We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, but the food needs improvement”

Madison Crossing Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Come wine and dine with us at the Madison Crossing Lounge. Enjoy quality dining and conversing in our relaxing atmosphere. Appealing appetizers, entrees, desserts, and a full bar featuring exquisite specialty drinks. Catering also available.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good service, but the food needs improvement”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Had dinner two nights in a row. The service was very good. Our server was caring, attentive, prompt, and knowledgeable about the menu.
I ordered grilled romaine salad,salmon with roasted potatoes and veggies. Apparently they ran out of romaine so I ordered the house salad that had greens, baby carrots, and sliced tomato.The dressing taste like fruit juice and the salad was served on a very small plate and was hard to eat without leaves falling out the plate, the salmon was cooked right but way too salty. Cranberry juice came in a tiny glass fits for kids menu. We decided to give it another try since we could not find a better choice in town.Second night ordered the grilled romaine lettuce and got wilted leaves smothered with cheese. Flat iron steak with chimichuri sauce had good flavor but tough meat that was hard to chew.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Madison Crossing Lounge, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We have copied your comments for the kitchen staff and regret your disappointment. Your nice comments on our service are noted and appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    332
    105
    43
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
422 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“chef knows what goes on plate....and does it anyway”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

we started with 2 apps (buffalo nachos and chorizo stuffed dates). nachos had hard dry incinerated lumps of buffalo burger on chips with incinerated cheese (it was hard and stuck to plate to where we couldn't scrape it off). stuffed dates were very good!. 4 adults ordered trout and teen ordered mac and cheese. Fish were OK but potatoes that came with it were so hard dry and overcooked none of us could eat them. Waitress looked at our plates and asked why none of us were eating potatoes. We told her and she asked if she could get us mashed potatoes instead. We declined and pointed out that the chef saw what potatoes he put on the plates and has no pride in what he served us (i personally think they were at least 2 days old). Mac and cheese was huge portion and 4 adults helped eat it and agreed that he had the best meal. even a tourist trap should have a little more pride that to stick the tourists because they will not be back anyway. disappointing!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eremitic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Madison Crossing Lounge, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Your comments have been copied and given to the kitchen manager for feedback.. We are pleased that our server offered a replacement to try to please you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent dining choice!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great food, very helpful and friendly staff. Not the greatest of ambiance, but a very pleasant overall experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 08FLHRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Madison Crossing Lounge, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
We appreciate the compliments on our menu and service! Thank you for dining with us and please visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Two Stars at Best”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

What a shame! Having read the reviews we were really looking forward to our meal at Madison Crossing Lounge. The restaurant was busy when we arrived and the food looked good. We each had the house salad, which we mistakenly had thought was part of the entree course as this had been the case wherever else we have been in the USA. We did not know that we were paying for them until the bill arrived! We both ordered the "undeveloped buffalo wellington" which was one of the specials and is actually a "deconstructed" buffalo wellington. This arrived whilst we were still eating our salad. The waitress apologised and we put our salad to one side to tuck into what looked like a lovely meal. Unfortunately it was cold! We sent it back and waited for the replacement. When it arrived it was warm (rather than hot) and so we tucked in. Unfortunately, not all of it was warm; the pastry was actually cold. My mashed potato had one quite large lump in it, although my partner's mash was fine.

I rarely complain but I felt I had to on this occasion. The waitress did her best and offered us a complimentary dessert which we agreed to. The desserts were good.

A disappointing meal that cost us over $80. We will not be returning!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Madison Crossing Lounge, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Our Salads are listed separately on the menu and are priced individually as well. We do offer two sides with our entrees as is described in the nightly special list given to each customer. We regret that this was not clear to you. The Deconstructed Beef Wellington has been well received as a special. We have given a copy of your comments to the kitchen regarding degree of warmth. So glad you enjoyed your complimentary desserts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Best place in West Yellowstone”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

compared to most places we went in West Yellowstone it was more classy and the food was excellent. Fresh flavors and nice menu ideas, it was refreshing to see something different in this town and area. Be back as many nights as we will be in town in the future.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Madison Crossing Lounge, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! The Menu is fun, varied, and creative- and we will continue work at maintaining that attribute! And thanks too for the "classy" compliment!
We will look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison Crossing Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Madison Crossing Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing