We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Scenery/Great Value/Fisherman's Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirkwood Resort & Marina
XXX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery/Great Value/Fisherman's Resort”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

For those visiting West Yellowstone, the Kirkwood is an easy 15 minute drive to town.

It is a great option for staying out of the local "strip mall" hotels located in the city. if you rent a cabin it will by far exceed the run of the mill hotel room in size and price. The option for having multiple beds for a larger number of guests staying in a cabin is a good draw.

For previous reviewers I would have to ask: what were your expectations for a "resort" and what was the purpose of your stay? What were your expectations for the money you were willing to spend? Had you priced the hotels in town?

What to expect: Clean, comfortable rooms, clean linens,ample parking, small convenience store on site, Kitchenettes in rooms,wifi access for a fee, outdoor grills,easy dock access, good local restaurants along the lake, boat parking, pontoon boat rentals, beautiful scenery.
What not to expect: cable. But why would you want to sit around all day in a cabin all day when there is so much to see and do? The rooms may not have the authentic lodge feel of local hotels/motels but they are by far roomier and having a kitchenette saves money if you are on a budget. Most cabins are duplexes, so chances are you may have a neighbor.

The Kirkwood had just gone through a management change when we stayed there. New managers seemed very helpful and encouraged feedback from us so they could improve for customers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The name leads you to believe you're getting something more. I booked the 'Teepee' thinking it would be fun for our kids after spending 5 days in hotels and offer us a different experience. So after lugging our camping gear 2000 miles, I was very disappointed when I arrived to find their 'resort' was nothing of the kind, and the teepee was dirty, torn and had mould growing inside. Extremely unhealthy! I don't understand why they allow the teepee to even be booked.

Lucky for us (convenient for them) they had one cabin left for the two night we were there and gave us a 10% discount. We really didn't have any other options, but the cabin was clean and comfortable. They were fairly large, as we needed one of our kids to sleep on the airmattress as there were two beds (king and single) in the room. The TV is tiny, especially for the size of the room. We didn't spend much time in the room or at the 'resort'. I had hoped for more looking at their website and believing I'd book a nice resort on the waterfront. The marina is actually across the road and if you don't have a boat, you're out of luck.

If you want a cheap basic cabin not in West Yellowstone, then try this, but if not, I'd skip the 'resort'.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Wow, it's incredible how accurate the reviews are of this place. GloArt was 100% correct - "Not quite what I was expecting". And EMK55's reviews about the small tv's with tinfoil wrapped rabbit ears was RIGHT ON! This place offered us that, but it certainly wasn't what we expected. I was almost in tears when we arrived, open the door to the cabin and one thing after another discovered how wrong I was to choose this place.

The beds were large - a bonus - but the tv's were extremely small. The refrigerator was absolutely gross and the shelves broken. The bathroom sink was slow to drain making it impossible to wash your face, brush your teeth without the feeling of throwing up and the dishes provided needed to be washed before you used them. Who knew where they had been. Only problem, no wash rag to use. They had a sponge on the back of the sink, but who knows what was 'growing' in that! So we used paper towels to wash the dishes.

If you're looking for a place to stay - look elsewhere! We will NEVER return to Kirkwood. Check out Yellowstone Holiday Resort - they looked nicer on our drive to/from Kirkwood.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I was looking for a cheaper alternative than staying in downtown West Yellowstone on my Trip to Yellowstone National Park this Summer. I found the Kirkwood Resort & Marina and thought because it had resort & marina in its name that it would be a nicer place to stay. Needless to say I was wrong. The accomodations were fine, you had a couple beds with a small bathroom near the lake. However, I was expecting more of a 3-star/4-star resort and this was definately not that. They had an area for tent camping within the complex, so that should give you an idea of the place. We really only used it to sleep, so in that regard it worked out for us; but I would compare it to a KOA campground cabin.

They do have a little shop in the registration office and opened a "cafe" (really more of a food truck) on-site. Food was good. You need your own boat for the Marina, I was unable to find where you could rent one for a couple hours. Other places in town have Kayaks that you can rent and they take it to Kirkwood Marina, but I didn't see any that the resort offers for rentals.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank GloArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The Kirkwood Resort and Marina is 18 miles outside of West Yellowstone, which is a bit of a drive after a long day in the park. The cabins were nice but a bit basic. There is no air conditioning and the TV is very small and has tinfoil rabbit ears for reception (about 3 channels). It has a small shower and somehow I never managed to get the shower curtain to seal and always had water all over the bathroom. The beds were okay. We slept with the windows open and people in the other cabins were noisy. The cabins are set up in a duplex style so you have one shared wall but we never heard our neighbor through the wall. They did have a laundry facility on site but it has one washer and one dryer so we ended up spending an entire evening waiting for someone to dry their laundry ahead of us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yellowstone
3.8 mi away
Marina View Condos
Marina View Condos
#24 of 39 in West Yellowstone
54 reviews
22.1 mi away
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Island Park
158 reviews
15.5 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#22 of 39 in West Yellowstone
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Parade Rest Ranch
Parade Rest Ranch
#14 of 36 in West Yellowstone
74 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Drift Lodge
The Drift Lodge
#11 of 13 in Island Park
30 reviews
12.2 mi away
West Yellowstone B & B
West Yellowstone B & B
#1 of 7 in West Yellowstone
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwood Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwood Resort & Marina

Property: Kirkwood Resort & Marina
Address: 35 Kirkwood Crk, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9770
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kirkwood Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing