We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone Country Inn

Yellowstone Country Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yellowstone Country Inn
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good for a night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed here for one night before heading in to Yellowstone National Park. The rooms were a bit dated and the room felt old, but it worked for the night. Beds were decent. Bathroom needs some work. The shower kept kept changing temperature from burning hot to freezing cold which was really annoying. The hotel offered free wifi but the signal was too weak in our room. It was nice that we could park right outside our room door.

I'd probably give the hotel 2.5 rather than 3. It's good for a one-night stopover but probably wouldn't stay longer than that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    16
    17
    44
See reviews for
25
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

What a shame. I saw it online, next to a restaurant, photos were deceiving. Nothing went right, from a loss of reservations, to the room being a dump, the blinds were missing slats, so they didn't even close properly. The restaurant was out of business. No continental breakfast. No change, no copy machine. I had been excited to go there, the rate was lower than any other we'd stayed at.
I could not even unpack my bag. I did not want to sit anywhere. So many problems, we called the hotel across the street and had to pay more, but we were lucky to get any place at all on such short notice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NativeWon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

Dirty room - even can of beers were left when we enter the room.
Poor service from front desk - very difficult to get by phone call before we arrive.
Lack of maintenance in everything!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

I have stayed in lots of cheap hotels but this one is the worst.
I had water dripping through my ceiling for three days. One of the receptionists was really nice, but the rest did not really care. And the owner, well she is never there, and when she was, had no interest. I saw other guests complaining too.

Not only dirty but noisy, especially when a bus load of tourists turn up at 11pm, and get back on their bus at 7am.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

If you are looking for fancy, go elsewhere. But if you want a comfortable place with good value this is it--you can tell by the number of savvy Europeans staying here. We were upgraded to a corner unit with a full kitchen, a living room and two bedrooms for no particular reason, and saved oodles of money by cooking our own meals. The furnishings are old, but the units are clean. The front desk is friendly, but not the most efficient (there is no front desk from about 10 to 7). The internet only works in the "lobby" and the swimming pool is broken (but lets face it, who goes to Yellowstone to use the hotel swimming pool?). There is an awesome coffee shop around the corner, otherwise skip West yellowstone, way too touristy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aichilik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#18 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Country Inn

Property: Yellowstone Country Inn
Address: 234 Firehole Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Yellowstone Country Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Yellowstone Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing