customer in during a busy summer season just outside of Yellowstone we expected that. Location was close to all the restaurants, attractions etc in West Yellowstone. Would most definately stay here again....oh we didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for submitting a review of your visit last June. We're glad to hear that your four legged companions enjoyed our unique pet friendly layout. The snowmobile folks in winter also enjoy those extra outside doors. It's a shame more companies don't spend the money to build hotels with double doors, but sadly, most hotels just aren't very pet friendly any more. If your future plans should bring you back to Yellowstone some day please give us a call and we'll be happy to share some local knowledge that might help you save some money and add to your adventure. Those of us who live hear year round really enjoy helping new visitors discover the wonders of America's first and greatest national park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Overall I had a good stay, but when I initially made my reservation I had little information from the front desk agent. She never quoted me a rate until I ask, she just started asking for my credit card information and she also never asked me what type of room I was looking for. What if I wanted to book the best suite in the place? Make sure you ask questions during your reservation, because they never offered any rates/room types/amenties. Also, they wouldn't give me a later check out than 11:30 (30 mins past their check-out time.) This was a little strange because the hotel was EMPTY and there was no one coming into that room. If the hotel was having a huge turnover day I would have understood, but you would think that it would be okay with the hotel being barely booked?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit in February. We are sorry to hear that the front desk clerk who answered your call did not offer the proper information to your satisfaction when making your reservation. We go to great lengths to standardize our process to prevent such issues. Thank you for pointing it out so that we can follow up accordingly.

All of our desk clerks go through a thorough professional training program of specific steps that we require to be covered to explain our amenities and gather accurate information for the dates, duration of stay and number of guests arriving before they are permitted to quote a rate for the room types available for the entire duration of the reservation dates requested and number of guests per room. Although they always begin with the lowest rate room type available that will meet every requirement we ask that they also discuss possible upgrades that are available after giving the best available rate.

This process can be considered somewhat lengthy and repetitive by returning guests or those who simply call around to compare rates but it has proven to prevent most of the mistakes and misunderstandings often made in non structured phone reservations. We contract with a highly respected outside agency to conduct our reservation training via video seminars for new hires with follow up seminars throughout the year. They also make test calls to our hotel every month on every shift so that we may review the recorded calls and scores with our desk clerks for follow up training as needed.

Despite these efforts it appears we failed in your case. We apologize if the desk clerk who handled your call did not follow our proper procedure or the process was so lengthy that they had to be interrupted to ask for a rate quote and did not describe available alternatives.

Managing the occupancy turnover of a busy hotel is a complicated computerized puzzle that is not easily understood or readily observed by most guests. Having the requested room type, floor, location, adjacency or connectivity requested for the arrival date and the entire duration of stay requires a lot of careful detail and planning in both the reservation and housekeeping process. Although it might appear to a departing guest that the hotel is not busy at any point in time it is not unusual to have a very large block of pre-assigned rooms checking in later in the day or a large number checking out that puts a tremendous load on our housekeeping resources to have those rooms ready in time for the next round of reserved incoming guests and last minute traffic.

We apologize that we are unable to offer extended late check outs. In order to handle our volume of business we have to plan our staff requirements very carefully to have every room cleaned and ready for use while we have our staff available. That is why our check-in and check-out times are clearly posted in our lobby and on every confirmation and why we ask every guest to carefully read and sign our registration form at check-in that states that they agree to vacate the room by 11 AM. While we do make every effort to accommodate minor delays upon request such as in your case, we simply can't offer the use of any room through the afternoon without extending a reservation an additional day. That is why we are very careful in the reservation process to verify arrival and departure needs.

We often have guests in winter who request late check outs so that they can continue to snowmobile or ski throughout the morning or early afternoon and return to their room to shower and pack before heading home. Unfortunately we can not fairly accommodate those requests for a select few and deny others and can not change our housekeeping staff's hours to handle more than a minor change in check-out times. However, we do offer guests who have a desire to delay their departure the opportunity to put their luggage in their vehicle and return to use our pool facility showers later in the day if requested at check-out. However, all rooms must be vacated at standard check-out time in order to have them ready for occupancy by our guaranteed 4 PM check-in time.

As a resident Of Big Sky which is less than an hour drive from West Yellowstone we can understand your desire to extend your recreational day as long as possible and still have the time to drive home. We hope that you can understand why we have to uphold our check-out policies in order to be consistent and fair to everyone but would be happy to accommodate your unique situation on future visits via use of our pool facilities. If that would increase your ability to take advantage of the recreational opportunities while you are here just let us know when making a reservation and we will be happy to note a special plan for it. We hope that you enjoyed the amenities that our hotel provides and that you will choose to stay with us on all of your future visits to West Yellowstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
771 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 104 S Canyon St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9556
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $92 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn West Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing