We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay when visiting Yellowstone!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We found this hotel completely by accident, when visiting Yellowstone this week. It was amazing. The hotel is right near the Yellowstone gate, and within walking distance to shops and restaurants, but tucked away far enough from the noise and clutter of West Yellowstone. The room was spacious and extremely convenient - with one door out to the parking lot and another to the inside hallway. Extremely CLEAN (you could tell upon walking in) and comfortable. The mattress was great. It was the best night of sleep we had on our entire trip. The managers were friendly and caring, and were genuinely concerned about our stay. We will stay here every time we come up.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are the most convenient as you can unload right from your car trunk and in through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeifJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for submitting such a nice review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay after finding us by accident. We do recommend that all visitors to Yellowstone in summer make a reservation well in advance. We're glad that we had a room available for your stay, but unfortunately on many nights, it is nearly impossible to find a room in the Yellowstone area. Now that you know where we are we hope you will give us a call when planning your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

After a long day of driving through Yellowstone, this hotel was a welcome relief. It's located a little off the main road so you don't hear any road noise and is across the street from the Discovery Center. Another plus was that the rooms had two doors - one opening to the hallway and one opening to the parking lot. That made it a lot easier to get the luggage into the rooms. The room itself was roomy and nicely decorated. We also didn't notice any noise from the other rooms so that was very good. The kids enjoyed the pool area and the breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBinSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent visit. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will choose us again on your next visit to Yellowstone. If you would like to come play in the white stuff that Seattle probably doesn't see much of, just give us a call and we'll be glad to set up a snowmobile adventure for you this winter. Yellowstone in winter is an amazing sight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for several nights during our trip to Yellowstone NP. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful during our visit. The room was nice and clean. I would stay here on our next trip to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your visit to Yellowstone and that you would choose to stay with us again. We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review so new visitors to Yellowstone can compare all of our reviews and make an informed lodging choice. If there is any activity, feature or destination in the area that you have questions about for your next visit please give us a call. If you've never been snowmobiling, this is a great place to learn. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our family spent two days in Yellowstone and used the Kelly Inn as our home base. Really appreciated how close they were to the park and walking distance to lots of restaurants. We took the "family room" with the fold out sofa bed and the extra space was a huge plus. Laundry facilities worked well. Pool was average, breakfast was below average but all in all this was a good spot. If I couldn't stay in the park, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would choose us again if staying outside of the park. Many of the old historical hotels inside the park offer a very unique experience and offer a shorter trip to certain park attractions. We do suggest that new visitors to Yellowstone check the list of amenities carefully before choosing any hotel but especially those inside the park. Due to the age of the hotels, the amenities important to many families may be unavailable and the choice of meal options more limited than in town. We're sorry to hear that you felt that our free continental breakfast was below average after we have added so many new hot items. Not having a restaurant limits our options considerably by law but we keep trying to offer more variety. It may be worth checking the cost of breakfast as well as other meals at the restaurants inside the park since most hotels there don't offer any meals included with the price of a room. Many of our returning guests choose to spend some lodging time both inside and outside the park to get the best of both worlds and have considerably more restaurant options. We often work with guests who stay with us on the way in and leave their car here in order to take an over night tour into the park and return to stay with us on the way out. If there is anything we can do to help you plan your next visit please don't hesitate to give us a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My family of 4 used West Yellowstone and the Kelly Inn as our home base for our exploration of Yellowstone Park. Upon our arrival, we were very pleased with the large size of the room and two inviting king sized beds! The room was clean and fresh. I also appreciated that both sides of both beds had bed sized tables and lamps. Most hotels do not have this. Unfortunately, as with so many hotels the doors shut very loudly so once people get going in the morning everyone is up. I found the front desk staff helpful and pleasant. The location of the hotel was ideal -- just a minute from the park entrance and across the street from the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center (which is well worth a visit). While we did not need it, I noticed that the hotel has a washing machine and dryer available to its guests. We did not use the pool.

My only criticism concerns the breakfast. As with many hotels, the Kelly Inn offers breakfast to its guests. Unfortunately, the food seems to be in short supply. When an item runs out, there is no effort to refill the item unless something is said to the woman charged with monitoring the breakfast area and even then there is no rush. (She acknowledged this). I'm not sure whether she has been directed to refill the food slowly or she is not very good at her job but the end result is we and others always felt short changed. I've seen the hotel address the breakfast issue before and say they have so many guests that its hard to keep up but the woman seemed to sit behind the front desk while plenty of items were out and make no effort to resolve it day after day. Breakfast is a small issue. Overall, we had a good visit to the hotel and I would recommend it with this caveat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for submitting your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel during your recent visit. We appreciate your bringing to our attention an issue with our breakfast service. We obviously need to evaluate and make some adjustments in staffing. This is the first year that we have experimented with providing a dedicated breakfast clerk at 5AM to prepare and handle all of the extra items that we recently added. We are still reviewing the acceptance of the additional offerings as well as the staffing talent required to handle it in peak season. We chose 3 young women this spring to rotate the duties so that we have two people every morning to handle both the breakfast and the front desk duties. However, we were quite surprised when in the middle of the peak season, we discovered that all three were expecting to give birth around the same time in early fall. Like the pioneers of this wilderness area, the cold winters here still tend to bring about a lot of autumn births. We recognize that these three employees are facing a very difficult challenge to keep up with the needs of so many guests each morning and we need to make some adjustments now to maintain our service levels. Running out of product is not an option that is acceptable. Thanks for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We took the Suite rom and in was definitely worth a few more dollars. The room was clean, nice and HUGE! The bed was very comfortable. The location is great, just one minute from the park entrance. Recommended!
The only disappointing part was the breakfast, which was below the (already low) average of our journey.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LightMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for submitting a TripAdvisor review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us after traveling so far from Switzerland. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our free continental breakfast offering.

We've been working on our breakfast selections over the last two years to add as many new hot and high protein items as we are allowed under the hotel license restrictions for hotels without a restaurant. The definition of a "continental" breakfast may differ from Europe to the US, but our state health department considers it simple pastry, bread and cereal products that are relatively easy to handle safely. Hotels here must have a restaurant and the appropriate commercial equipment and license to handle fresh meat and egg products. Everything must be precooked, frozen or refrigerated which severely restricts our offering

We have pushed the boundaries as much as possible with our pancake machine, biscuits and gravy and our recent additions of scrambled eggs and sausage for summer. We are constantly testing new precooked, heat and serve items that are allowed under our hotel license but will never be able to cook to order. Unfortunately, we were recently warned by the state that all Montana hotels without a restaurant may have to revert back to the basic "continental" breakfast offering in the near future because many hotels like ours have exceeded the allowable options. We hope that we will not be forced to reduce our offering, but based on the number of poor reviews about breakfast, it may not be worth fighting to keep what is not recognized as a benefit by our guests.

We urge all of our guests who read and submit these reviews to let us know if our expanded free breakfast offering is an amenity worth keeping. We'll take your vote as a no. Thank you for sharing your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The room was decent but smelly, the pool was very small, toilet did not work when we checked in, breakfast was terrible(we ended up going to the McDonald next door)the front desk people were rude and unhelpful. We will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ULM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay. We're very disappointed to hear that you did not think our facility and service was worth the money you paid. Obviously we did not live up to your value expectations. We apologize if our staff did not respond to your concerns in a satisfactory manner. Most of our staff reviews have been very complimentary but it appears that we failed in your case. We will share your comments with the appropriate staff to encourage improvement for the future. Your rating is a great disappointment to our entire staff but certainly not consistent with the majority of our many reviews. Price/value complaints are definitely far more common in West Yellowstone during peak season rates and tend to lead to a much higher level of expectation that we need to address.

We make a serious effort to monitor the reviews from every hotel in the Yellowstone area in order to remain competitive and understand the factors that we can improve to add value. Unfortunately we find that nearly every hotel in town receives similar negative price/value comments in peak summer due to the overwhelming demand and subsequent high summer rates. Though that demand causes all hotel rates here to be higher than in other areas, we strive to be very competitive to other hotels of comparable size and amenities in our area. We recently spent over $500,000 to add extra value to our hotel including new pillow top beds, large LCD TVs and all new lodge furniture. All of the items that we replaced were sold or given to other "more affordable" hotels in the area. We also increased our free breakfast offering for summer at a considerable expense yet we still only claim to offer a continental breakfast. We're sorry to hear that you felt that our all you can eat biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs and sausage and hot pancakes were not equal to a purchased McDonald's breakfast. Since we are not a restaurant we have very strict limitations of what we can serve but we will continue to seek alternatives to improve the value of our free breakfast to better meet expectations.

Due to the high rates for lodging in summer, we always recommend that new guests to Yellowstone consider visiting in spring or fall when rates are far more affordable and the amenities are the same. Those with no advanced reservations are generally the ones who are not prepared for the sticker shock of food and lodging in Yellowstone. We recommend reviewing the rates, reviews and amenities of all hotels in the area to make an informed choice before choosing. We are very happy to recommend many of the fine smaller hotels that offer fewer amenities for those traveling on a budget. TripAdvisor is a great tool to use to help make an informed decision. Thank you for contributing your comments so that others can balance all reviews and make the right choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
771 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 104 S Canyon St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9556
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $92 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn West Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing