We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in West Yellowstone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2012

HePanther says: Took our two boys to Yellowstone for the first time and had a great time. Stayed two nights over a weekend and since this hotel was located almost right in front of the park entrance we were able to pack in a lot of fun. The sheets on these beds were fantastic and the beds were really, really comfortable for being just a average hotel. The pool was in good shape and the boys loved it as well. Outside and around the hotel there are decorative bear carvings, some of them life size, that made it fun as well. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Seemed a little pricey but I guess West Yellowstone has the demand so oh well. From what we saw around town this seemed like the nicest place around we will probably be back. There is a museum attraction and bear exhibit right across the street and an espresso shop close as well.

Room Tip: Any will do, not sure there is much of a difference since the views are all pretty similar it seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelpanthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Now that you have had the opportunity to visit West Yellowstone for the first time we hope to see you more often. You're not very far away and I'm sure the boys would love to explore the park in summer and enjoy the snow in winter. We can always find a Utah neighbor a room at our place. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the room but we would love for you to you see what we're up to next. We're trying to take the "average hotel" to another level. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is a clean & well-run place to be in the heart of West Yellowstone. I like it because it is not in the heart of the small town on Madison, Firehole or Yellowstone Ave....but just one long block from the clatter those streets seem to generate.

Good pillows and mattress. Seemed like a new flatscreen very large TV.

Spotless and close to the Park entrance.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if a group is scheduled and be mindful that groups can be excessively noisy. Obvious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccbuzzbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to submit your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our new pillow top beds and our new 37 inch LCD TVs. We hope that you will have the opportunity to return again and experience our next round of improvements. We have just begun a new remodel of our breakfast room and are anxiously awaiting our new rustic lodge furniture that we will have installed in every room by the end of May. We hope to have updated images of our new rooms on our web site by summer so you can get a preview of what to expect on your next visit. Thanks again for giving us a chance to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I reserved the room with the jacuzzi tub thinking it would be a little more upscale then it was. The bathroom had older tile but the tub itself was very nice. The Simmons Beauty Rest mattress was amazing. The furnishings in the room were in nice new condition and worked well, except the hinge on the large flat screen TV was permantly angled slightly down, which just took some getting used to. Cute rustic furnishings and the carpet looked new. Clean linens and drapes. Within easy walking distance of downtown, even with tons of snow! The Grizzly and Bear Discovery Center is just across the street. My truck got stuck in the snow and their polite staff helped us out. Kind and courtesy front desk staff, too. The pool room was nice and open. If I remember correctly the pool was only about 5 feet deep at the deepest, large jacuzzi in the indoor pool area as well. I attempted the dry sauna but it was taking quite a while to heat up and abandoned the prospect. Standard continental breakfast. The only warm food items were the hot cakes from the pancake machine , anything you toasted and the coffee. Very enjoyable stay, good value for the price. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liqourish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit and for submitting your review. In regards to our breakfast offering, we also offer biscuits and hot sausage gravy in addition to our hot pancake machine continuously all year. We're sorry if you were not made aware of it. Based on your comment we will make a larger sign to make it more visible. We also offer two kinds of hot omelets and link sausage during the busier holiday weekends and summer months but not during the slower winter season. We're sorry to hear that you had trouble adjusting the TV hinge. It actually does pivot up and down but with our new heavier 37 inch LCD TVs we have to keep the bolts tight. If moved around too much the bolt can become loose letting the weight cause it to tilt downward. Thanks for letting us know so we can check it out and adjust it. We're glad to hear that you would stay with us again and hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Room was very large with pillow top mattresses. Great breakfast in the mornings and we sure enjoyed the pool and hottub after a full day of sledding. Staff were extremely courteous and helpful. We will be going back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanGoldamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to West Yellowstone. We look forward to your next visit. We are planning some remodeling projects for Spring that we are sure you will appreciate on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The rooms at Kelly Inn are very nice and clean. The bed had a great pillow top mattress. We will stay here on our next trip to West Yellowstone!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smalltowncoupletn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Thank you for submitting your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again next year when we will have our new rustic log furniture in every room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Kelly Inn may be a fantastic hotel compared to other West Yellowstone properties, but to be honest we found it quite average. Rooms are ok, but nothing special. Staff and service was ok, but not especially friendly. Breakfast was JUST ok, even for a complimentary breakfast. But I guess thats just how it is when you are close to a major national park. Location was great of course for visiting Yellowstone, and dining options are within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EUTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

We're disappointed to hear that you were not impressed with out hotel during your recent winter visit after traveling from so far away. As you mentioned, being next to a national park makes it difficult to compare hotels in this wilderness area to modern hotels in major cities. Since West Yellowstone is surrounded by 2 million acres of public lands, there is simply no private land available to build new hotels so lodging choices are somewhat limited. Fortunately you were here during the lowest rate season of the year when rates are 60% less than summer when every hotel is town is usually sold out.

Though we are certainly not new, we do invest every year to upgrade and improve our amenities to keep our guests coming back. Last spring we added new Simmons Beautyrest pillow top beds to every room. Just prior to Christmas we added new 37 inch Panasonic 1080P LCD TVs to every room. As we continue to strive to improve the comfort and convenience of our guests, we value and appreciate review comments such as yours that help guide us towards new projects to hopefully be considered better than average.

We are very excited to announce that this coming spring we will be replacing the furniture in every room with new rustic log style furniture to further enhance the Yellowstone experience for our guests.

We encourage all new visitors to Yellowstone to visit the web sites of all the available hotels in West Yellowstone or to call around and ask questions before making their lodging choices so that they can compare and make the most informed decision possible. We certainly hope that you will have an opportunity to return to West Yellowstone in the future and will stop in to see our latest improvements, even if you should choose to try out one of our competitors on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had only planned on spending one night, but had such a good time we decided to stay another. The staff was very accommodating in getting us room for another night, offered to move all our belongings for us. Rooms are very clean, comfortable beds. Pool and hot tub/sauna area is large and very clean. We thoroughly enjoyed every detail of our stay. We will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit. As you discovered, one day in Yellowstone can go by very quickly. We hope to see you again next year when you can plan to stay longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 39 in West Yellowstone
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 104 S Canyon St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9556
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $97 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn West Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing