We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst restaurant experience”

Bar N Ranch Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Note: The Bar N Ranch Restaurant is open for outside guests for dinner only. We serve breakfast to our guests from Under Canvas and BarN Ranch.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

We never received our entrees after sitting in this place for 2 hours. We got up and left. So did others. Service was horrible. Appetizers were fair. Management could have cared less. Guess that's how they treat you in Montana. Would not waste the time to go there again.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Murray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Johannah R, General Manager at Bar N Ranch Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2016

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

I apologize the meal was not up to your standards. We strive to make all of our dining experiences memorable and enjoyable. With in-house hand cut beef and made to order entrees we strive to deliver the highest quality of meals.

We hope you will come back and allow us to provide you with a meal that will meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 165 of 561 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

We were looking forward to a great dinner at this restaurant but must say that we were disappointed in the food quality. Once you get to the restaurant after traveling a long bumpy dirt road you are greeted by very friendly staff and a rustic venue. We both had the beef stroganoff which was recommended and advertised as being cooked with filet beef on the menu. We both had gristle in the meat and about half of my wife's meal was tough meat. In all fairness, the server offered a free dessert or cocktail. We refused as we weren't looking for anything free, just a good meal. Very sad!!! We had high hopes.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Naginalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Johannah R, General Manager at Bar N Ranch Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2016

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

I apologize the meal was not up to your standards. We strive to make all dining experiences memorable and enjoyable. As the ranch is set back in the mist of the cattle fields the road is a dirt road with its rustic charms. With in-house hand cut beef we strive to deliver the highest quality of steaks. We hope you will come back and allow us to provide you with a meal that will meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

The food was good (not great), the service was good (not great) and the atmosphere was good as well, yet all the way around I felt like something was lacking, almost like they hadn't taken adequate advantage of what they had. The restaurant was huge, with a smattering of tables spread out all over the place, and they didn't give customers the pleasure of seeing the mountains like they should have. The service was okay, but at times I felt as if the staff just disappeared. The food was good, but on the high end of moderately priced. Would I go back? Yes, but I'd be cautious of the prices, and try to get a table with a good view.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mrliterature
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Johannah R, General Manager at Bar N Ranch Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. As the restaurant is surrounded by beautiful terrain with 360 degree views. We try our best to guarantee everyone a seat to enjoy the beauty of the ranch. The restaurant has large windows to help maximize your views in every direction from the mountains to the meadows and ponds. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip through West Yellowstone as we can wait to turn your memories from good to GREAT!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

I have visited this restaurant in each of the last ten years except for the one where they closed to the public (just servicing their lodge guests) and I have always come away with a good experience. The setting is beautiful, the decor and ambience were exceptional and the food was probably the best within a thirty mile radius -- until this year. Simply put, the presentation was horrible. Everything was literally dumped on the plate and my meal, while not exactly cold, was well below proper serving temperature. Restaurants such as this are seasonal -- the bulk of their business is during the summer months although this one is open in the winter for the snowmobilers. Keeping a good chef is difficult. They clearly don't have one now. I'll be back next summer and I'll try them again, but if you are here in 2016, you'll do better elsewhere.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank WilliamS707
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Johannah R, General Manager at Bar N Ranch Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2016

Thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor.

I apologize that your dining experience was not up to your standards.

Our goal is to make each guest's experience memorable and enjoyable, and your feedback will be used to make improvements.

We hope you will give us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

In a big city, this would be a 4...but in West Yellowstone it is a 5. The other restaurants we visited were 3's. This costs a bit more, and is 5 miles out of town, but is absolutely worth it. Our server was Dasha, and she was attentive, friendly, prompt, and cruised by our table often and unobtrusively to see if there was anything we needed. Perfect! We were 4 and each had different appetizers and mains. All were great! The salmon was especially delicious. We shared the apple crumble and blueberry cheesecake for dessert. Take a drive out to the Bar N. You won't be sorry.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 543JamesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Johannah R, General Manager at Bar N Ranch Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your dinner and the trip out to our ranch. I will be sure to pass your kudos on to Dasha and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in West Yellowstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar N Ranch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bar N Ranch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.