We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in west yellowstone”

Bar N Ranch Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $42
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Bar N Ranch Restaurant has changed the epicurean landscape of southwestern Montana. Offering world-class cuisine to a colorful pallet of visitors has brought to our small mountain community a taste of something wonderful. In honoring the value of tradition while embracing bold and daring ideas, the Bar N has become a landmark restaurant Yellowstone Country. Full bar, exceptional wine list. Dinner & Breakfast Service. Advanced reservations are encouraged.
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food in west yellowstone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were staying at the Bar N Ranch cabins and wasn't sure what to expect of the restaurant in the main lodge. The decor was Western and the food was very good. While were close enough to town to go to other places, we ended up eating at the Bar N Ranch several evenings as it was the best food in comparison to most in town. Everything we had was satisfying down to the mini chocolate mousse cups we had at the end of our meals.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dbennett14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    98
    45
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Husband and I visited Yellowstone for our anniversary, and the staff at the hotel where we stayed recommended this place for our anniversary dinner, and it didn't disappoint! We were a little late showing up for our 8 p.m. reservation because it was dark and pouring, so we missed the entrance, but they were not put out by our lateness at all. We were welcomed with a big smile and shown to our table. Its too bad it was dark because it looked like it was in a great location and the view would probably have been really nice. The decor is fun to look at - stuffed animals often seen in Yellowstone set around in various places and right when you walk in. The waitress we had (I wish I could remember her name) was very attentive, very friendly, and fun to chat with. Everything we had (we each had an app., and dinner came with a soup or salad) was EXCELLENT! In fact, we so enjoyed our appetizers and soup/salad, we were full when the dinner arrived. We each ordered the 10 oz. filet, and I swear it wasn't 10 oz., but 12 oz., it was HUGE! But it was done perfectly and absolutely delicious. We ate what we could of it, and then took the rest back to our hotel to eat the next day - we didn't want to throw it away - it was just too yummy! I would absolutely recommend this restaurant to anyone going to Yellowstone (its about 7 miles approx. from the West Entrance to Yellowstone) and will definitely go back if we visit that area again. Fabulous staff, fabulous food. A++ in my opinion. Go, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adrenalinejunkie207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and fine food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Consider going to Bar N before it gets dark. The view of the golden fields and wide open spaces is beautiful and peaceful. Delightful hostess. Great waiter. Most importantly, good food. There were four of us and each had a different dish - all were pleased. West Yellowstone is rather barren of fine dining opportunities. This one is definitely worth the drive 5 miles outside of town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fayclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bruschetta Like Never Before- Delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

A real ranch with an upscale, dramatic dining room. We started the meal with the olive tapenade bruschetta with melted mozzarella on top with a drizzle of balsamic vinegar!! WOW! Just great!
Steaks were juicy and tender. Apple crisp for dessert topped off an excellent meal!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mountaingirl2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Q, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Suitable place for West Yellowstone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This ranch was the kind of place we were looking for while in Montana and we are glad we found the Bar N Ranch. The large room with many stuffed animals on the walls made for a very suitable setting. The bread and salad were good but the Lamb ribs were local American and not up to the quality that we expect when we get New Zealand lamb. They were a little tough and fatty but the huckleberry mint jelly definitely made the meal worth having. We finished off our meal with mouse shooters and they were so good we ordered seconds. The service was excellent. Although the lamb did not meet our expectations everything else was great and we were glad we ate at Bar N Ranch. It was a lovely experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar N Ranch Restaurant also viewed

 
West Yellowstone, MT
 

Been to Bar N Ranch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing