We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, what a gem!!”
Review of Cafe Madriz

Cafe Madriz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cafe Madriz brings the authentic taste of Spanish cuisine to southwest Montana all in a family friendly atmosphere. The Cafe Madriz experience is all about the food, the wine and the company.Enjoy everything homemade from scratch, hot and cold tapas, soups, salads and desserts. Also featuring imported products including Manchego cheese, Serrano ham, chorizos and many more.And of course, we serve PAELLA, our signature dish and arguably the most internationally recognized dish from Spain.
San Ramon, California, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“WOW, what a gem!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

In an area that could be called a desert for good food, I was astonished to find this gem. Great service, paella was excellent, wine a perfect match to the dinner as the waiter recommended!! Spinach salad was everything the Yelp reviews said it would be. Make your reservations, as walk ins will likely not be accommodated.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    120
    31
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spanish food in west yellowstone!!!!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Terrific restaurant. Already eaten there for two nights, going to try Serenity today but definitely going back tomorrow. had just tapas the first night but then made reservations for the next night with an order for paella for two. Tasted white wines the first night, there were four of us and then red wine last night. Do the reds! Everything delicious. Had the shrimp, mushrooms, meatballs and smoked salmon on night one. gazpacho and onion almond soup followed by the paella on night two.paella had mussels, shrimp, squid,chicken and no stunting on those. caramel iced at the. Bottom. fantastic!! GO THERE!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toggletail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divide
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little bit of Spain in Montana!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Four of us went to Cafe Madriz two nights in a row because it was clear that one night would not be enough to get all the items that were appealing. We loved everything!! The paella, the meatballs, the gazpacho, the shrimp were all fantastic! The wines were new to us and all delicious. Moreover, the staff was excellent and friendly, knowledgeable about the wines and just delightful people to talk to...busy as they were. Definitely don't miss this one!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida
1 review
“Fabulous Meal in West Yellowstone!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Who would have expected such good food and a great energy place in West Yellowstone?! We found Cafe Madriz on Trip Advisor - and it was so good last night - we went back again tonight - for our last night in West Yellowstone. We were one of three couples that had been there last night and returned again tonight - so that tells you about all you need to know! Tonight we had the mixed green garden salad - which was as fresh as it could be and very tasy - the blue cheese plate - the meatballs - and the almond flourless cake for dessert. This was one of the best meals we have had out in a very long time - certainly the best on our trip so far! Service is wonderful - they make you feel like they want you to enjoy the food - authentic and real.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, big wait!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The food here is worth it. I highly recommend trying the Paella and making a reservation. Its a small place so be prepared to wait if you do not have a reservation. We tried a chicken stew which was comfort food but restaurant quality. The desserts were very interesting too. But since the food portion aren't really tapas size and more family style, dessert might be tough! I do not mean that in a bad way.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank StartupTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Madriz also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Madriz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing