We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food and Service in West Yellowstone area!”

Bar N Ranch Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $42
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Bar N Ranch Restaurant has changed the epicurean landscape of southwestern Montana. Offering world-class cuisine to a colorful pallet of visitors has brought to our small mountain community a taste of something wonderful. In honoring the value of tradition while embracing bold and daring ideas, the Bar N has become a landmark restaurant Yellowstone Country. Full bar, exceptional wine list. Dinner & Breakfast Service. Advanced reservations are encouraged.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Food and Service in West Yellowstone area!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I had a bad experience at a couple of other places in West Yellowstone and found this place online and they were the only ones around that had Bison Steaks and Elk. Best Bison 16oz Ribeye I have ever had! The entire experience was excellant. Thanks to David and Dale for the great service. I'll be back when visiting your area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodney1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    100
    46
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A+++ Gourment restaurant in West Yellowstone”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Awesome food & ambiance! The ONLY place for high-end gourment dining in West Yellowstone! Great bar. Employees are all very friendly. Food is fantastic! Wine list & pricing great! We went 2x's and both meals were perfect. Beautiful ambiance in the dining room with timbers and authenic woodwork throughout!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TShed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor service,avarage food, not worth the money”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I could not find many options for dinner in town, and based on reviews 41/2 stars decided to try.
The restaurant located about 10 minutes driving west of Yellowstone. A dusty unpaved road led us to the restaurant. You can see cows grazing on the side of the road. and beautiful view.
The building has a ranch style decor. We were greeted by the host who led us to the table and although we had a reservation, and the restaurant was almost empty she was about to place us in a corner table. I asked for a table with a view and she she let us sit by the window with a beautiful view but very dusty windows covered with birds dropping not very appetizing I then thought be careful what you wished for...poured our glasses with iced water that had a tiny little looked like lemon pulp floating in it. I didn't touch it. She then took the extra silver and glasses from the table but left one of us without, something we noticed only after the bread & butter arrived but there was no server to be found by the time we noticed it so my son grabbed it from an empty table near by.
The server was indifferent, inattentive
Average food - dry burger.
In short -pretentious place but reality was another story.
I am not planing to go back tonight, or sometime soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Finest food in West Yellowstone”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My family has been coming to West Yellowstone for over twenty years. This was our first dinner at Bar N Ranch. It's a little out of the way, but worth the ten minute drive from downtown West Yellowstone. Service was excellent and food top notch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank braindeadmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“quality food, cool spot”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

we had dinner at bar-n-ranch and were impressed with the wine list - wines ranging from $20 per bottle to hundreds of dollars. the food and service were very good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Facil_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar N Ranch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bar N Ranch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing