We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2012

During check-in, we were inquiring about upgrading to a suite. The helpful front desk person made some calls to some of the other hotels, checking on openings for us. The Kelly Inn is associated (by same owner group) with many other of the local properties, so keep this in mind when needing lodging assistance if your needs can't be met at a specific property.

The Kelly Inn has been recently updated and we were very satisified with the cleanliness of our 3rd floor room. The room was clean and the two queen pillow top beds were comfortable. Our room faced north, so we had a view of the western and northeastern mountain skyline as well as some of the downtown buildings. The room next door had young kids, with one child having a tantrum which we could hear very plainly through the walls. After this subsided we found the room to be relatively quiet. Breakfast offers eggs, sausage links, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, cereal and apples. I liked their coffee - they have a Keyna and Ethiopian blend that has good flavor.

This is a good location for your lodging. It is located on the south end of the West Yellowstone town and is very close walking distance to the shops and restaurants. The road to the Yellowstone Park entrance is just one block away. There is an IMAX theater and a wolf & grizzley bear learning center just to the east side of the street. We caught a play (Dirty Rotten Scoundrels) at the Playmill Theater, just a couple of blocks away. Buy your tickets in advance, since this is a small theater with limited seating (they offer three different shows during the week). We ate Wild West pizza across the street from the theater. This is a popular place with good pizza, and recommended to us by the locals.

We liked the hotel, even though it is nothing special. We thought the location was perfect for our needs and would stay here again, even though it is somewhat pricey for what you receive in return.

Room Tip: Some rooms have wooden bears on the balconies. You can request these rooms when making reservations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay but sorry that we did not have a suite available to upgrade at check in. Since all three of our properties tend to sell out all summer, it is very difficult to make changes at the last minute but occasionally we do have a late cancellation. Our front desk staff are always happy to attempt to accommodate any request and will often call every hotel in town seeking a room for those with no reservation when we are sold out.

We hope that you will return to Yellowstone and visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

The location of the hotel is the biggest plus. It is easy to walk to pretty much anything you want to see or do in West. Breakfast is free, but our last morning we went out to eat. The breakfast was crazy! So many people and do hard for one worker to keep up with forks, coffee, pancake machine was broken. Very little seating area. You could go eat by the pool but you had a plate in one hand and a drink in the other and had to try to open the pool door with your room key. The beds were so comfortable. Small bathroom and had a crazy smell. But they did have a fridge and microwave. The pool was really nice and my kids loved it. I enjoyed the hot tub. They have a dry sauna but I question the cleanliness. The rooms seemed pretty run down but they were comfortable and clean except the bathroom. The elevator was scary.....

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reading_Mom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay. With hundreds of guests trying to enjoy our free breakfast service at the same time, it can be very hectic during peak times. That's why we extend our breakfast service from 6:30 AM until 10AM and added so many additional seats around the pool area. There actually isn't a restaurant in town with enough seating to serve as many guests as most hotels do every morning. Fortunately we have hotels that do offer breakfast to alleviate long restaurant lines every morning.

We're sorry if the elevator was a concern. We can assure you that it is in excellent condition but like all hydraulic elevators, it makes noises and bumps occasionally with heavy use. We have it professionally inspected twice a year as well as once per year by the sate we and maintain an inspection certificate at the front desk.

Our hotel is now about 15 years old which makes some features somewhat dated though still considerably new for a very old cowboy town. However, we just finished putting new lodge furniture, 37 inch LCD TVs and new pillow top beds in every room as well as a remodel of the breakfast room and every entrance way. We also sanded and refinished our dry sauna as part of that process. We continue to add these upgrades in an attempt to ensure that the property stays as current as possible so that we can age gracefully next to the first and oldest national park.

We hope that on your next visit to Yellowstone that you will visit us again and enjoy our next round of improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Kelly Inn is one of the closest hotels to the West entrance to Yellowstone, a mere block from the IMAX. We three had a queen deluxe room, with a chair and ottoman and couch in addition to the table and two chairs, refrigerator and microwave.

All decorated in the log and animal motif, there was a carved wooden bear positioned outside our window looking in appearing to be ready to climb in. It was a happy surprise as we entered the room and a joy each time we saw his cute face. A long mirror for dressing, television and ample lighting made the room a joy.

If you travel during the high season, make your reservations early. The Park is very busy. The staff were all friendly and helpful. I definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the third/top floor and really enjoyed not having anyone "walking on our heads"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloSlowTouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for submitting a review from your recent stay. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and our new furnishings. As a resident of our state, you certainly understand the necessity of making early reservations for peak season in Yellowstone country. We hope everyone reads your advice and does their planning early. We feel terrible to have to turn away so many guests every year who wait until the last week or two to attempt to find a room in town. We still have visitors nearly every night in summer who come to town with no reservation and have to sleep in their cars or drive 100 miles to find a room. That's why TripAdvisor is such a great place to do a little homework before choosing a lodging option. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and hope you will visit us again often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Average hotel. No problems. Good room size, very clean, great location. Only problem is the price. However we stayed in july and the law of supply and demand obviously applies.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rather-be-sailing-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you your choosing to stay with us on your recent visit and for submitting your review. We hope that you enjoyed your visit to Yellowstone and will have the opportunity to return in the future.

Although we are disappointed in the rating, we certainly understand why the ratings for all hotels here in summer trend lower as guests tend to judge value over the service or amenities. That is a very consistent pattern in West Yellowstone and unlikely to change. You are certainly correct about the supply and demand driving the rates in this wilderness area. There is actually a company now renting overnight tents for as much as a hotel room in most towns. As long as there aren't enough hotel rooms in the area to accommodate 3.5 million visitors every year inventive people will always strive to fill the void.

Because of the overwhelming demand and limited availability of lodging options in summer, we recommend most new visitors to Yellowstone come in the fall when rates are lower and the weather is still quite pleasant. Many frequent visitors choose to return every year in September or October. Spring is another alternative for lower rates but the weather is a bit less predictable than autumn. Winter is by far the best value and offers a totally unique experience of snowmobile riding and snow coaches in the park.

We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again to experience the other wonderful but more affordable seasons of Yellowstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here and thought for the price it would be a very nice hotel... It wasn't. The room smelled, toilet clogged, door was broken, the breakfast was average but very crowded, the vacuuming was not done in the hallway and elevator every day, do i need to go on? When you pay $250 a night it better be perfect. It had too many problems and I felt it was not as represented in their web site.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thanks for submitting your review. Obviously your comments are not consistent with the majority of our guest reviews or even those who stayed on the same night but we do appreciate your taking the time to let us know how you feel. We noticed that you just joined TripAdvisor on the day you checked out in order to write your review from your phone. We apologize that we upset you so much over such minor and vague issues that should have been resolved quite easily with a call to the front desk. Unfortunately none of the issues you mentioned were reported to the front desk so we were not able to resolve them to your satisfaction.

As you stated, for the amount you paid, you expected perfection and obviously we failed to meet such a high standard. It sounds like your major complaint is mostly about the price you paid but you didn't mention if you had an advanced reservation or simply checked in late to the the last room in the hotel and didn't have time to shop around. We apologize if we offended you in any other way to cause such a response.

A broken door would certainly be a condition that we would need to fix immediately but no broken door was reported and we have discovered no broken doors in the hotel since you left. We can only assume that you are referring to your key card becoming demagnetized from being left near a magnetic field. That is a common issue with electronic key cards but easily fixed with a new key card.

A toilet clogged with excessive tissue is certainly not a unique experience in any hotel and easily resolved with a call to the front desk. For those who are too embarrassed to have someone come to their room and would prefer to clear it themselves we offer a plunger in a bucket. For those who ask for help, even in in the middle of the night when their is no maintenance staff on duty, we will gladly get out of bed and come help. That is the advantage on having management live on site.

You mentioned a smell in the room but did not report a problem to the front desk. Since you did not describe it, so we don't know if you are sensitive to an air freshener or cleaning compounds or if it was from your clogged toilet. We apologize for any inconvenience.

We do vacuum the hallway carpets and elevator daily but with hundreds of guest with families in house it is certainly possible that someone dropped something on the carpet that was not removed immediately. A simple mention to the front desk can easily resolve such a minor issue.

Since we can only resolve issues that are reported, we apologize that the issues which caused you to rate us so poorly were not able to be resolved to your satisfaction. Perfection is a difficult standard but we are certainly willing to try.

As a new member to TripAdvisor you might notice that we are one of the few establishments that personally respond to every review, both good and bad. We do this because we value the reviews on TripAdvisor and trust that our potential guests will read enough reviews from every hotel to make an informed decision from the majority of opinions. We thank you for adding to those reviews even though we are disappointed in your rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Kelly Inn for one night during our trip to Yellowstone. The location is excellent; right outside the Yellowstone entrance and close to the main street with plenty of tourist shopping and restaurants. Our room was on the ground floor with an inside and outside entrance. This made it very convenient for unloading and loading our luggage. We parked right outside our door. Our room was very clean and up to date. Breakfast was good with fresh pancakes in addition to the usual hotel breakfast fare. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jul812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for submitting your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and would choose to stay with us again. We will count your breakfast comment as a vote to attempt to continue offering more than what the state now wants to allow as a "continental" breakfast. We're glad that you enjoyed our free expanded breakfast offering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel exclusively at least one time a year for the past 20 years and have never been disappointed. The management and staff are always helpful and courteous. The rooms are always clean, the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms spotless. The price is average for the area and for the time of year. It is convenient to the park entrance and downtown. The pool and hot tub are always clean which is a plus after a day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: I've never had a bad room here, but there is usually less noise on the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deejburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thanks for your continued loyalty. We appreciate your business and appreciate your comments. We find it interesting to note the many different opinions about the relative value of summer rates in the Yellowstone area for both hotels and restaurants. For experienced visitors like yourself, you recognize and understand the seasonal rate structure and still find it preferable to visit in summer rather than the slower seasons when rates are substantially lower. However, there will always be new visitors to Yellowstone in summer who expect metropolitan amenities in the wilderness at similar rates and judge the value accordingly. We often see some understandably negative comments from those folks who did not do any research before planning their visit. It is nice that there is a site like TripAdvisor where new visitors can get a good understanding of what to expect and what budget is required for the amenities that they require before choosing where to stay. Thanks for adding your experienced comments to the mix. Hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 39 in West Yellowstone
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 104 S Canyon St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9556
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $99 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn West Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing