We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint cabin like atmosphere”
Review of Pioneer Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pioneer Motel
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a very cute cabin like atmosphere room. The room was very clean, decorated in a log cabin type theme. Small refrigerator/ with freezer, microwave and coffee pot. The room was small but had two queen beds, table and two chairs. Large bathroom, so we put some of our things in there. Was convenient to park entrance and downtown shopping and eating places. The owner, Cheryl was very accomadating. Compared to the price of the other places we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank race2pcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Pioneer Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 59 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

I really wanted to rate this place higher because I enjoyed Cheryl's (owner) friendliness, but the room I stayed in with one full bed was really cramped and decidedly over-priced. While the room and bathroom were moderately clean and the little (newer) a/c unit worked well, when I
showered in the morning the pipe above the shower head leaked in two places - spewing water to the ceiling as well as sideways to the floor! I wanted to inform the owner but
even near 10 am, the office was not open and a cutsey sign stating that they needed their rest
due to staying up late at night was posted. My impression: I think its time for the owners to
retire or close for a time and take a vacation.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank TheGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Not a fan of West Yellowstone, except for the Grizzly Bear Discovery Center, I was looking for a place for our family of five to stay for one night while passing through on our way to Glacier NP. When I called this place, I was told there was a mobile home for rent on the premises that would accommodate us. Since the other reviews sounded good, I took it. It was circa 1960 or 70 and nasty. Wooden slats had been hammered into the ceiling to keep it from falling down. It had obviously seen water damage, and the uneven floor was downright scary. Patio furniture served as a kitchen furniture. The windows didn't close, and the windowsill on the bathroom was littered with used slivers of soap and soap wrappers. The owner was very nice when we checked in; she just needs to retire this monstrosity, as it is beyond refurbishment. We peeked in the a few of the cabins that were being cleaned before we left, and they looked decent.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank a1trvlagt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Rustic, clean, friendly, reasonable price motel in West Yellowstone. Cheryl was wonderful and very helpful! Nothing fancy but perfect for the setting of West Yellowstone! Rooms were small but not in them much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The rooms within this motel are very small, but adequate. The shower is the most negative factor about this motel: it is about the size of a telephone booth and very difficult to move around and do your thing. The most positive factor about this motel is its cleanliness. The service from the front desk is excellent. This is a rustic, mom & pop type motel. The rate for this motel is very good compared to the high rip-off rates for other motels in this very high-cost tourist trap town. Parking is excellent---right outside your door. Bar soap is provided, but no other amenities are supplied. Housekeeping is provided daily and done well. The location is off the main drag through town and in a very quiet area on the west side. Satellite TV is provided. There is no refrigerator or microwave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I am glad when i find a great little mom and pop motel. This motel is a bit hidden of the main drag in town, but still walking distance. The owner Cheryl was very friendly and gave us a great room at a great price! room was clean and service was great!! I especially loved the giant old trees on the property. Thanks for a great place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brad v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our time in West Yellowstone. We were on a tour of the western U.S. we arrived after dark and had no problem getting our room. The owner was very helpful and gracious. She let us put our small trailer off of our vehicle and lock it to a pole. Very awesome experience. The rooms aren't huge, but they do serve their purpose.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oklahoma_travelers_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#21 of 39 in West Yellowstone
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#4 of 7 in West Yellowstone
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Motel

Address: 515 Madison, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing